Review of Journey Girls Bistro Table Set

I don’t know what it is about this year, but it seems to be the year of the table and chairs!  AG came out with a new set for Truly Me as well as a set for Melody, Our Generation came out with a set right around the new year, My Life As came out with a set recently and so did Journey Girls.  Take your pick, they are all cute!  I have the prior AG table and chairs set, but I’d been contemplating a smaller set for when I do set ups in the bakery, using that set was just a bit on the crowded side.  I’ve seen reviews on several different sets, but the one that appealed to me the most as far as looks was the Journey Girl set.  I think part of that is because it resembles Kit’s table and chairs set a bit, and that is a set that I’ve always liked.  The only reason I don’t have it is because it’s all metal and weighs a lot, and I would have difficulty storing it when not in use.

bistro-1

In my recent trip to Toys R Us, I decided to take a close look at this set, and after much debate, it came home with me.  I wasn’t sure what to expect after my last wrestling match with the packaging but I’m happy to report, it was easy as pie to get out of the box.  I guess they were saving the frustration for the assembly.  While the pieces appeared to be easy to assemble, they did require a bit of manual dexterity.  It was all worth it in the end though, this is one adorable set!

bistro-2
The accessories with this set are very well done, I especially love the tiered serving stand and the fact that the plates are removable, just like with a real one:
bistro-3
You get 4 macarons, 4 heart shaped cookies–and only 1 cupcake?! I guess the dolls have to fight it out over that one.

bistro-4
You also get 2 plates (saucers), 2 cups and 2 placemats. I like the sizing on these pieces, scale accurate.

bistro-5   bistro-6

I love the attention to detail on the table, so well done.  I think the top will be fairly easy to get off too in order to store it a little easier.

bistro-7

The chairs are very nice as well, about the only thing I’d be tempted to change are the cushion covers, not wild about the print, but that’s more of a personal choice. I was a little concerned about how easily they would tip with a doll in them, or how well the doll would stay on them, and my concerns went out the window once I tried them out. They are very sturdy despite their light weight.

Now the big question was, who would get to try them out first? I decided on Emily and Lanie for 2 reasons. 1) they haven’t done any modeling yet for the blog and 2) it shows how well they work for both sizes of dolls. Don’t they look so sweet, sharing a snack together? I laughed once I opened the photos up on my computer too, with them sitting by that window and it looking so pretty outdoors, it almost looks like they are at a real bistro!

bistro-8

I give this set an A+++++. This is well worth the $24.99 price and a fantastic bargain at that. Once I got it all assembled, I was tempted to stick it in the doll kitchen and take out the AG set, I like it that much! The only issue that I feel like I need to mention is that the assembly on this was not all that easy, so if you are buying it for a small child, be prepared to assemble it. Otherwise, it is perfect!

12 thoughts on “Review of Journey Girls Bistro Table Set

  1. Love the table and chairs, and also the tiered serving stand. That would work well with just about anything in the bakery. Do have an issue with the blue macaroons??? I have never seen any that color, couldn’t they be a bit more realistic. Hoping that we can incorporate this set into our next shoot with my girl Raynia and your 3 dolls on the set. The size seems to be scaled just right for AG and Wellie’s to fit on.

Leave a Reply

