Doll Sized Finds: Some very cool goodies!!!

It’s time for another edition of Doll Sized Finds!  I’ve been staying away from thrift stores lately, I am trying to get more to leave the house than is coming in.  BUT, I did get out and do a bit of shopping, and my doll eyes are always peeled for something cool, regardless of where I am at.

My first find is a tiny Etch A Sketch!


If you haven’t seen it already, the World’s Smallest line from Hasbro has some pretty cool replicas of full sized items, and I thought it would be cool to have this. I already found the Magic 8 Ball, Duncan YoYo and Polaroid Camera a while ago, but I hadn’t had much luck in finding this piece. Love these mini items–and yes, it works just like a real Etch A Sketch!  It was a little pricey at $5.99, but I’ve actually seen items from this line selling for even more at other places, so maybe that was a good price.

Here’s a pic of Shivan holding it so you can see the size in proportion to a doll:

My next find at the same place was a mini ping-pong set:

This also says World’s Smallest on it, but it’s not made by the same company. Hmmmm…I couldn’t pass it up though for $4.99!

Kanani and Alya thought it would be fun to set it up in the kitchen…

The ball is a little big, but the girls said it just made it a little easier to hit it!

Last, but not least, I came across this cool mirror in a craft store:

It’s meant to be used to make a piece of jewelry with, but I don’t think the idea caught on very well as it was on clearance for $2.50.  I was even more excited about it when I turned the mirror over:

So pretty!  I haven’t decided if I want to trim off the loop at the top where you would attach it to a necklace, or simply glue a gemstone there instead. I need to go through my craft stash and see if I have one the right size. Here’s Abby holding it so you can see how perfect it is.

And…well…I did make a trip into the thrift store one time when I was dropping stuff off.  I was excited to find another little root beer mug just like one I found on another trip, so now I have two!  I have plans for these, fingers crossed.

And I found these cool little “trays”.  Not sure what they are supposed to be for originally, but I thought they would make cool meal trays!  The best part of this trip, it was 50% off day, so I got the mug, the trays and three small bowls for our “real” kitchen, and with sales tax I spent a whopping 37 cents!  Love a trip like that.

Till the next time! Keep your “doll eyes” peeled for goodies in your area.

25 thoughts on “Doll Sized Finds: Some very cool goodies!!!

  1. I’m going to have to look for those World’s Smallest things because that Etch-a-Sketch is adorbs! My thrifting of late has been mostly fruitless apart from picking up the early oughts sparkly pink AG salon chair for 6 bucks at the Sally Ann (one of the screws needed tightening but Eric fixed that)

    • I saw all of World’s Smallest things at the Cracker Barrel Restaurant. Thought that this might save you some looking. I bought a couple of the Polaroid cameras they are adorable!! Sharon

      • I tried our nearest Cracker Barrel and their selection was terrible! Perhaps I need to go back and see if they have gotten anymore in stock, but it’s 30 minutes away.

  2. Oh, I have that little mirror, and from the same line I have some fancy little scissors (they don’t really open and close).

    What store did you find the “world smallest” things in? I love the Etch-a-Sketch.

  3. Our sock monkey is World’s Smallest brand. I love that the packaging read, “It really works!” sock monkeys don’t do anything! LOL But I know the other items to work, work.

  4. Wow! Great finds! All are wonderful, but my favorite is the Ping Pong set because I used to play a lot of Ping Pong. Could you let us know where it was purchased? I also like the little trays and would love to see them with the dolls.

    • It’s a small, locally owned store, and I don’t want to give the name as it gives away my location a bit too specificially. The trays will be shown in an upcoming post with doll food in them, so stay tuned!

  5. The Etch-a-Sketch is currently $7.60 on Amazon, so your price doesn’t seem so bad to me. 🙂

  6. Great doll finds! Those World’s Smallest items are perfect! I will have to keep my eyes peeled for them although I am not too certain that I will be able to find them here in Canada. Alas, my thrift store searches have been lacking lately. I have the feeling that our local thrift store has been swiping the good stuff to sell elsewhere like eBay or something, because it’s been slim pickings lately. Or maybe other people are just getting there first! 🙂 I have to agree though, it is best to start downsizing. I’ve been in that sort of mood lately. Maybe it’s that the warm weather is coming, so some spring cleaning is in order. So far, we don’t have the need to unload any doll stuff, but people stuff needs to go! LOL! 🙂

    ginnie / http://www.fakingitmostly.com

    • Check Ebay and Amazon if you don’t find them! They are so cute.

      A friend of mine has a saying I just love. “We spend the first half of our lives accumulating stuff and the second half getting rid of it!”

  7. I have a Etch-a-Sketch key chain, but as it was hanging on my old backpack, it got knock around quite a bit and all the graphite pushed up against the screen. I do have 2 World’s Smallest Stretch Armstrongs (thanks for one, Flo), 2 WS GIJoes, (thanks again Flo for one) and a WS Polaroid camera. I also have a few more key chains, caribner and travel games that are great for 18 inch dolls..And I love that ping-pong set!

  8. Terrific finds! I chuckled at your comment about the steampunk mirror pendant not catching on 😃
    The table tennis set looks right from AG in terms of scale. Happy April! 🌷

    • When I bought the ping pong set, I wasn’t sure, but after I got it out of the packaging, it was definitely perfect as far as size.

  9. I have not heard of this “world’s smallest” line, but I will have to look for it! I love the Etch-A-Sketch…not only is it adorable, but it’s a retro item which I just love! I haven’t been thrifting in months and I miss it. The good thing, though is that garage sale season is quickly approaching! 🙂

Leave a Reply

