The Text Tag

Recently I was tagged by Xyra over at Tea Time For Melody Q for a most unusual challenge called The Text Tag.  Thanks Xyra!  It was definitely different from anything I’ve ever done before!

Rules

  • Thank the person who tagged you and link back to them.
  • Answer the original six (6) text-themed questions.
  • Add a typographical/word related question of your own for those you tag to answer. [You’ll answer a total of seven (7) questions. The last one is always changing.]
  • Tag 6 bloggers and notify them that you tagged them.
  • Include these rules in your post

Six Original Questions+1/-1

1. What is your favorite letter of the alphabet?
X.  Just because it’s so unusual.
 2. What are three words that you love?
really, whatever, nowhere (it’s a great word when you are practicing calligraphy!)
3. What are three words that you hate?
Seen, when it is misused, it makes me cringe.
I hate words that aren’t words, but word mistakes.  Prolly for probably.
And my most hated: walla.  It’s VOILA folks!  It’s a French word meaning “there it is”.
4. If you could create a word, what would it be and what is it’s definition?
Moronity: an extreme case of stupidity.  I actually made it up years ago and had a sign hanging above my desk at my last job that said “Stamp Out Moronity”.  It became an ongoing office joke.
5. What are you three favorite punctuation marks? 
!, & and . (more specifically …)
6. What are your three favorite fonts?
Lucida Calligraphy
Freestyle Script
Old English Text
7. What is your favorite part of speech? Break out your “Grammar Rock.” (this is the specific question from Xyra)
Conjunctions!  Where would we be without and, but and or?! (Conjunction Junction, what’s their function? I’ve got And But and Or, they’ll get you pretty far!)

There you have it!  My nominees simply need to answer the first 6 questions and this will be their 7th question to answer:

7.  Do you have a favorite contraction?  You know, don’t, can’t, won’t.  Or do you refuse to use contractions?  (in case you’re curious, I don’t have a favorite)

Now I have to nominate someone…I think in the interest of keeping us from falling over each other, I’m also going to change it from 6 nominees to whoever read this post and wants to do it!   Otherwise we’re going to run out of people too quickly!  You can post your answers on your own blog or if you don’t have a blog and want to post it here, feel free.  Just be sure to let me know in the comments section if you did it so I can go check out your blog and see your answers.

Have fun!  I know I did, this one made me think!  I especially got a chuckle out of the 7th question that Xyra had to answer:   “What word do you often misspell? occasion”   The reason I laughed is because I would have answered the exact same thing!

In the spirit of this post, I’d like to share a couple of my favorite videos:

11 thoughts on “The Text Tag

  1. Awesome! I love your answers to 3. That made me laugh because so accurate! I was mortified they added EVOO to the dictionary a few years ago. Hello, how hard is it to say extra virgin olive oil?

    • Don’t get me started on EVOO!!!! I wonder how many people have walked into a grocery store asking for EVOO, the clerk doesn’t know what it is and neither do they?!

    • Schoolhouse Rock was the best. They did a spoof of “I’m Just A Bill” on Saturday Night Live a couple of years ago and I laughed so hard I cried. Then I thought to myself, “I wonder how many people didn’t get that at all?”

      Weird Al is my hero. We have tickets to see him in September, it’s our 7th time. (or maybe 8, we’ve lost count!)

Leave a Reply

