Snow Good To See You Review

I had a request from Heather over at Dollightful Dolls to do a review on this set, and I was more than happy to oblige.  In case you aren’t familiar with this set, it was a Purchase With Purchase at American Girl this fall, you could pick it up for just $14 with a $50 AG purchase.  I looked at it several times and finally I decided to go for it.  I’m glad I did because not only is it very cute, but it’s also sold out!

snow-outfit-1

The set included a dress, scarf and beret.  I have it paired here with the leggings and boots from the Winter White outfit, partially because I think the skirt is really short, but also because it’s cold here in the Northeast!  The Winter White set was never one of my favorites, but I thought it had a lot of mix and max potential with the pieces, and here is a perfect example of what I mean.

I LOVE the detail on this set.  The embroidery on the sweater and scarf is beautifully done and just the perfect accents for both pieces.

snow-outfit-2 snow-outfit-3

The top part of the dress is a sweater type knit, the skirt is a stretchy fabric, so it looks like two pieces instead of one.  I think if you could find fabric in a nice contrast, this would look cute over a slightly longer skirt too, giving it a layered look.  The scarf is very nice, I like how they stitched a button hole opening in it so you can slip it through, making it stay around the dolls neck.  I think it looks nicer than a great big knot, plus less chance of losing it.

snow-outfit-4

The beret is very well done, the knit scale is just right and it fits beautifully.  Louisa says she feels a bit like Grace Thomas with it on!

I give this set an A+, I think it’s one of the nicest PWP sets AG has done in a while.  It’s a shame that it’s sold out already, but I’m sure there are probably some available on Ebay.  Full retail if you wanted to buy it alone was $28, so keep that in mind if you are looking for it on the secondary market.

22 thoughts on “Snow Good To See You Review

  1. She looks adorable!! I love it when they use real embroidery! I also agree with you about the buttonhole opening in the scarf – great idea!!!
    Did you get to go the after Christmas sale at the AG store?

    • I didn’t unfortunately. I had so much going on, didn’t have the time. I’m hopefully going next week though, so I’m anxious to see what they have in the store from the new releases!

  2. That’s a dress??? More like tunic! It’s cute though with the tights paired with it. Love the scarf. Are you getting the northeast snow or is that more coastal? Thanks for the review 💗

    • My thoughts exactly, it is way too short to really be a dress. The snow is mostly north and east of here, we got about 5 inches of snow last night, but more is coming. Ugh.

      • I think the same thing! When I tried it on my doll I was a bit shocked! American Girl has recently received a lot of complaints about outfits being too inappropriate especially on one of their Instagram posts. You should have seen the comments!! They had a sweater paired with SUPERtight leggings and the sweater didn’t even cover up the area where you could see the vinyl up against the leggings! Not Good AG! 😐😳😱

      • I agree completely. I’m no prude, but this to me is taking things a bit too far. These are toys, aimed at girls, not teens. I’m glad to hear that people responded. I’m getting really tired of the skimpy clothing. Even some of the shorts are way too short in my opinion.

      • I am saying the same thing. Even Gabriela has a crop top. I am a tween that still loves AG, but a boyfriend is totally crossing the line for me. I will probably buy Tenney though as I am from Tennessee.

      • The bits and pieces I’ve heard about the boy doll is that he is going to be Tenney’s brother, or just a male friend, not a boyfriend. I agree that if it’s more, then that is crossing the line, especially since the main target audience for these dolls is 7 – 10. I’m done buying dolls, but I’m very anxious to see her accessories!

  3. Thanks a ton for this review. I learned a lot. I didn’t know it was a dress! I thought it was a shirt with a super short skirt. I didn’t even know about it until it was already sold out. I think I will look for this on ebay. I hear my McKenna saying she wants it..

    • That’s one thing I don’t like about the way they do PWP online, the only way you ever see it is if you actually put items in the cart. I think they could boost sales if they had these on their front page, people would perhaps decide to make a purchase because they wanted the special sets!

  4. I love this outfit! We bought it for our Bitty Babies, and it fits them like it was made for them. The hat and scarf actually stay on and are so soft. Paired it with purple tights from OG and mauve booties. It’s a great outfit!

  5. Nana Kestrel gave me two of these for Christmas. I thought the very same thing about it being more of a tunic than a dress, but do love the detailing in the sweater and beret.

    The knit kind of reminds me of the sweaters we got at Ames in the 70s and 80s, but it is better on the dolls than a thicker knit. Really do love the outfit at the PWP price point.
    ~Xyra

    Hi, Louisa! You look awesome! Did you see Melody and I in ours? We played twins; you could be our fraternal triplet!
    ~Kirsten

    • Yes, that perfectly describes the knit! –Flo

      Hi Kirsten! Yes, I did see you and Melody, that was fun. I’d love to be your triplet! –Louisa

Leave a Reply

