Camping In

Ever since the girls had their camp out when Trudy and Chantelle visited, Cassandra has been wanting to have another.  We had so many things going on, so it took us a while before we could work it into the schedule.  We finally got everything planned and she invited Fiona, Lanie and Lanie’s little sister Emily.  She thought it would be a nice way to get to know Lanie and Emily better since they just moved here over the summer.  Everything was all set and then the unthinkable happened: it rained.  Cassandra was really upset until I told her that they could use the big living room and set up the camper and tents there.

She and Fiona set everything up and then Lanie and Emily arrived with sleeping bags in hand.

camping-in-1

“Hi guys!  I’m so glad you were able to come to our camp in!”

camping-in-2

“Thank you so much for inviting me Cassandra!  I’m really looking forward to hanging out with the big girls!”

camping-in-3

“You’re very welcome Emily!”

“Cassandra, would it be okay if I shared a tent with you?  I’ve never been camping before and I know you have.  I thought you could help me.”

“Sure thing Emily!  Come on, we’ll get our stuff in the tent.  We’ll take the skinnier one since you aren’t very big, that way Fiona and Lanie will have more room.”

“I guess you’re bunking with me Lanie,” said Fiona.

camping-in-5

“There, everything fits just fine!  Since you’ve never camped before Emily, I’ll tell you a few things we do.  We tell funny stories, sometimes scary stories, but not too scary.  We stay up half the night talking.  We eat a lot of junk food.  And we make smores.”

camping-in-6

Then all of a sudden it dawned on Cassandra:

camping-in-7

“OH NO! We don’t have a fire, how are we going to toast marshmallows for smores???”

Never fear Cassandra, Flo to the rescue.

Okay gang, I’m going to show you how to make marshmallows indoors so you never have to be without smores.  Kids, if you are going to try this PLEASE get help from a grown up.  I don’t want to hear of anyone getting burnt or worse yet, burning their house down.  It’s easy and safe if you follow the directions.

First off, you need an oven safe dish.  I have several small ones that work well for making small portions:

camping-in-8

Then add your marshmallows.  You can use mini marshmallows or full size, it doesn’t matter, both will work just fine.  Fill the dish with the marshmallows.  If using mini’s, fill them to about the height of a full sized one.

camping-in-9

This next part is going to be different for everyone, depending on what you use.  You can use a full sized oven, pre-heated to 350, but it doesn’t always work that great.  I much prefer a toaster oven, set on the “toast” setting.  DO NOT LEAVE THE ROOM once you put them in the oven.  You will need to watch them carefully, especially the first time you do this because once they start to toast, it goes very quickly.  If you aren’t careful, they will catch fire, believe me!

camping-10

And they are ready!!!  (This batch took about 7 minutes.)

camping-in-11

Perfection!  Now you are ready to use them with graham crackers  and chocolate.  Peanut butter is good too, it helps “glue” it all together.

camping-in-12

Well Cassandra, what do you think?

camping-in-13

“Awesome!”

 

14 thoughts on “Camping In

  1. What a great idea! Thank you for sharing. I have wanted to do this with my grandchildren but didn’t want to show them by roasting over the gas burners on the cook top in their parent ‘ s kitchen. I will be doing this next time I stay with the girls when our dolls have a camp out.

  2. Cassandra told one that I had told her about the ghost at Old Fort Niagara. It wasn’t too scary for Emily plus it had a historical twist!

    • Thanks! I’ve been toasting marshmallows this way for a very long time, but was inspired to do this when I mentioned it to someone and they had never heard of it. I figured there were other people who needed to know this as well!

Leave a Reply

