Our Generation Too Cool For My Shoes Review

I’ve been checking out the local Target stores for some of the newer sets.  It’s been slim pickings in our area, but I did come across a pair of shoes that I hadn’t seen before.  They aren’t even on the Our Generation website for some reason, but neither were the tennis shoes that I picked up for Louisa at Christmas time.  Not sure what it up with that because I’ve noticed reviews of other items not on their site on other blogs.  Hmmm…someone needs to work on that!

Regardless, I had to get these when I saw them.  I’m a sucker for doll shoes to begin with and there is just something about tennis shoes (or trainers as our British and European friends refer to them) that get me every time.  And not just for my dolls, if you looked in my own closet, you’d gasp!

too-cool-1

Aren’t these fun?! I loved that they were denim and trimmed with the bright pink. I know that we all complain about the overabundance of pink in the AG spectrum, but this is just the right amount.

too-cool-2
Here we are out of the package. You can see how they are also lined in pink, a nice added touch! However, when I turned them around, I discovered something I wasn’t expecting…
too-cool-3
Flowers on the sides! I thought they were just a plain pair of tennis shoes, but they aren’t. Why in the world they were packaged so that you couldn’t see this accent is beyond me. Fortunately it wasn’t a deal breaker, I like the trim, but for some people I can see where this could be an issue. Strange, isn’t it?

I needed someone to model them, and it just so happened that Abby was already dressed in denim and pink, so I immediately grabbed her. They went on easily, no hassle whatsoever.
too-cool-4

Love these, I think they are so cute on!
too-cool-5

I give these an A+, they are well made and fit perfectly. While the flowers were unexpected, they aren’t a deal breaker in this case, but I’m glad I was able to review them for others so you can be prepared! At $6.99 I think these are more than reasonably priced. The fact that they aren’t yet on the OG website makes me wonder what else might be coming out. Did anyone else happen to catch a couple of new kitchen accessory sets on the Target website? I saw them one day and I’ve been kicking myself for not ordering them at the time because they have since disappeared, ugh!

20 thoughts on “Our Generation Too Cool For My Shoes Review

  1. Those are cute. I have an OG pair of sneakers, (can’t remember what they’re called), that’s dark denim w/ stars and red, white and blue striped laces. Super cute and fit really well.

    • I have a pair of plaid ones and a pair of purple/pink fold over high tops that are both OG, and they are awesome. Not sure why they don’t make shoes this cute to go with their outfits though???

  2. Adorable! I may have to look for them. Thank you for the review. I’m glad you got a complete pair of sneakers. My pink polka dot ones had to be exchanged because they were packaged with 2 of the same foot shoes!

    The way you mentioned the flower detail not being visible makes me wonder if they were a return. I am able to open the OG shoe packaging without leaving marks. So they could have been opened and repacked backwards.

      • It was rather frustrating. I contacted OG and they just told me to return them to the store. Since not all Targets get shipped the same stuff it took a couple of tries. That’s how I figured out the Trappe/Royersford Target gets different OG shipments that Pottstown and Quakertown.

  3. So cute. I’ll have to look for them in the denim. I have the same basic thing done in pink. I felt the laces were a little big and I replaced them with some soutache so they would be better in scale. (Actually, the pink ones say “Sophia’s” on the inside – I think I got them online – I do have some OG ones somewhere. They seem a little bigger and fit nicely over socks.)

    • I have a pair of those pink ones too and I agree, the laces on them are too big! What a great idea on how to replace them, will have to remember that.

Leave a Reply

