Back to School Sweater Review–New American Girl Sweaters

I’ve fallen behind on reviews lately, too many things going on!  I’m hoping to do some catching up though.  I thought I’d start with these sweaters from American Girl.  It’s “Back To School” time and let’s face it, nothing says back to school like a new sweater.

I picked up the Mixed Knit sweater and the Classic Knit sweater.  Both of these came out over the summer as part of their mix and match clothing.  I ordered the Classic Knit sweater when I ordered the hamster set, and picked up the Mixed Knit sweater at a Toys R Us.

First thing I noticed was that the hangers are different now.  They are much thinner, but they are also a different shape so that you can hang a top and a bottom together.  Can’t decide if I like this better or not.  I guess I’ll have to wait and see.

Fiona offered to model the Mixed Knit sweater.  It’s very pretty on and fits very well.

A close up so you can see the textured details.

And the back.  I’m not sure if I like the asymmetrical back hem on this one, but I’m not a fan of that style to begin with.

Overall though, a pretty sweater with a lot of possibilities.

Lanie is modeling the Classic Knit sweater.

I really liked the preppy vibe with this sweater, but I’m still not wild about the polka dots or the gemstones on the collar.

 

My camera turned this into more of a turquoise blue for some reason, it’s really more on the green shade than blue.  Just wanted to make everyone aware.

I’m not a fan of vanity tags on my clothing, and I don’t like it on my dolls either.  I may have to remove this.  Pass the scissors!

The back is just a normal finish, straight across.

I think this sweater is cute, but I wish they would have left it plain.  It almost looks more like a holiday sweater with the jewels and the metallic polka dots!

The fit on both sweaters is good though, and I’m still really liking the whole idea of mix and match clothing.  I just wish they’d come up with some better color combos!

7 thoughts on “Back to School Sweater Review–New American Girl Sweaters

  1. The sweaters look beautiful on them… and it is a first day of school-sweater kind of morning here! The green sweater looks so much prettier when it isn’t paired with maroon pants.

    • Some of the color combos they come up with–yikes!! It was a sweater morning here too, warmed up and then it rained and it was a sweater afternoon again. It’s hard to decide what to wear this time of year!

  2. Our first day back to school was +36C! Definitely not sweater weather! These are very cute though! I have to admit, I am on the fence about the closures on these. I always think it’s odd, a sweater with a velcro closure in back. I always feel like it might snag horrendously. It’s the only way to get them on the dolls though I guess. I just think that maybe a button or a snap closure at the neck would be better, and not open all the way down, just enough to get it over the doll’s head. But then it would be rather inconvenient trying to get their arms in I suppose. I guess the velcro it is. 🙂

    ginnie / http://www.fakingitmostly.com

    • I agree that a button or snap closure would be a much better idea. I have a sweater I purchased from an Etsy seller that has buttons down the back and it works just fine!

  3. Hi! I know what you mean about getting backed up on things. I’m/we’re catching up on our reading and commenting again!

    This is a great review. I really like Fiona in the first sweater. I’m partial to pink, so I like the color combination. At least the asymmetrical part is in the back; that can be hidden.

    The classic knit…hmmm. Well, I like the polka dot pattern, but not the bedazzled collar. One or the other would have been better. If you’re removing the ego tag, you could remove the jewels too.

    Thank you for a great review!

Leave a Reply

