Bitty Baby/Bitty Twin Outfit Experiment #2

Last year I bought two outfits made to fit Bitty Baby/Bitty Twins and tried them on my regular American Girl dolls. The results were excellent.  (You can read that post here: https://sayhellotomylittlefriends.wordpress.com/2015/03/30/bitty-baby-outfits-on-regular-american-girl-dolls/)

I’ve looked at a number of outfits since.  Nothing really jumped out at me though. As you may or may not know, with the introduction of the Wellie Wishers line, Bitty Twins were discontinued. Last week a bunch of Bitty Twin outfits went on sale at 50% off, and one caught my eye. Then another, and another, and next thing I knew, I had 6 outfits in my cart! I decided that they were inexpensive enough to go ahead and get them all, most were $10 and the most expensive $12. And experiment #2 was born.

Let me just say that I consider this to be a very successful experiment. I will show you the results in the order of worst to best. Or perhaps I should say least favorite to most favorite. Not that I dislike any of them, just a couple that I like way more than the others. Are you ready?

First Up: Fair Isle Skirt Set. I’m a sucker for a good sweater, so this naturally caught my eye. Here’s what it looked like on the website:
bitty outfit 1

When Rebecca saw the box had arrived, she asked if she could be the model. How could I say no? Here is what it looked like on her:
bitty outfit 2

I think it is cute on, and fit is good. The skirt isn’t horribly short, but the shoes don’t fit. That’s okay, they look more like slippers. I will probably put those in with the stuff for the Bitty Baby I’m rehoming with my grandniece. The sweater is a little big around the middle, but not enormous. I may take it in a tiny bit to make it look a little more slender. Overall, not bad.

Next: Butterfly Dress

Website Photo:
bitty outfit 3

And on Rebecca:
bitty outfit 4

A bit on the short side, but some people might like it that way. I will probably pair it with some leggings. The boots were not a struggle to get on, but they have no sole, so it was a little difficult to stand her up. They remind me of some of the boots that Our Generation has included with their sets. The one thing I was a little concerned about was getting the sleeves over her hands, but the velvet trim there has a decent amount of stretch, so with a little extra effort, they did go over them. Cute, just needs some added pieces.

Next: Rainbow Plaid Outfit

Website Photo:
bitty outfit 5

And on Rebecca:
bitty outfit 6

I really liked this outfit for several reasons. For one, if you don’t fold the pantlegs up, they end up being full length pants on an AG doll. That really surprised me. And the sleeves can be rolled down on the shirt as well:
bitty outfit 7

The fit on the shirt and shoes is good, the pants are a little loose, but they look very comfy. Another score!

Next: Fresh Picked Sundress

Let me just say that I almost missed this. The original listing had no reference to it being for dolls and because of the photo, I assumed it was for little girls. On further investigation, I realized it was for dolls, and I thought it would be very cute. It didn’t include any shoes, but $10 for a shirt and dress didn’t seem too bad so I gave it a shot. (I’ve noticed that they have since changed the way it is listed.)

Website photo:
bitty outfit 8

On Rebecca:
bitty outfit 9

I loved this once I put it on her! The fit is terrific, the length is good and the way it is designed, you could wear the dress all by itself on a very hot day. I’m so glad I took a chance on it.

Next: Sunny Fun Outfit

Website photo:
bitty outfit 10

And on Rebecca:
bitty outfit 11

This outfit looks pretty much like I’d hoped it would. The shorts look a bit like Bermuda shorts with the extra length, and the top fits very well. Even the shoes fit. I think this outfit makes Rebecca look like a camp counselor or as staff at a resort.

And now for the last outfit. This is actually what started this whole thing, and I have to admit that it’s my favorite of all of the outfits. The Beachcomber Outfit.

Website photo:
bitty outfit 12

And on Rebecca:
bitty outfit 13

I LOVE IT!!! The fit is perfect on everything. By not rolling the pants up, they end up being the perfect clam digger length. This outfit makes me think of the illustrations in the book “Misty of Chincoteague” in the part where the Beebe children go clamming. Rebecca looks ready to join right in.  And the shoes, I can’t get over how cute they are. They fit great, I have some AG shoes that don’t fit this well. So glad I decided to get this set.
bitty outfit 14

There you have it, the experiment results! I will be curious to see if any other sets show up on clearance in the coming months. There is one other outfit that I’d like to have, but I’m hoping the price on it goes down a little bit more, it was $17 and has accessories with it that are pretty much useless to me. Fingers crossed!

 

17 thoughts on “Bitty Baby/Bitty Twin Outfit Experiment #2

  1. I bought the fresh picked sun dress a year ago and I’ve always liked it. Because it’s a tad big in the middle, it fits my PC girls (Stephanie and Melody) pretty well. It also has a lot of mix and match potential. The top looks nice even on my slimmer Springfield dolls. I noticed Rebecca isn’t wearing the shoes. I have other doll clothes in the turquoise color and like the way they fit.

    • I agree that it is an awesome dress for anyone with the older/chubbier PC dolls, there is a decent amount of room but not too much. I didn’t get the shoes, this particular version didn’t include them. I have it on Marie-Grace now with the turquoise shoes from the Truly Me meet outfit, they are a good match.

  2. Great review!!!! The only Bitty Baby clothes that I have came from a couple of garage sales. One is the berry color wool coat with the bear gloves and also a pair of pink shoes with cutouts on them. They fit very nicely. I did see an Bitty Baby halloween costume that was one piece at a sale. We tried it on a regular doll, it would not go on (way to short for the body). It was too bad, cute costume and only $3. Thanks for all the great information!!

    • Thanks! Yeah, I think anything one piece is going to be an issue since Bitty dolls are several inches shorter. Cool about the coat and gloves, that is a cute set!

  3. I like the slouchy sweater; i think many of the sweaters are too slender. Especially since most people wear something underneath.

    These are great outfits. Good score!

    So very sad about the twins going though.

    • It’s funny, once I looked at the photos, I was less inclined to alter it. Still undecided, so I may just leave it.

      I feel bad for those who collected the twins, no more new clothing. I guess those folks will have to turn to Etsy.

    • Actually, Bitty Twins were never part of Pleasant Company. They weren’t introduced until 2003, 5 years after the merger with Mattel and the company was rebranded American Girl. Bitty Baby was a Pleasant Company doll and is still available.

  4. Hello, I was wondering if you may be able to help me. My niece has the bitty twins and I am trying to make her tutus with a crochet top. Now, I have crocheted clothes for the 18 inch doll but I know that these ones are 15 inches and they look like they are wider through the chest. I don’t have a doll to go by because she lives out of town. I was wondering if you could tell me what the measurement is for the bitty twin across the chest. I have been looking and can’t find anything. I don’t know much about these dolls so im sure im not looking in the right places. Any help would be greatly appreciated!!! Thank you!!

Leave a Reply

