Review of Melody’s Electric Piano

A few posts ago I mentioned that I wanted to get Melody’s Electric Piano as my birthday present.  Originally I was going to wait until Evil Twin and I went to the new pop-up store in Pittsburgh.  My plans all changed though when we not only postponed our trip, but I also discovered that it doesn’t seem to be available in any of the pop-up stores!  I decided to just go ahead and order it so I was sure it was here by my birthday and after a bit of fuss and hassle, I finally managed to get the order placed.  It arrived this past weekend and I just had to show it to everyone!  Happy Happy Birthday to Me indeed!!

The first thing I got a chuckle out of was on the box where it said “adult assembly required”.  They apparently don’t know the same children I do, just about any of the kids I know could have put this together in seconds.  I did.  You basically just pop the legs into place.  Unscrew the battery compartment, insert batteries, put the cover back on and you’re ready to go!

I was very disappointed when I got everything out of the box and discovered that the sheet music was just floating around in the box, all by itself.  Mine got a little bent up because of that, fortunately not mangled.  I thought for sure it would come in some sort of envelope, or in a plastic bag with the instructions, but nope, just floating around in the box.  Weird.

melody-keyboard-5 melody-keyboard-6

Here it is assembled:

melody-keyboard-1

A shot of the underside so you can see where the legs pop in:

melody-keyboard-3

And a view of the on/off switch (which is also the volume control) and the battery compartment.

melody-keyboard-4

One thing I was very pleased to see is that the speakers on it are in the right place!  This is where they would be on a real piano keyboard or even the more modern synthesizer type keyboard we have now.  Very cool.

melody-keyboard-2

Overall, I’m really thrilled with this piece.  It’s a toss up between this and the camper as to which I like the best!  I think this is a terrific accessory for the price too, $48 is not horribly out of line, especially if you compare it to some of the other items they have for sale that don’t do anything special.

I had a couple of questions that I suspect others do too, so I decided to do a quick demonstration video of how it works.  I apologize for the poor lighting, one of the drawbacks of living where I do, even natural light doesn’t always do the trick! (unless you go outside)  And ignore the barking dog in the background, I don’t know what she thought she heard, but you all can hear her! 🙂

You can view the video here:

**note: If you noticed the keyboard rocking in the video, it’s not a reflection of the keyboard. It’s more an issue of the very old and warped surface I had it sitting on!  I later moved it to my dining room table and it didn’t budge.  Unfortunately the light there is almost non-existent. 😦

14 thoughts on “Review of Melody’s Electric Piano

  1. Great video! That looks like a fun piece. I had a friend who had an organ when I was a kid. Her mom always planned to get her lessons. It never happened. Oh well. Happy early birthday!

    • Thank you! I do think this is a super piece, and when I think about the size and price in comparison to the grand piano that AG used to sell, this is a steal. Much easier to store and works just as great.

  2. Hi Flo,
    Loved the video demo! I had no idea it actually played, that’s amazing! I have been getting back into playing the piano so I am just in love with this. Putting it on my wish list. 🙂 I think AG does a pretty good job in general with their musical instruments. I agree that the price is ok, especially, like you said when compared with other things at the same price point!

    • I agree, that is something they seem to do very well. I’m so glad they came out with this because as much as I would have loved to have picked up the grand piano for my collection, I just didn’t have the room. This works much better.

Leave a Reply

