Coolspring Time Again!

Hey guys, Abby here!  I’m sure from the title, you can figure out what this post is about.  Yes, time to go to the Coolspring Power Museum to see Xyra, and this time Grace. I was super excited to get to go, especially since I wasn’t originally supposed to.  Marie-Grace already had dibs on going, but then she got a bad cold and sore throat, so Flo decided she should stay home and recover.  I couldn’t believe when she asked me if I would like to go, I couldn’t get “YES” out of my mouth fast enough!

We weren’t sure what to expect weatherwise, the forecast was all over the place.  We hit rain here and there, but once we got there, it cleared up and we didn’t see another drop.  Once we arrived, Flo texted Xyra, and before too long, she and Grace came to meet us.

coolspring-1-october-2016
It was so nice to meet her-and her dog BonBon too! He’s so cute!

There is so much to see at Coolspring! I thought the “Boneyard” looked pretty interesting though. These are parts of non-functioning engines so that people can see them. The fun part is that, unlike the ones that work, you can touch these. So we really checked them out!  (please remember that these are not safe for humans to climb on, only dolls!)

coolspring-2-october-2016

coolspring-3-october-2016

“Come on Abby, you can do it!  The view is great up here!”

coolspring-4-october-2016
“Sorry BonBon!”

coolspring-5-october-2016
“Victory!”

coolspring-6-october-2016

“Hello down there!”

coolspring-7-october-2016

Flo said it wouldn’t be a lunch at Coolspring without some homemade ice cream.  It was so good!  Afterwards, we  checked out some more engines that were behind where we had been sitting while we ate.

coolspring-8-october-2016

Then it was time for us to go. I was so sad to leave, I had such a fun time hanging out with Xyra and Grace. Hopefully I’ll get to go again sometime.
coolspring-9-october-2016

Xyra sent us home with some fun goodies to share!
coolspring-10-october-2016
A cool hiking stick, awesome! This is going to come in handy the next few weeks to go walking in the woods with. Lots of pretty leaves to see.
coolspring-11-october-2016
A birdhouse. What colors should we paint it?
coolspring-12-october-2016
A Minion bank for Cassandra. She’s going to love this! I think the round things are stickers, I need to investigate further.
coolspring-13-october-2016
A travel journal, a flyer on rain forests and an American Girl Magazine! Awesome! We always need new reading material around here.
coolspring-14-october-2016
Oooooo! A cauldron that we can use for Halloween decorations or for someone to take trick or treating. And another similar item that will look fantastic with a light in it for the holiday season.
coolspring-15-october-2016
And this cute little doll. Xyra called it a “worry doll”. I don’t know why, it doesn’t look very worried to me!

Thanks again Xyra and Grace for being such great hosts at Coolspring! We had a great time.  Flo told me that she is already making some special plans with Xyra for the next time she goes in June.  I can’t wait to see what it is!

If you’d like to see what Grace and Xyra did when we weren’t there, you can check it out over at Tea Time with Melody Q. And if you’d like to learn more about the Coolspring Power Museum, you can check it out here: http://coolspringpowermuseum.org/

15 thoughts on “Coolspring Time Again!

  1. Hey, cool! hat’s me! (giggles) How you doing, Abby? I’m glad you had a good time on your field trip.
    ~Grace

    Hmmm, are those minion discs stickers, coins, or pogs? We tried the flickering tea light led candle in the pumpkin you mentioned – it’s great! I bet the white cauldron would make a great luminerie.
    ~Xyra

    • Hi Grace! I had a great time! –Abby

      I’m thinking that since it’s a bank, they are coins. They aren’t stiff like pogs and I can’t see where the backing comes off, although I haven’t tried very hard for fear of messing them up. Cassandra thinks she is going to hanging them on the wall! I agree that the white cauldron would make a great luminerie, we have one of those multicolored tea lights we are going to put in it. –Flo

      • Abby, Hope to see you again sometime!
        ~Grace

        Ooo, stickers are lovely! could still make them into a wall hanging for Cassandra. Send us a photo of your lit cauldron.
        ~Xyra

  2. Such a cute post…glad you had such a fun time, Abby! It’s always so nice to get to spend some quality time with the ones you live and meet up with friends along the way. I love your braid!

Leave a Reply

