The $1.25 Experiment

I’ve mentioned in the past that I regularly check Ebay for doll stuff.  I’ve picked up a few bargains here and there, and for a time, some of the crazier listings provided me with some fun photos for my “Bad Ebay” posts.  Over the past year though, I’ve noticed a marked change in Ebay listings for 18 inch doll items, and not necessarily for the better.  Not only has the number of auctions dropped significantly, but there has been an influx of stuff that comes up when you search “American Girl” that is coming out of China.  Much of it at almost ridiculously low prices.

I’ve also noticed that most of this stuff seems to come up first thing in the morning when I am checking.  I’m assuming it has something to do with the time difference between here and there.  As the day progresses, it doesn’t seem to be as prevalent, but it’s still there.  It is annoying though when you just want to search for stuff while drinking your morning coffee.  I get tired of weeding through junk to find a good deal.  However, one morning, my curiosity got the best of me.  One of the auctions was for a doll sized backpack.  And it had a minimum bid of $1.25 with no bidders, and free shipping as well.  I decided to give it a try and see what happened.  Worst case scenario was I never received the item and I’d be out $1.25.  Or I’d get it months later, or even perhaps receive it, but it would be poorly made and not worth the time it took to open the package.  Well, it arrived, and here are the results!

First off, my package arrived in 16 days!  I was very surprised as it arrived before the earliest date that it said I would receive it.  So far so good.  It was packed in a heavy duty envelope that took a bit of work to get open.  Backpack was also in a cellophane bag within that bag too, so it was nice and clean.  Once the backpack was removed from that, I examined it closely.  I was surprised and impressed!  I’ve purchased doll sized backpacks from name brand companies that aren’t as nice as this one.

The stitching was straight and nicely done, and it seemed to be well made. There are some strings that need trimming, but overall it is a nice piece.

A pic of the back and straps:

The final test was if it actually fit a doll and correctly. I grabbed Ryan for this because not only does it look more like a boys backpack, but with his short hair, you’d be able to see better how it fit.

As you can see from those photos, it fit just fine! I would say this $1.25 was well spent and the experiment was a success.

Now, I do want to warn everyone to take this review with a grain of salt. There are some truly crap items being sold out on Ebay by Chinese sellers. I lucked out, but I did a little bit of homework too by checking the sellers feedback. This seller did have some negative feedback, but for the most part, it was not for any of the doll clothing items they sold and the majority of them at the time I checked were over items not received. That is always going to be a risk when you purchase items from out of the country, particularly items drop shipped from China. Would I buy from this seller again? Probably, as long as it was something I liked. Again though, I would proceed with caution and not get a lot of money tied up in anything just to be on the safe side. But for me, it was a fun test just to see what I would get for my $1.25. I’ve wasted that much money on a candy bar, and at least this didn’t have any calories! 😉

17 thoughts on “The $1.25 Experiment

  1. Very nice. I’m glad it worked out for you. It would be a great canvas (ha ha) for some of the cute stickers for fabric that they sell at Michaels.
    Oh how I love a bad eBay post!

    • Too funny, I was thinking that or one of those iron on embroidered patches!

      Poor bad Ebay, due to the fact that people aren’t selling as much AG stuff on there, it’s kind of dried up. Some of those were hilarious though. “Cat Not Included” is still my all time favorite!

  2. Cool! I order from China all the time, and so far I have had good luck. I got a pair of sweet little dolly shoes that are excellent quality for only ten cents! I also got a lot of Littlest Pets for my daughter. I have found cute little doll alarm clocks, a typewriter and a gramophone that are actually wind up jewelry cases and a few doll dresses. I have to say that despite the low quality of some of the doll dresses (I just make my own now), the rest of the stuff is quite cute and inexpensive. Often if an item doesn’t come for months then we just contact them, and we are refunded immediately. We’ve actually gotten some free items this way as the item arrived months later anyway. If you don’t like weeding through the items from China though, you can always put your settings to North America only. I often do that if I am looking for a certain thing. I just purchased a ton of doll shoes from China though. I have good luck with those. 🙂 You can’t go wrong with free shipping, especially here in Canada, and for the price, the little shoes are worth it. Love your new $1.25 find!! Too cute! 🙂

    ginnie / http://www.fakingitmostly.com

    • That’s good to know, I’ve been curious about some of the shoes. Like I said before, I don’t think I would order a bunch of stuff off any one seller at once, but to try something here and there, it’s a great way to add to your collection with minimal expense.

      I always forget about the North America setting!

      • I’m so funny that way too! I will order one tiny little thing, and think to myself is it even worth it for them to send it to me? LOL! I just got a pair of doll shoes from China in the mail today though. They are so cute, and worth the price. They are not completely perfect. That’s okay though. I think I will review them soon. I also think that they are handmade, although I don’t even want to think who makes them. Perhaps I will wait until all of the doll shoes arrive, and then do a large review. 🙂

      • Oh one more thing, if an item is AG or OG and it’s coming from China, it is authentic. I ordered a few random things to put in the Christmas stockings and I didn’t know what to expect. When they arrived I was pleasantly surprised to find that they were the real deal. Funny my daughter didn’t think that finding an OG swimsuit with an AG doll sandwich, some AG doll carrots and some AG doll macarons in her Christmas stocking was out of the ordinary! LOL!

Leave a Reply

