Doll Sized Finds: Ho Ho Ho!

This version of doll sized finds is going to be a bit different than usual.  Most of the time I have items that I’ve picked up at thrift stores, but this time around, it’s all going to be new items that you might be able to find where you are.  One thing about Christmas is we see all sorts of fun stuff that we don’t see at other times of the year.  So you have to be extra vigilant, using your “doll eyes” to scope out everything.

My first items I can’t take total credit for.  Sharry from Julie Newman’s 70’s Time Capsule gave me a heads up on these little gems.

dsf-nov-1-16

The adorable film projector and record player both came from Walgreens. Aren’t they great? I’d seen the record player on other blogs in the past, but the film projector was a whole new item. Both of these play the “Linus and Lucy” theme. Yes, that’s the one that they play while getting ready to rehearse for the Christmas play! On the film projector, the reels actually move and the little screen/photo lights up. The record on the record player goes around, making it look very realistic. Great find Sharry, thanks for the information! Both of these items came with different themes too, at this Walgreens they had Peanuts, Mickey Mouse and Frozen. There may be others that I’m unaware of.  These were each $12.99, but you may be able to get them cheaper if they run a sale, or you have a Walgreens card.

At the front of any Target store, you find the dangerous “Dollar” section.  I have noticed over the past couple of years, the items have become more expensive and that not all of them are a dollar.  However, they do have some nice things and still at good prices.  Right now everything is Christmas themed, ’tis the season!

dsf-nov-2-16

I thought the sled would be so cute for a story involving Emily and Lanie. It does need a different rope attached, the one on it is short since I imagine it’s intended to be hung on a door. After I got home, I was wishing I’d picked up two, they’d be cute on our doors! It was only $5, so if I end up at Target again and they still have them, I’ll definitely be picking up another. The bottlebrush tree caught my eye immediately, I think it will look terrific in the dollhouse for the holiday season. It was the last one and I can see why, at only $3 it was a bargain compared to what I’ve seen others going for. I was glad I came across these items since the Our Generation items were an enormous let down. Lots of stuff, but all of the same stuff we’ve been seeing all year. Oh well.

The last item isn’t really a doll sized find, especially since it’s actually made for dolls. I did want to share it with all of you because it brings attention to something you may or may not be aware of.
dsf-nov-3-16

Yes, it’s the toaster from the new American Girl Gourmet Kitchen. I think the kitchen is very cute, but not only would it not work out well in my dollhouse set up, I already have a kitchen that I really like. But that darned toaster, it was so cute. What to do, what to do? Ebay of course! There are several people who sell on Ebay who buy American Girl items and then break them up, selling the pieces individually or in smaller lots. It’s not exactly cheap, but when you are talking about an item that sells for $225, that seems like an awful lot of money to pay when all you wanted was a toaster! The seller that I got Louisa off of last summer does this frequently and I was very excited to see she had the toaster available. The only drawback was they only had the toaster and no bread. Then I remembered that the lasagna set had two slices of garlic toast with it, so when the toaster arrived, the first thing I did was try it out!
dsf-nov-4-16 dsf-nov-5-16

Perfect fit! There are a number of people selling individual items on Ebay, so if there is something you are looking for, check it out. I’ve even seen individual shoes for sale, so if you are missing one from a set, it might be worth a look!

19 thoughts on “Doll Sized Finds: Ho Ho Ho!

  1. You’re very welcome! I had to get 2 film projectors, (the other being Mickey and Minnie), ‘cos I couldn’t make up my mind! LOL! As much as I love the Peanuts gang, I kinda like the Mickey one better, ‘cos the light flashes in time w/ the music, while the Snoopy one just lights up in a steady beat.

  2. I have been wanting the toaster too! I have bought off the sellers you are talking about before for the exact same reason. Are you happy with the toaster?
    My favorite doll size find lately are a pair of super cute mini real scissors that look just like my own kitchen scissors. I was a a Tanger Outlet Mall and they were in the kitchen store for $1.99. I love them!!!

  3. Very nice additions to your collection. I love the sled and the toaster. So glad you had some bread to fill it.

    Next time you are in Target, go to the seasonal section…in the stocking stuffer bins you will find a sock monkey! I think it was $4.99.

    [PS. I noticed quite a few 2017 leak posts today. 🙂 ]

  4. Great finds, Flo! Thanks for the tip about the record player…how adorable is that??? Also another great tip regarding finding individual pieces of AG items from larger sets..I never think of that! Glad the toast worked out! 🙂

  5. So cute! I love that record player! I had something similar when I was a girl but it played Disney records. I’m going to look for it today at my Walgreens. I love the toaster. I have the problem that my doll kitchen is overflowing with kitchen stuff! I may have to find some room….

  6. I braved the mall tonight to take the kids to get pictures with Santa. Sears has these adorable lip balms in the shape of coffee shop to go cups for $1.00. Since Lea was with us, we as they were the perfect size for dolls!

Leave a Reply

