Sew, sew, sew!!!

Last year one of the things I wanted to do more of in regards to my dolls was sew.  Unfortunately I didn’t do so well at it due to a multitude of issues, so I decided to try and do MUCH better this year.  My goal has been to sew one item, no matter how big or how small, each week.  I’ve done well so far!  The first two items were gifts and repeats of things I’ve made before, so I’m not even going to show you those.  I hate reruns of blog posts.  But the third item was something I’d really been wanting to try ever since I saw it, and I have to say that I am very pleased with the results!

2 years ago (yes, that long!) Jessica over at American Girl Fan showed where she made some cute infinity scarves for her dolls and included the instructions on how to do it.  If you want to see the original post, you can find it here.  I dug around in my fabric stash to see what I had and finally decided on a piece of fabric.  This is a super easy sewing project, it works up very quickly.  In fact it probably took me longer to set the ironing board up and iron the fabric than it did to actually make the item!

infinity-scarf

Once finished, it easily wrapped twice around Shivan’s neck, then I just had to arrange it so it looked right. LOVE IT! I may have to make some more of these out of some other fabrics I have in my stash. Now on to the next project, not sure what it is going to be. I’m determined though to whittle away at this collection of fabric I have sitting around. Thank heavens for all those freebie patterns from Pixie Faire. Thank you to Jessica for sharing this idea with everyone, the measurements are spot on!

14 thoughts on “Sew, sew, sew!!!

    • Thanks! #62 is one of the few dolls I’ve ever purchased right after they released her, I had said for quite a while she would make an adorable Hindu Indian girl, so I was super excited when she came out. Shivan is an Indian variation (and literal spelling) on one of my favorite Irish names, Siobhan. However, in Indian culture, it is generally a boys name, but there is a female host on the shopping network HSN named Shivan Sarna. Interestingly enough, the different spellings mean two different things! I also considered naming her Jess after the main character in “Bend It Like Beckham” since I wanted her to be soccer crazed as well.

Leave a Reply

