Kit’s Trip, Part 3

Our last day on vacation was messed up due to the weather.  It rained and rained, all day long, making outdoor activities less than desirable.  We found a few interesting things to do though.  First we drove to the very small town of Stonington, it’s not far from Mystic.  Lots of pretty colonial style houses, very classic New England.  They also have a lighthouse that was moved a little bit inland, it serves as a museum.

trip-1

trip-2

We were trying to decide what to do in this horrible weather, when Flo made a very strange suggestion. She thought it might be interesting to drive through the cemetery in Mystic, perhaps we might find some very old tombstones. I have to admit I was a little bit creeped out at first, but it ended up being very interesting. You can actually learn a lot from reading the tombstones!

Here are a couple of the ones we thought were very interesting in their design:
trip-3

trip-4

Flo said this one made her think of the ones she has seen on trips to Ireland.
trip-5

From the one side of the cemetery you could see the seaport:

trip-6

It let up a little bit on the rain, so we went into downtown Mystic to check out some of the unique shops. They had some really neat stuff in them. Flo picked up a shirt and a nice bag that is waterproof, she said it will come in handy when she goes to Coolspring to meet Xyra since it always seems to rain. One of the places we stopped at was a toy store called “Mystical Toys”–I got a couple of things which I’ll share at the end of the post.

We were trying to figure out the best way to go to get to another place when we discovered that we were on the opposite side of the seaport, and we had a really great view of the other side of the Charles W. Morgan!
trip-7

The next morning we got up really early to head home. There was a home football game at Penn State that day and we hoped we would get by there before the traffic was backed up. We went through at noon and it was just starting to get clogged at the exit–and the game didn’t start until 3:30! Crazy. The weather was still kind of yucky, so I just hung out in the backseat, did my homework and napped. As nice as it is to get to travel, it is also nice to come home.

Here’s what I got at the toy store:
trip-8
Isn’t the Gumby figure I found cool?! I’ll have to find the perfect place to put him in my room. I also got two packages of crayons so that we have plenty when we all want to work on art projects.

One place we stopped at was a thrift store, Mr. Flo got a necktie and Flo found this:
trip-9
It’s almost identical to the one Cassandra has in her room now. Flo thinks they will look nice side by side and it will give Cassandra a better place to put her Minion collection.  I have to agree.  Plus she might have some space for some new Minions now!

That’s it for my travel pictures and story!  I hope you enjoyed it.  Thank you so much for stopping by!  I sure hope I get to go on another trip really soon, I had fun, even if the weather didn’t cooperate.

 

12 thoughts on “Kit’s Trip, Part 3

  1. Ewww! Creepy graveyard! Just kidding. I used to live near the cemetery in NYC where Clement C Moore (Night Before Christmas) is buried. Bummer about the rain, but I guess you made the best of it. Julie loves your Gumby figure. I remember watching it when I was 3 years old.

    • Yeah, Gumby would be right up Julie’s alley! The cemetery was actually really interesting once I got past the creepy part. I don’t think I’d want to be there around Halloween though! –Kit

  2. I love downtown Mystic! Did you stop for pizza at Mystic Pizza? On my last trip there, I remember there was also a shop that sold clothes for us 18″ girls. I wonder if it’s still there?

    • We talked about going to Mystic Pizza but decided against it, maybe next time. I don’t remember seeing a shop that sold doll clothes or I would have been all over it!

    • We had fun checking out the ones that were family plots. Especially interesting were ones where they had two names on them and one didn’t have a death date, but there was no way possible they could still be alive. Made you wonder what happened!

    • I couldn’t believe my luck when I found that bookshelf. I wasted no time getting it into Cassandra’s room, it holds all of her Minions safely with a little room to spare! Kit has placed Gumby on her desk, so she can see him from her bed.

  3. Love the shots from the old graveyard.

    Gumby is awesome – he was once a little green slab of clay…loved watching when I was little. Pokey was my favorite. Disliked the blockheads.
    ~Xyra

    Kit! Looks like you had a great trip and w fun end to a great trip! Have fun decorating.
    ~Melody

Leave a Reply

