Packing…

Kit decided it was time she thought about packing for the trip.  She wasn’t sure what to take though, the most traveling she had done recently was back and forth between here and her parents home in Cincinnati.  She decided maybe it would be a good idea to get some help, so she went downstairs to see if any of the other girls had any ideas.  First she stopped outside of Cassandra’s bedroom.  After hearing the conversation, she decided maybe she’d better ask someone else as it seemed Cassandra, Shivan and Fiona were in a rather heated discussion about something that Kit didn’t understand.

packing-1
“I think Euclidian geometry is much better than Pythagorean geometry!” “No! No! No! Pythagorean geometry is better–it’s called the Pythagorean Theorem not the Euclidian Theorem!”

Kit continued down the hall to where Alya and Shivan’s room is.  When she looked in the door, she could see Alya showing Kanani the new bag she’d picked up.

packing-2

“Isn’t this bag adorable? I got it at Target, it was the last one they had in pink.” said Alya. “Oh, hey Kit, come on in!”

packing-3

“Hi guys!” replied Kit. “I need some help, I’m having a hard time with packing for the trip. I thought maybe since you both have traveled some, you might be able to help me?”

“Sure!” exclaimed both Alya and Kanani. “Go get your suitcase and bring it in here and we’ll get you all straightened out.”

Kit ran up to her bedroom and got her suitcase.
packing-4

“Let’s set it up here on the bed,” said Alya.  “Kanani, if you could go get some of the clothing out of the wardrobe that you think she’ll need, that would be a huge help.”

packing-5

Kanani came back with several items.

packing-6

Kit wondered outloud. “Guys, do you really think I’m going to need all of that?” “Oh, most definitely!” replied Kanani. “You don’t want to be away from home and find out you need something and you don’t have it!”

packing-7

The girls continued adding things to the pile.
packing-8“You’re going to need sandals, flats, boots, sneakers…”

packing-9

“…several pairs of pajamas and a bathrobe…”

Finally Kit couldn’t take it anymore. “STOP!!! GUYS! I’m only going for four days!!!”
packing-10

Alya and Kanani turned and looked at Kit and in unison responded. “Oh.”
packing-11

“Thanks guys, but I think I can handle this on my own!”

Do you have a tendency to over-pack when going on a trip?  I’ve never been one to get too carried away, but over the years I’ve managed to pack less and less and on our last trip to Ireland, both Mr. Flo and I took only a rolling carry-on bag and a shoulder bag.  I think Kit’s going to fit right in on this trip!

12 thoughts on “Packing…

  1. This was adorable! I laughed at the packing; hadn’t expected that. 🙂 I’m on a cross-country trip with my husband and 6 month old and yes, I probably overpacked. But a girl’s got to be prepared! Loved this little photo story.

  2. Nope, not me. I never over pack. I take just enough, w/ a little extra room for souvenirs. And I usually take 2 dolls w/ me. Just a backpack and a drag bag. (the doll’s suitcase fits in my backpack.)

  3. I tend to over pack a little bit. With one extra outfit and layer item to be prepared if something should happen and you need to change into dry or clean clothes.Plus weather can change in a snap; I like to be prepared for almost every weather situation.

Leave a Reply

