Why American Girl…Why???????????

I had a few minutes today to actually do something fun, and I was super excited to see the new releases.  I even had stuff in my cart ready to order.  Except I can’t.  American Girl’s recent revamping of their website has left me (as well as others) unable to access my account!  I got the e-mail about updating my password, and I did exactly what they said, but all I get when I try to log in is an error message.  A quick check of their Facebook page tells me I’m not alone.  Ugh.  When I voiced my concerns on Twitter, the response was to call the 800 number.  I waited 10 minutes on the phone and hung up.  This is ridiculous.

My question is–what company in their right mind does a major upgrade on their website at the same time they are about to release a bunch of new product?  Just when I think that they are finally headed in the right direction, they go and do this hair-brained move.  Not only are people having issues with getting into accounts, but there are many products that are in this release that you can’t even order!  What is with that?!?!?!?!?!

Unbelievable.  American Girl, you continually perplex me with your ridiculous business model.  Get with the program, it’s 2017 and other companies are running circles around you.  (Insert disgusted face here)

UPDATE: This just gets worse.  I had to call twice to finally get through to someone.  They couldn’t find me in their computer.  Seriously??  They put me on hold, then came back to tell me they’d sent me a new access code.  It didn’t work, so I requested another and another.  Third time was the charm.  Everything seemed to be fine.  Except when I went back out to the main screen, I’d had a name change.  I’m apparently no longer Flo, I’m now SHANNON?!?!?! (Click on image below to see for yourself.  I assure you, that is a screen shot from my laptop.)

 

18 thoughts on “Why American Girl…Why???????????

  1. Oh no!! I noticed that some of the flagship products (hotel) weren’t available. Given past IT issues, I couldn’t agree with you more. Converting accounts and launching a new release within 24 hours is a lot when the IT is shaky. I did see on the fan board that some people’s accounts greeted them with a different name, which is concerning. Mine was fine. Keep us posted.

    • I finally got through to a human…and they can’t even find me in their system! How in the world do you lose a customer who has spent thousands of dollars over the past few years??? Interestingly, when I made a snide comment about their poor IT department, the person who I spoke with agreed with me.

      I’ve seen several complaints about peoples rewards levels not being right when they logged in as well. This is just a fiasco. I’m sure glad I don’t work for them…or perhaps I should and clean house with the IT department to start!

    • After being put on hold, I was sent a new code. Only problem was, the only way I could get in to the validation screen was to request yet another code! It didn’t work. The third code finally did work and I was able to get in. My account appears to be okay, I was able to access my order history (another complaint someone had) and my information appears to be okay. One person complained that when they finally did get in, their address wasn’t correct, it was an old address and it wouldn’t let them change it.

      #EpicFailAG

      • I did find one thing–and while to some, this might sound nitpicky. But when I went in to look to make sure my address was correct, it looked like a 6 year old typed it in. My street and city were all in LOWER CASE! I was floored. How incredibly unprofessional. Sorry, but I’m old school and the first letter of the street, city and state should all be capitalized. After years and years of working in an administrative position, this comes off as incredibly careless and leaves a very bad taste in my mouth. Makes me wonder who they have working there now, chimpanzees? (actually, they would probably do a better job!)

  2. OMG! I spoke too soon. I went back in to the site and noticed that my name is now…SHANNON??!??!???!?? What in the world?!?! Wow. Just wow.

    • Your secrets safe with me and all of the other readers. No one from AG is smart enough to come here to find out. Frankly, I’m not sure some of them can even read…

  3. Hi Shannon! I feel like we’ve been having so many good AG stories of their turn-around, I’ve been waiting in trepidation for something like this!!! Laughing like crazy! But I feel your frustration too!

  4. This is terrible. I think they may have it worked out. My welcome screens were okay. Of course, I haven’t tried to purchase anything at this time.

      • Ahhh, it’s a secret club! I get it now 😉 Wonder if I ordered something else, would I get a different name? I could be Camilla or Diana and not even know it!

  5. Lol, I am not surprised. Every time I log on to my account, it apparently has a bunch of invisible items in my cart, so if I add 1 little thing, the total comes to likie $200 something! And there is literally nothing else in my cart! I’ve just started to check out as a guest and then add my receipt later to get my points. Pain in the permapantie butt!

Leave a Reply

