Doll Sized Finds: A bit out of the ordinary…

Hi everyone! It’s been a crazy couple of weeks, but we’re getting through it.  I doubted I would have enough goodies to do a doll sized finds post, but then, just when I least expected it, something turned up.  You just never know!

Several weeks ago I stopped by the local thrift store to drop off a box of stuff, and decided to go inside.  I ended up buying several things, two of which were doll sized.  First I came across this cute little Precious Moments bell:

It will be Sophia’s since she is our February girl.  Marie-Grace has one of these as well (August).

I also found this:


Isn’t this basket cool? I think it will make an awesome Easter basket somewhere down the road. Or a nice flower arrangement. Haven’t decided just yet. Didn’t want to pass it up for just 99 cents!  The visit just kept getting better too, I found a set of stainless steel measuring cups for $1.99 which I needed as the handle broke off the one cup measure in the set I had, making it difficult to use under certain situations.  And I found a makeup bag from Harrods (yes, the big store in London) that didn’t look as though it had ever been used!  Also 99 cents, and I always need little bags like that, especially when we travel.  So not only did the dolls benefit, but I did too!

We are in the process of cleaning out my father-in-laws house, what a job.  It’s interesting to see what people have kept over the years and there have been a few that have had us scratching our heads.  My sister-in-law was cleaning out the hutch and came across several of those small bottles that alcoholic beverages used to come in on airplanes.  Do they still use them?  These were really old, in fact, so old, that in some of them the alcohol had evaporated!  She was going to throw them out, but I grabbed them because I saw other potential.


This one really caught my eye, I immediately thought of Brenda over at The Savage Dolls and the cool doll lamps she has made from various things. I need to go re-read those posts so I can figure out the best way to attach a shade to it. I have two more bottles, but I haven’t decided what I’m going to use them for just yet. I’ll let you know. 😉

Last, but not least was this:

Yes, it’s a dental mirror that was shoved in a drawer. No, my father-in-law was not a dentist, but a good friend of his was. And no, not going to use it to check doll teeth with. Instead, I’m going to try to cut it down shorter and use it as a replacement mirror for Molly’s bicycle! The mirror is just the perfect size for it, I’m hoping it works out. So glad I didn’t remove the bolt from the bike for it. Fingers crossed!

Have you found anything cool lately for your dolls? I love it when I find something unexpected like these last two items, you just never know. Till next time!

14 thoughts on “Doll Sized Finds: A bit out of the ordinary…

  1. Oh the doll bike mirror is inspired!!! I would have never thought of that. I can see the liquor bottle has a really nice shape for a mini lamp. What a good eye!

  2. Great finds! They do still use the mini bottles on airplanes not sure if they are glass or plastic. The ones at the state store are glass. 🙂

    My favorite in this group of finds is the basket.

    • Very interesting! Perhaps I should go check them out and see what other lamps I could make from them.

      The basket is so nice. I’d love to know what it was originally supposed to be, perhaps a ring caddy?

    • The one that broke of mine was stainless steel! I can’t say too much, they were as old as me, they originally belonged to my mom. Where the handle was welded on finally gave up.

    • I’m hoping I don’t break it in the process, I don’t need 7 years bad luck! (or since it’s tiny, maybe it’s only 1 year??)

  3. Cool finds. I have not had any luck for some time thrifty shopping. But last week, I found a small working washing machine. I thought it might be a bit big to my doll’s, but at $2.99, I could not pass it up. I measured my real front loading machine to where it came to on me, then measured a doll to the one I bought. I think it will work out. If it was an inch or two shorter and narrower, it would be a better fit, but I like it anyway. It is so much bigger than the ones I made using printables from I believe, American AmericanGirl Ideas. Now I will have to design a matching dryer. lol. The toy washing machine is Miele Softronic W 4146.

  4. I love the bottle and the idea to make it into a lamp! The February Precious Moments bell is SO sweet. I love miniature things, probably part of my doll fascination. I have had some amazing finds lately, but not too many doll-sized.

    • I think that is my problem too. AG and 18 inch dolls lend themselves well to so many things made for humans too, unlike some smaller scales.

Leave a Reply

