New Releases: Melody has landed!!!

Yesterday was a red letter day in American Girl history with the official arrival of Melody Ellison. I think she is absolutely adorable! I’m still not sure if I’m going to get her, I’m waiting to see what GOTY 2017 brings, but there are several pieces of her collection that I’m seriously thinking about. I think her suitcase is very cute, I remember having one just like it, only in orange. Her Fancy Dress is definitely on my future purchases list. But one thing stands head and shoulders above the rest. I mentioned it before when the first pictures of her collection were released. I was afraid it was going to be part of a big set, so you can imagine how excited I was when I found out that it was available ALL BY ITSELF!! (Sorry Sharry if I squealed in your ear LOL!)

ag piano

I have to have this little piano!! I haven’t ordered it yet, I’m planning on picking it up at the new Ross Park Mall AG store when it opens in September. Worst case scenario is that it’s out of stock and I have to wait on it. No biggie, it will be worth the wait. I also like the table and chairs set, but only want it if it folds up. I need to see it in person first.

I’m not going to talk about Melody anymore now, simply because so many other people have. Instead, I want to talk about some of the other items.

Bitty Baby got a bunch of stuff this time, I’m assuming because of the discontinuation of the Bitty Twins. So much cute stuff, I’m sure BB people were happy. I especially liked the reindeer outfit, so adorable.

BeForever didn’t get all that much beyond Melody. A little bit here and there, but very sparse with the exception of Maryellen. Kit, Addy and Samantha got nothing new, and Julie and Rebecca just one thing each. Josefina got 2 outfits. Not a very impressive showing. I was disappointed to see that the only way to get the food for Maryellen was to buy the whole refrigerator. I don’t really need another refrigerator, so I guess I’ll do without and get creative. Oh well.

Truly Me had a decent amount of new stuff this time around, but quite a few of the items were re-hashes of previous items, just in different colors or configurations. The big item this time around is the kitchen, which is probably very attractive to kids, but I personally don’t care for it. Even though the overall idea is original, has anyone else noticed how many of the parts have been reused from other collections? The sink and oven doors are from Grace Thomas’ bakery, most of the accessories have been in other sets before. I’m hoping to come across the little toaster somewhere along the way, but I’m not buying it just for that. Everything just seems crammed in there. And again, only one chair. ???? I think the one that recently came out for Journey Girls is much better and way less expensive. I think it would have been a good idea to sell more small sets to go with it so customers could pick and choose which accessories they wanted with it.

Two new dolls, a redhead and a doll I’ll refer to as “not-Josefina”. The redhead is an enormous disappointment for me. I keep hoping we are going to see Marie-Grace’s face mold used again, and every time new dolls are issued, it’s a let down. Yet another doll with the classic face mold. Yawn. I do really like “not-Josefina” though, I think she is very pretty. I’m anxious to see her in person.

The holiday outfits are a mixed bag. I think the berry colored dress is gorgeous. I just don’t know how much use I would get out of it, I already have enough dressy stuff. Perhaps if I see it on clearance in January. The sparkly outfit I don’t like at all, it takes me back to the early 90’s when everyone had to have a gold top for the holiday. So not my thing.

Two things from this release in the Truly Me line did catch my eye, and they aren’t all that expensive either. I’ll simply add them to my list of stuff I want to pick up when the store here opens for the holiday:
waffle set

lasagna

I was very happy to see them bring back the lasagna set, I missed out on it the first time around. It is a smaller set, but that’s okay, at $24, it’s a price-point that is much more affordable. The blender set is very cute too, but I like the ones I made better, I can change the color of what is being blended in them to fit what is being made, where the AG set is strictly something chocolate. Definitely want the waffle set too, mostly for the mini waffle iron, I’m already planning on using it to make additional waffles with it using Model Magic. I want to make some imperfect ones, you know the ones that come out missing part of a side because you didn’t pour enough batter in?? The cupcake set is nice too, but I already have too many similar pieces, so I’ll more than likely pass.

Even the Wellie Wishers got some new stuff! Books, some toys and two new outfits. I think both of the new outfits are cute, and I hope we see some more clothing for them that isn’t just themed. Most little girls play in regular clothes ya know! πŸ˜‰ Perhaps a line of separates like they recently did for Truly Me would be a good idea.

Have you checked out the new goodies yet? What is on your wish list?

23 thoughts on “New Releases: Melody has landed!!!

  1. Oh! My ears are ringing! LOL! I’m kinda disappointed w/ this release:

    1) TV trays and TV dinners I REALLY wanted separately. But I did make TV dinners for my Julie a whole year before AG came up w/ this idea. If you doubt my word, check my blog from April of 2015. And I found some small 50s trays on Ebay. But I have to come up w/ a way to make folding legs.

    2) I also wanted the card table and chairs, but I don’t think they fold up…pass.

    3)I was excited for Melody’s bedroom accessories. But I found out that the radio is actually a little radio. Really? What’s so 60s about a radio that plays today’s music? It’s been pointed out that today’s kids may not know how to work a radio (wow…that’s pretty sad), but since AG made it a point to bring Motown into Melody’s story, I think they had a chance to educate kids on how great 60s Motown music was/is, and they blew it! How about changing the stations to hear Diana Ross, or Smokey Robinson, or The Temptations? If licensing was an issue, they should have never brought up the whole Motown aspect. I grew up on this music, so the absence of it in this line is a major disappointment.

    4) I wish AG would stop marketing adult fashions for Julie! I grew up in this era, and I’m the same age as Julie, (give or take a couple months), and I know what kids wore. Julie’s NYE outfit looks like it was worn by the 60s model Twiggy. Kids would NOT have worn that, and it’s more late 60s, early 70s than Julie’s time in ’74/’75.

    • I really do wonder about their R&D department sometimes. And yes, Julie’s outfit is all wrong for a kid, as well as when it was available. My sister, who would have been in her late teens at the time had an outfit like that, and she graduated before I started school in 1970. I’m pretty sure about the time too because about 1972 she moved away with her husband and then they went to Turkey for a year as well, so I wouldn’t have seen what she wore until they returned back to the US in 1977!

  2. Melody’s table and chairs definitely do not fold up. I too am going to wait to buy Melody until 2017. I want to checkout the GOTY and I heard a rumor that Felicity might possibly make a come back. (There are new books, including a journey book, about her by Valerie Tripp and Kathleen Ernst available for preorder on amazon.) If Lissie is coming back ALL of my money is going to her. I visit Williamsburg every single year so Felicity is very special to me.

    • That’s what I was afraid of. Pass. I want it to go with my camper and I just don’t have room for something that doesn’t fold up at the moment.

      I’ve heard that rumor about Felicity, my sister has an original and I’ve always thought she was pretty cool. I hope if they do bring her back, her accessories and such are as nice as they were before.

  3. I picked out my Melody yesterday at the Vancouver store. They didn’t have all her collection out and available for purchase, including one of the outfits (her play outfit) that was on my Must Have list, but I was able to get her, her accessories (that darling little pin and the sunglasses slay me), her jammies (I collect everyone’s “official” jammies) and her microphone set. I didn’t see the piano or that have come home with me too (I took 10+ years of piano lessons) and there is no way in hell I’m paying ebay prices for Josefina’s piano .

      • Whatever they don’t have in stock at the Vancouver store, i’ll just order online, even if I have to wait a couple of months for some of it (and I may ask TransformerGuy to buy me the recording studio for Giftmas/birthday, especially if AG does any kind of sale like last December’s 20% off everything, when I got Fina and the start of my Fina collection). Now that I know that Melody’s piano really plays music (Nethilia posted a video on IG of her playing an actual tune on it), I need it even more. The microphone is also very sturdy and made of metal, and I thought quite reasonably priced too. And seeing the price on the new TrulyMe kitchen made me decide in favour of tracking down the red OG kitchen for my dollhouse kitchen area because it’s looking a lot more reasonable in price now.

  4. My favorite items are Maryellen’s punch set… Though I don’t know I would use it a lot. I also like Melody’s pajamas for Maryellen because they have a space theme.

      • I thought the same about the punch set, it’s cute, but not sure I would use it enough. I’ve found it just as easy to make a fancy ramekin with Jello in it, and then I can eat it afterwards! (just one of my many secrets LOL)

  5. We went to the American Girl store Thursday to see the new collections. I was very surprised by several things. Melody’s microphone set is great! The microphone is metal not plastic!! It really amplifies and has buttons to add that echo sound you hear with a microphone also a button for laughing and applause!! It is a nice heavy piece and lots of fun!
    I really liked Maryellen’s new sets!! The refrigerator is metal!!! It would be perfect if the eggs were separate and not glued in!!! It was still a must have for me but this was crazy!!! The ice cube tray is just like the old ones were – with the handle that lifted up and it ice cubes in it that raise up – too cute!!!
    I also fell in love with Maryellen’s Christmas punch and decoration set!! It is so 50’s!!

    I had read other reviews about Melody’s fancy dress – they said they were disappointed in the fact that the dolls could not sit down in the skirt and the fabric felt like a shower curtain! I had to feel the fabric and they are right it does have a very strange feel to it.

    The store did not have Maryellen’s Christmas cookie set, so I ordered it and AG waived the shipping fee. If you do this from the store, if they do not have what you are looking for they will waive the shipping.

    The new beauty shop chair is the worst!!!! The fake upholstery is plastic!!! It is horrible!!!!

    • My issue with Maryellen’s refrigerator is that the doll is taller than it! I don’t know why they keep doing that with some of her pieces. I do realize that refrigerators were shorter then, but not that much! My parents had an old one from the 1940’s when I was a kid and I know I wasn’t taller than it. Otherwise, I think it is really cute.

      I saw that about the fancy dress too, so I definitely want to see it in person before I order it. Interesting about the shipping, I will definitely keep that in mind if they don’t have the keyboard.

      And thank you for confirming that info about the beauty shop chair, I thought it looked like that. I wonder why they changed that, I have the previous one and no complaints about the upholstery. I thought it was very well done.

  6. You are right about the refrigerator being short for a girl Maryellen’s age. My husband keeps pointing that out on different items. The camper they just released – the inside kitchen area looks to be about up to the girls knees! I think that it is a matter of space and they can not sell so many extra large items, people just don’t have the space. I was just so excited that the refrigerator was up to old American Girl standards.

    • When you see the kitchen on the camper only going to the dolls knees, that’s because someone hasn’t taken the time to pull it up into the proper position. It’s still a bit on the short side once it is pulled up, but not as bad. I can’t believe how many photos I see of it like that taken in the stores, did no one teach the employees how the thing worked? I’m glad to hear though that the refrigerator is “old style” and not entirely of plastic. I think it would be cute to make a kitchen with it and Kit’s old stove, not all that uncommon around this area to have mixed pieces when I was a kid. That’s when they made things to last!

  7. Honestly? I rarely go to the AG site anymore. I took a look today though! I love Melody and her whole line, I agree with Sharry, it’s a shame the radio doesn’t play Motown. sigh. They really missed a great opportunity there. I like the refrigerator for Maryellen but $150.00!?! I am fortunate that the LA store is too far away to go to easily or I’d be in trouble.

    • I need to quit looking! All of the money I make goes to my dolls anymore. Perhaps I need to figure out a way to claim them on my taxes? πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

