Meant To Be

Have you ever had something happen and afterwards decided it was just meant to be?  I’ve had a number of those in my lifetime.  One I remember the most was when we got our dog.  We had decided on a breed and I contacted a woman who lived about an hour away to see if she had any puppies.  She didn’t, but she thought she might have some soon as she thought one of her females was expecting.  We agreed that she would get in touch with me once she knew for sure and we would go from there.

In the meantime I found a lady with a puppy that lived even closer, the last one left in a litter.  My husband and I decided to go and see it and fell in love with her immediately.  She came home with us, we named her Laney and here we are, 8 years later with this bundle of teeth and fur.  I did feel bad though, what if that woman contacted me and also had puppies?  I decided to email her instead of waiting and told her that we’d already found a puppy and she could take us off the list.  I got an email back in no time, telling me that she wasn’t going to have puppies when she thought after all!  It was “meant to be”.

Sunday night I was on the computer and decided to check Craigslist.  Lately it has been a big bust for me, either nothing that remotely interests me or prices off the charts.  So I was surprised when I saw a listing that had several dolls in it, all of them listed at reasonable prices.  There was one I was interested in, but I thought “naaaa, you don’t need her”.  I went to bed.

The next morning I hopped back on and that listing was still there.  After some thought, I decided I would text her, chances were that by this point, it was gone anyhow.  You can imagine how surprised I was when she texted me back that she still had her.  So then I asked where she was at, having just gotten out of the hospital, I didn’t want to drive all that far.  My mouth hit the floor when I read her response.  She was in the same town!  So, we arranged to meet at the Denny’s parking lot only 5 minutes from my house.

By now I’m sure you are wondering who came home from Denny’s with me…

lanie 1

It’s Lanie!!!  I thought that it was kind of funny too, now I have a dog and a doll with the same name, just spelled differently.  All that was missing from her original meet outfit was her headband, easy enough to fix.  I need to go through my craft stash and see if I have some blue ribbon in the right shade.

She also came with most of her accessory set!  I’ve always liked her set, it’s probably one of my favorites of all of the dolls, so I was really happy to get it.  All that was missing was the bracelet, but everything else was there.

lanie 3 lanie 4

I was super excited to see that the clings for on the computer screen were all there and in great shape.  And that tiny letter she gets is just too cute for words, it gives me lots of ideas.

Her hair is in fantastic shape!  That surprised me because she had been part of a child’s collection, but the mom said she always made her girls take good care of their dolls.

lanie 2

I love that it still has all the curl and bounce!  I need to work with it a little bit more.  I’ve seen so many of these dolls on Ebay where the hair has been straightened from over-brushing, so I was happy to see she was definitely not suffering from that in the least. YAY!

lanie 5
I’ve always liked Lanie and thought she was cute, but hesitated to get her because I was afraid her eye and hair color would be too similar to Zara (Isabelle). I did a comparison on both and they are slightly different! Lanie’s eye color is actually closer to Lea’s which surprised me.

Here’s the best part of the story. When I asked the lady why they were selling off the dolls, she said that her daughters were both older now. The oldest wanted to keep her dolls and put them away for safe keeping but the younger girl (now 17) said “get rid of them, they creep me out!!!” I guess she would have a major break down at my house…I didn’t think to ask who got to keep the money though. 🙂  I’ve decided that Lanie is my own little “get well soon” gift!  I’ve decided after the way things played out, she was another “meant to be”.

In other (and bigger) news:  right now information about pop-up stores from American Girl is sparse, but I stumbled onto two tidbits of information that are HUGE for those of us living in Pennsylvania.  First off, the Ross Park Mall in Pittsburgh has a “coming soon” for one, opening at the end of September.  Whoohooo!!!!  That is only an hour away and one of my favorite malls to go to.  I suspect it is only a pop-up store due to the way the ads are written for help and the store location within the mall.  Even so, I’m super excited about this, I can definitely see me making a trip (or two or three!) while it is open.  The bigger news is that the King of Prussia Mall in the Philadelphia area also has a listing for one in their mall directory, but information is still somewhat vague.  I have some suspicions about this one potentially being a permanent store (but no confirmation as of yet) because of where it’s going at in the mall.  K of P Mall is just now finishing up an enormous expansion (as if it wasn’t big enough already) and this is where this store is going.  To me it would just make a ton of sense for a permanent store there as that is a mall not only known for it’s list of exclusive and interesting stores, but it’s a big destination mall with bus trips from this side of the state going there on a regular basis.  I will be very interested to see how this develops!  I definitely could see myself making a trip there and getting together with both Xyra and Nonna.  That store wouldn’t know what hit them! 😉  I will keep everyone posted when I learn more.  (and in the meantime I need to call my cousin who drives tour buses to that area all the time!)

23 thoughts on “Meant To Be

  1. I have a meant-to-be on her way to me too. I have a bald Marie-Grace on her way to me (a friend is downsizing her collection). and once I save my pennies, I’ll be sending her off for an eye swap (thinking Beautifully Custom since she offers the service) and then I”ll be doing my first rewigging after that.

    • And once I find a set of grey eyes to be her permanent eyes. (Ebay has listings for green, brown and blue disembodied doll eyes, but no grey(.

      • If you are thinking of having Beautifully Custom do it, you might want to get in touch with her, she might have a set! Grey is a hard color to find.

      • Oh that’s a good point…I should shoot her an email. Honestly, I’ll probably just mail her the head (and save on shipping). I’ll just make sure to hide the headless body somewhere where the other dolls won’t see it and panic haha.

  2. Congrats on Lanie! She looks like she’s in great shape! Have you thought of a way she’s gonna fit into your doll world yet? Are you keeping her name?

    Lucky duck about the AG stores. I wish the one that called San Francisco was closer to me, but since it’s really in Palo Alto and I don’t have a car, it would take forever on the BART (Bay Area Rapid Transit) train.

    • She is in amazing shape, I was blown away. The only thing that was visibly wrong with her was a tiny mark on her chin that came off immediately. I forgot to mention that she had her book and box as well which were also in good shape. Yes, she is going to still be Lanie, but I haven’t had a chance to think exactly how she is going to be part of the storylines just yet. It all happened so fast!

      I will be interested to see how this all plays out with all of these extra stores…

  3. Aw, congrats on Lanie!!! You DH knew you were going to be returned to health after your procedure when you were on eBay/Craigslist! As you know, Brianna got Lanie for bday (eBay) and I really think she’s terrific!!

  4. Absolutely we need to hit that store together – especially if it is permanent. Since we didn’t get to go on a real vacation like we have the past few years I am saving a day and will go for the opening! A must since I’ve been bemoaning Philly not having an AG for so long. 🙂

    Congratulations on adding Lanie to the family; she’s stunning! What do you think they did to her hair? It looks great!

    Also congratulations for the Pittsburgh location!

    • The K of P Mall website said it was supposed to open on August 18th, so it’s not far off! Pittsburgh is to open around September 30th. It might be tempting to go to the opening too if it’s on that day since kids will be in school.

      I’m not sure what they did to her hair, but I think it was a case of not over-brushing it. Plus if her prior owner is 17 now, that means she would have been 11 when she came out, so perhaps she was not only old enough to take better care of her but also might have been losing interest at that point. She also had a Nicki, but nothing newer than Lanie.

  5. Aww congrats on your ‘Meant to Be’ Lanie! She is beautiful! What a great find! I felt that way about our Julie. I wasn’t going to get a Julie, but then I found one on eBay that was just ‘meant to be’. She wasn’t in perfect shape, but for the price I couldn’t go wrong. When she arrived, I noticed that her head tilts in an odd sort of way, not badly but just slightly. So it always seems like she is giving me a knowing sort of look, like she knows something that I don’t. LOL! It’s very strange, but I know that we got the Julie meant for us. 🙂

    ginnie / http://www.fakingitmostly.com

    • I really didn’t have the room for her, but she was in such fantastic shape and I’ve always thought she was cute. She needed to be here with my girls!

      I actually like a head tilt, my Louisa probably has the biggest one of them all and I think it adds to her cuteness.

  6. Great FIND!!!! I love not only is Lanie in great shape but so are her accessories 🙂 Looking forward to reading about Lanie’s newest adventures in her new home 😉

  7. I think Lanie is so pretty.
    Ross Park is opening Sept 17. I can’t wait to go with my daughter since it’s the mall I ‘grew up’ in back in the late 80s.

    • Thanks! I can’t wait for the new store to open, even if it is only temporary. I think I’m going to go the Monday or Tuesday after it opens, I’m not up to the degree of crazy that will be going on Saturday and Sunday. That mall is hard to find a parking spot at on the weekends as it is, I bet it will be super busy! I’ve been going to that mall since it opened back in 1986 and watched stores come and go. Fingers crossed that this pop up will do well enough that we get a permanent store!! Working on my wish list already. 😉

Leave a Reply

