The Blogger Recognition Award!

award

I was nominated for the Blogger Recognition Award by Ginnie from Faking It Mostly–thanks Ginnie!

First…the rules!

Thank the blogger who nominated you and provide a link to their blog
Write a post to show your award
Give a brief story of how your blog started
Give two pieces of advice to new bloggers
Select 15 other bloggers for this award
Comment on each blog to let them know you nominated them and link to the post you created.

Give a brief story of how your blog started:

Let’s see, how my blog started…  I actually started writing about my dolls on my other blog, but decided that perhaps I needed to start a separate one since that really wasn’t the main idea for that blog.  I had a lot of craft ideas in mind that I wanted to share.  I had absolutely no idea what to expect as far as people actually reading and following, but now here I am, 2 1/2 years later with around 100 registered followers and who knows how many people who just pop in randomly from bookmarks, other blog referrals and web searches.  Thank you so much for reading the blog and for your continued support!

Give two pieces of advice to new bloggers:

The first one I can’t emphasize enough: BE ORIGINAL!!!  Just because other bloggers are doing something doesn’t necessarily mean it’s the path you have to follow.  I’m going to be brutally honest here–if I see the same thing from blog to blog to blog, I quit reading.  I know that sounds a bit harsh, but I can only see the same thing over and over again before boredom sets in and I lose interest.  Variety is the spice of life!  Keep in mind that I have worked as a photographer in the past.   Do you see doll “photo shoots” on my blog??? NO!  There is a good reason for that.  It’s been done to death.  I don’t feel the need to do something that everyone else has, I want my content and ideas to be fresh and unique.  My favorite blogs are ones that have original ideas, not cookie cutter ones that all look the same.  Just because your friend’s blog does this or that, doesn’t mean you have to.  Find your own way of blogging.

Number two kind of goes along with number one in a round about way–use original content!  DO NOT use photos from other blogs (unless you have permission) or websites.  Just because a photo shows up when you do a Google/Web search does not mean it’s public domain.  Taking and using someone else’s work is essentially stealing, and if you do it out in the world of professional graphics/art, you might find yourself talking to someone’s lawyer!  If you see a photo you really want to use, then do the extra leg work to find out who the original owner of the photograph is, and ask permission.  They may say no, but at least you know that you went about it the right way and not only are you avoiding potentially hurt feelings, but a lawsuit as well.  Just doing that right click and copying is wrong, don’t do it!

Select 15 other bloggers for this award
Comment on each blog to let them know you nominated them and link to the post you created.

This is going to be hard because so many people have already been nominated, so I’ll see what I can come up with!  If I nominate you and you’ve already been nominated and I’m not aware, no biggie.

When All Else Fails A Little Doll Will Do It

The Redhead’s Blog

Cozy Comforts and Dolls

Mommy’s Doll Club

The Dolls Between Us

Julie Newman’s 70’s Time Capsule  (Sharry, you can answer in the comments section here if you like!)

That’s it!  Thanks again Ginnie for nominating us, such a fun award!  And thanks again to everyone who reads and comments, this has been much more fun than I ever imagined, and I’ve met so many nice people because of it.

 

9 thoughts on “The Blogger Recognition Award!

  1. Wow, thanks Flo! And thanks for letting me reply in comments. (I can’t reply on my blog, folks. Julie had no internet in the 70s!) So let’s see…

    1) How my blog got started: I guess I drew my inspiration from one of my favorite (now defunct) blogs, “The Adventures of Anna Lee Merced”. I really liked her first person approach to telling Anna’s story and how she was (in most respects) just like a human little girl who went to school and had friends and went to cool places and did things. I wanted to do something like that w/ Julie, who is not an AG doll and who was my first modern day 18 inch doll.

    2) Give 2 pieces of advice to new bloggers: I think the first would be stick to what you do best. I notice that some blogs (particularly those that are run by teenagers), seem to be kind of all over the place. While it’s nice to have variety, some blog owners get bogged down trying to compete w/ other blogs and dabble in things they really have no interest in, and then turn around and change their whole format. If you like crafts, do it, if you like storytelling, do it. If you like photo shoots, do it, and if you like all of these things, do them. But don’t do things b/c other bloggers are doing just to gain readers. You’ll only end up losing them in the end.

    And next, respect your readers. Reply to their comments, and let them know if you’ll be away for awhile. It’s kind of irritating when you have a favorite blog on your reading list and they stop posting. If you decide to stop blogging, let your readers know. Say good-bye and give them some closure. If you’re going to be away, let your readers know. After all, where would we be without our readers?

    3) I don’t think I have 15 blogs on my reading list, and I do read some of the ones Flo does, So I think I’ll choose just 2: An American Girl Doll Fan (Jessica) and The Savage Dolls (Brenda).

    Thanks for nominating me Flo!

  2. Thank you for the nomination and motivation to get back to the ol blog. I’ve been spending a whole lot of time with Brianna and her math!

  3. Thank you for doing this! I definitely agree with you about the original content. There are so many blogs out there that have really good ideas, and I like those ones above the ones who just post a bunch of the same stuff over and over again. Yours is one of the blogs I love to visit because of the original content. I always know that there will be something new and interesting here, so I always come back! Congrats on all of your followers and congrats on the blogger recognition award. You deserve it! 🙂

    ginnie / http://www.fakingitmostly.com

  4. I’m just catching up on my blog reading…thanks for the nomination!!
    I started my blog after seeing the Toy Box Philosopher and I really liked the idea of reviewing dolls! In all honesty though, to me, it’s a great way to meet other doll collector and to keep track of my own collection. I enjoy doing photo shoots, but I totally agree that the same doll, with the same background, just taken at different angles can be a big booooring. I do appreciate a good photo shoot where someone has taken the time to really put together a story or style the doll really nicely. I also enjoy seeing what clothing people find off of Etsy or make themselves!
    I’ve been following YOUR blog for about 2 out of that 2.5 years! It’s crazy how time has flown.

    • Yes, a few very well done shots works much more so than a whole slew of just average or the same one over and over again! You, Sharry and Jen are some of my earliest followers! Time flies.

Leave a Reply

