Madame Alexander clothing sets, a word of caution!!!!!

I’ve seen a lot of posts recently about the Madame Alexander clothing sets that turned up at many Tuesday Morning locations over the past few weeks.  I have to admit that I looked at these myself, but I passed as the quality didn’t look as good as previous Madame Alexander items.  Well, I’m sure glad I did!!  Xyra over at Tea Time For Melody Q had a not so great experience with one of the outfits she purchased.  You can read about it here. https://teatimewithmelodyq.blogspot.com/2017/06/emergency-wardrobe-update.html

This is a good time just to remind everyone, that when it comes to doll clothing, not all products are created equal!  Some doll manufacturers use cheap fabrics that are not color fast and will come off on your dolls!  This is especially an issue with bright colors and in particular red, navy, black and purple.   I’m not saying to avoid buying completely from other lines or individuals, but just know that there is always that possibility.  American Girl has always guaranteed colorfast products in their line, and I’ve left many an outfit on a doll for an extended period of time and not had an issue, but as we can see from Xyra’s experience, it can happen VERY quickly!

14 thoughts on “Madame Alexander clothing sets, a word of caution!!!!!

  1. Hi! Thank you for sharing. This definitely a time to reach far and wide across the doll community.

    This is the first experience I have had with dye transfer. Like Flo, my dolls will wear an outfit for a long period of time. Our wardrobe contains AG, OG, MLA, Springfield, and handmade items. None have reacted this way.

    This is also a time when I could kick myself for not listening to my gut and changing Haley into something else right away. 😦

    • You are the first person that I’ve known personally that has had an issue with this. I’m just amazed at how quickly it happened!

      • I think part of it has to do with the metallic nature of the spandex fabric. I hope never to have it happen again. I’m kind of glad that if it had to happen it happened to Haley. Made me realize she is just as special to me as my AG girls.

  2. But even with AG you have to be careful. There are some clothes/shoes that will stain. There’s a whole list of them on agplaythings. The only problem I”ve had with AG are the old PC purple rollerblades stained Molly’s feet purple because she refused to wear socks!

    • That is true. I think a few of the marks on Melody’s feet are from AG shoes she wore without socks. I’ll have to check out that list on AGPlaythings ad see if we have any of the items in our wardrobe.

    • I can’t seem to find the list. Please direct me. However, if it is part of the forum, I may not be able to access it as I am not a member.

    • I have a pair of shoes that I know are an issue, they came with Samantha’s limited edition set that was recently out–red plaid dress with tea set. The boots are notorious for leaving marks on doll feet if you don’t wear socks or hose with them. That’s the only one that I have in my collection that I know of is a problem. Perhaps someone needs to post that information on a doll blog somewhere since not everyone can get into AGPlaythings.

      • Got it, thank you! I will put this up, and I will welcome anyone else who wants to post it as well to do so, we need to get this information out for everyone who collects!

      • I definitely saw a theme of “beware of strong colored fabrics”… and it reinforced to me that a doll taking a hiatus should be simply dressed if at all.

Leave a Reply

