“Okay, campers, rise and shine, and don’t forget your booties ’cause it’s cooooold out there today.”

It’s February 2nd, and you know what that means…GROUNDHOG DAY!!!  Did anyone recognize the title of this post from the movie?

Sophia, Cassandra and Zara wanted to celebrate, so I dug out some pins I had and my stuffed Punxsutawney Phil:

groundhog-day-1

They played “I’ve Got You Babe” about 20 times while they got dressed for school. They were really getting into the spirit of things! So was Phil.
groundhog-day-2

Here are closeups of the pins that the girls were wearing:
groundhog-day-4  groundhog-day-5

The one on the left I got from CafePress a couple of years ago for a party we were having at the office.  The one on the right I picked up when I went to see Xyra at Coolspring, someone from Punxsutawney was set up there selling souvenirs.  The stuffed Phil came from the Groundhogstuff.com site.

groundhog-day-3

The girls plan on continuing the celebration this evening with a viewing of the movie “Groundhog Day”.  It’s a favorite around here, and we haven’t watched it for a while.  Did you know that the movie wasn’t even filmed in Pennsylvania?!?!  It was filmed in Illinois, not far from Chicago.  And let me just tell you, I’ve been to the real Punxsutawney, and it looks nothing like the town in the film!

So how did Groundhog Day get started?  Well, it has it’s roots in European (most specifically German) lore, but the animal was either a badger or a bear, not a groundhog.  I’m not sure how it got changed, other than the fact that groundhogs are plentiful throughout Pennsylvania.  If he comes out of his burrow and sees his shadow, it means that there will be six more weeks of winter weather.  If he doesn’t see it, then it is supposed to mean an early spring.  I personally liked the version that a friend’s dad had of it–“if he sees his shadow, it’s 6 more weeks of winter, if he doesn’t, it means 42 days!”

18 thoughts on ““Okay, campers, rise and shine, and don’t forget your booties ’cause it’s cooooold out there today.”

  1. Thanks for the morning smile. The Shakespearean pin is the best! I have never seen the movie… for no particular reason. Sounds like a good one to watch on the treadmill.

    • Isn’t it awesome?!?! I just had to get those when I saw them, but I was kind of shocked at how tiny they were. Now they are perfect for the dolls! You have to watch it, fun movie.

  2. Been to Punxy, but not for the celebration. It’s a quiet very small town, only one McDonalds, sort of reminds me of my hometown many years ago. What a rip, I thought the movie was actually filmed in Punxy. Going to get the movie out and watch it this afternoon, been awhile since we took a look at it.

  3. I finally saw that movie all the way through for the first time last year…such a classic. I like your friend’s dad’s version what kind of winter we will have regardless of the shadow or not!

  4. I saw part of this movie a LOOOONNG time ago, and don’t remember any of it. So I had NO idea what your tittle meant. Maybe one of these moons I’ll watch it.

  5. Love this celebration, love the movie, and love Punxy! Gamma Enne was telling me she heard a news report noting lodging was more expensive for the Gobbler’s Knob celebration than the Super Bowl. LOL I told her it was definitely a supply and demand thing…high demand on very few rooms available in Punxy.

    I’ve read why they didn’t film in Punxy, but it would have been nice to see the railroad bridge at the north(?) end and the river.

    I picked up information on finding all the Phil statues…perhaps our June adventure. 😉

    • I heard that too about the price of rooms, crazy! I think the reason they didn’t use Punxy was because it was just too small to accommodate what they needed to do. Looking forward to June! 😉

    • Yes, you should! Little Phil was purchased several years ago when we decided to have a Groundhog day party at the office I worked at. It was winter, we were bored, we needed something to celebrate!

    • Thanks! I was really pleased at the size of the buttons, I thought they worked out well. Doesn’t everybody have Groundhog Day buttons in their stash???

Leave a Reply

