Doll Sized Finds–August goodies!

I haven’t had a whole lot of time to go to thrift stores lately, I’ve been busy with all sorts of other things.  I did manage to get out to the three stores in my area one day though and I came across some pretty cool items.  Bear with me though, I do remember what I paid for them, but not where they came from.  Yes, it’s been that kind of month!

When I saw this little container, I thought it would be a perfect canister for the doll kitchen or the bakery.  It is supposed to be a jelly pot (I think) but it is very tiny.  It’s missing the little spoon, but that is fine, I’ll put the opening where it goes to the back so it can’t be seen.  I can see this being a nice place to put flour or cookies!  It was 50 cents, has a few minor nicks in it that I need to touch up.

dsf aug 16 1

Then I came across these tiny little cups! These are just slightly bigger than the mugs included with the camper, so these are for those days when you need a bigger than normal cup of coffee. At 10 cents each I couldn’t pass them up!
dsf aug 16 2

I loved this little bowl, I’m assuming it was meant to be a tea light holder, but I thought it would make a cute serving bowl for the doll kitchen. Another fruit bowl perhaps? Heaven knows I have enough doll fruit to fill 2! It was only 69 cents and looked as though it had never been used.
dsf aug 16 3

Something that always amazes me is the number of Happy Meal Toys I see at thrift stores, still in packages. I worked for McDonald’s many years ago and even then, the toys were huge collectibles. I often wonder why all of a sudden they end up there, who knows?! On this day I came across these:
dsf aug 16 4

And out of the packages:
dsf aug 16 5

Build A Bear toys from 2012! I think they are super cute and I couldn’t pass them up at 49 cents each. No hamburger and fries to eat either. 😉

Last, but certainly not least is something I came across one day while we were out to eat. The place we ate at has a store attached and while we were waiting for a table, I spotted this:
dsf aug 16 6

Anyone else remember these? I had two of them and someone always seemed to be playing with them at our house, adults and kids alike. When I saw this mini version, I just had to have it. I didn’t think $2 was too much either for something like this. It’s hard too!!

That’s all I found in the month of August. It might be a while before I do another Doll Sized Finds, September and October are going to be tremendously busy, I looked at my calendar and we have something going on every week for 6 weeks in a row! I’ll survive but it certainly will eat into my thrift store shopping time as well as everything else. And if you don’t see me posting as much, don’t panic, that’s why.  I did try and petition for a 48 hour day, but it was rejected. 😉  Until next time!

12 thoughts on “Doll Sized Finds–August goodies!

  1. What Great finds! I love the jelly pot and the tea cups and the bowl and the stuffies. I just did my own thrift store finds – haha! There is a new Thrift store that opened in my area and I was there as soon as they opened! I am trying to keep your “only if it’s better than what I already have,” plan in my mind, but it is so hard to pass up anything doll-sized!

    • Oh dear, that would be a dangerous situation for me! It is so hard to resist, there are so many cute things out there just begging to be bought. 😉

    • I can say in all honesty that I’ve never had a Happy Meal, but I worked for McDonald’s, so I knew all about the toys. When I worked for them, you couldn’t buy just the toy either, you had to buy the whole meal, but they have eased up on that. However, prices vary for those toys depending on the restaurant owner. Around here I can get them for $1 each which is reasonable since I’m not buying all of them, just ones that work for doll toys. You can imagine how shocked I was when I was out of town and bought one and they charged me $2.50!!!

      • I saw where someone made a doll size build a bear store and used the McDonald’s build a bear toys for the merchandise!!!! It was adorable!!!!

Leave a Reply

