Behind the scenes of “She’s With The Band”

I’ve had so many great comments on my post about the band and their stage, I decided I would show everyone some of the stuff in detail. It’s all very basic stuff, but I loved how it all came together.

The Stage Background:

The background was really pretty simple. It’s a display board picked up at the dollar store. I cut it down some so that it was only 24 inches high. I then added some scrapbook paper to it so it looked like a brick wall and a wood wainscoting. I loved how it looked when I was done, although I wish I had used something different to stick it to the display board as it was a real headache just using double faced scrapbooking type tape. Live and learn…

I also picked up two of these cool clip on lights at the dollar store too, although they didn’t come into play in this part of the story.

I have to say that the minute I saw Tenney’s stage set, this idea sprang to mind.  It was just a matter of getting the right scrapbook paper and I knew that the blue wood paper was at Hobby Lobby as I’d seen it there when I went to get paper for another project.  It was just a matter of getting there!  The brick paper came from Pat Catans (a regional hobby store) and the clip on lights from Dollar Tree.

The actual stage was made from a 24 inch square sheet of MDF. I painted the edges brown, then attached peel and stick floor tiles to it. I gave it a floating look by gluing 4 wooden cubes to it.  The funny part is that when I made this nearly 2 years ago, I hadn’t intended it to be a stage, but this worked out even better than my original idea.

FYI–if you buy a sheet of wood or MDF at Home Depot, they will cut it down for you to your measurements!  I think you are limited to a certain number of cuts, but they don’t charge extra for it.  Good for anyone who doesn’t have a table saw or a good place to cut a large sheet of wood.  This particular sheet was originally 24 inches x 48 inches.  I have about $25 invested in this whole project at this point, not $225!  Plus it all comes apart and I can use the stage for other things.

Now for the drum set!  Originally I was going to make all of it from scratch and had saved a bunch of different sized round containers.  But then I came across something online and it turned out I only had to make the bass drum.  Here it is finished:

I used a large peanut container for this drum, I did cut it down a little bit.  I then covered the outside with a metallic type scrapbook paper and the lid I edged with a metallic tape.

I then took two wooden skewers and covered them with the same metallic tape, poked holes in the drum and inserted them so it doesn’t roll away!  I didn’t glue them in place, that way I can adjust them according to what kind of surface they may be sitting on.

Now I just need to make a name banner for the front of the drum!

The rest of the drum set was an awesome find!  I’d seen these little drum sets on other blogs and on Amazon.  You can only imagine how excited I was to find it on a website I hadn’t been on a while for a whopping $7.50!!!  Yes, you read that right!  You can find it here:  https://www.sciplus.com/p/DESKTOP-DRUM-SET_55520

I was going to make a stool for Jenny to sit on to go with the drum set but I never got around to it, and it’s probably just as well as there really wasn’t room on the stage for it anyhow!

I have since picked up some other things for use with the stage, so be sure to check back for what The Beacons are up to next!

22 thoughts on “Behind the scenes of “She’s With The Band”

  1. Awesome Flo! All of this just goes to prove how overpriced the AG sets really are and that you don’t have to spend a fortune to have a good playset. Well done!

    • Thanks! However, Froggy is still the queen, her mind works overtime!

      The hardest part in getting things cut down at Home Depot is finding someone to do it, but it’s so worth it! No fuss, no mess, just checkout and go home. And yes, Dollar Tree is the best!!!

    • Thanks! I wish I could have found a sheet of blue metallic paper for the bass drum, but I guess I can always recover it if I do. I was less than impressed with what AG called a drum set, especially for $68, yikes!

    • Go for it! I can’t wait to see what you come up with, I love seeing different variations on a theme. Be sure to check out Brandy’s Happy Home for ideas too, she has two sets up that are very similar featured over there as well.

  2. I just finished most of my stage, using some of my ideas and some of Brandys. Love your idea of using the peanut container for the drum!!! I have a similar drum set . I just turned the big drum on its side and did not use one of the smaller drums. You did a great job!

    • Awesome! I had been saving several different containers (small peanuts, Pringles, lemonade) to make a whole drum set, but then I came across that other one and I figured it was worth the $7.50.

  3. Great project, Flo! I love that you pretty much made it look just as good as the AG stage for a fraction of the cost! I”m looking forward to making one of these for my daughter as she want’s Tenney for her birthday. 🙂

  4. Like Farrah Lily said, it’s as good as the AG one. Furthermore, when I read the post on the band, I had to go see what the AG one looked like because I wasn’t sure if you had purchased this or made it! Girl groups… Go-Go’s or Bangles?

    • Thanks! It has it’s lumps and bumps, but I figure I only need it for so many posts and then I can pull the paper off and recycle the board. Wouldn’t want to do that with a set you paid $225 for. Girl groups–tough one, but I’d have to say the Go-Go’s–but not by much!

    • Thanks! They work great because they are so easy to store. I have several and they take up very little space. Great to stash behind a door or under a bed too.

Leave a Reply

