Book Group Is Back–and other random stuff!

Just wanted to let everyone know that it’s time to start up the book group again–and on October 15th we will be talking about “Meet Rebecca”.  I’m hoping this gives everyone who wants to participate enough time to locate and read the book.  I’m looking forward to getting back to doing this, and now that summer has passed and we are in the homestretch on selling my father-in-laws house, I will have time to devote to this.  Yay!!  I’m planning on “Aloha Kanani” for November 15th, so keep your eyes peeled for that one as well.  We will take December off because I know that it’s just too busy for many people, myself included, and will start again in January.

This brings me to a couple of questions though–I’ve been tossing around a couple of ideas for the book group in the new year, but wanted to get some input.  Do you want to continue this as a monthly thing?  Or do it every other month?  And what about reading whole sets of books and then reviewing?  I’ve picked up several different sets over the summer (thank heavens for Ebay, AG sales and borrowing from friends/relatives!)  and I’m just wondering the best way to handle it.  Would love everyone’s input, please be sure to leave a comment if you have any ideas!

I haven’t started the doll stuff clean out/organization project yet, but as the weather gets cooler, I’ll be more likely to stay at home and work on it.  I did purchase two sets of shelves to help with this project, but regardless, there are things that I want to get rid of.  It’s not all going to happen at once either, some of these items I may use one last time for a shoot and then sell.  And NO, I’m not getting out of blogging or dolls.  I’ve just reached a point where I’m overrun with stuff and no space to put it as we live in a small house.  Plus as new items are released, I want to be able to buy some other items that I think I will get more use out of, so something has to give!  And before you ask–it’s doubtful as I will get rid of any of the dolls, they are a family and I’ve very carefully picked them out.  What I will be selling is clothing, furniture and accessories.  One thing I have definitely decided is that it will be a gradual thing, for several reasons.  It makes it easier to manage plus it also gives those who maybe want to buy more than one item the opportunity to do so without breaking the bank.  My thinking it to list 5 items, once a month, with an advance notice here on the blog so I’m sure my readers get the first info and hopefully first crack at items they would like to buy.  I intend to keep the pricing very reasonable, it’s not about making a ton of money, but more a case of freeing up space and funds to purchase new things as they come out.  I will be sure to keep my readers posted as this project moves forward!

I haven’t given up on the hotel project either, I’m hoping to get back to that very soon.  We’ve just been so busy with odds and ends, I haven’t had the kind of time to devote to it that I’d like to.  I have supplies purchased, it’s just a matter of sitting down and working on it.  I’ve got some great ideas and I’m really looking forward to sharing them.

Hope everyone is having a great September and all of those who are “back to school” are getting back into the routine!

8 thoughts on “Book Group Is Back–and other random stuff!

  1. I like the every month book review, but not book sets. I barely have time to read one book let alone a whole set. But I think this whole book review idea is so fun and enjoyable! So glad you’re keeping it up!

  2. Oh hooray! We have that book! I like the idea of a book a month. I don’t think I could organize much more than that. As to the selling of items, I should probably do the same! We are fast running out of space too! Mostly though, I would just want to get rid of a bunch of useless stuff to make room for more doll related stuff! LOL! 🙂

    ginnie / http://www.fakingitmostly.com

  3. I haven’t gotten a chance to participate much in the book club yet, but I think doing a whole set at a time is a good idea. You can easily get through all 6 in a few hours since they are so short. Many fans have probably read a lot of the sets already anyway, at least for the historical dolls that have been around a while. Just my two cents, either way is good.

Leave a Reply

