A Suitcase

Rudy over at American Girl Ideas recently purchased the new Explore With Lea craft book, and she decided to try one of the crafts in it to share with her readers.  I have to say that it is one of the cutest things I’ve ever seen and the materials to make it are very simple: a pencil box, popsicle sticks, wooden wheels or buttons, paint and glue.  The finished product just blew me away and I definitely wanted to try making one.  On my most recent trip to Target, I checked out the school supplies.  The timing on this project couldn’t be better with most stores stocking back to school stuff by the tons.  I had several different pencil boxes to choose from and I thought I’d made up my mind until I moved to an end cap, and there it was:  the perfect pencil box. (insert heavenly music here)  Now I was even more excited to try this craft.

There were some logistical issues but also improvements.  This box had a zipper instead of snapping closed which made it a much more realistic suitcase, but it would have to be worked around.  It also had rounded edges which made attaching the wheels a bit of a challenge.  Since I couldn’t put them quite as far down as I would have liked, the box didn’t want to stand on it’s own, but I solved that with a piece of popsicle stick in the middle.  Worked like a charm!

suitcase 1

So by now I imagine you are wondering what was so darned special about this pencil box…
suitcase 2

If you hadn’t already guessed from the colors on the back, it’s my favorite boys, The Minions! I was super excited when I came across this box, it was absolutely perfect. I loved the design, the colors, the zipper, plus the fact that when I opened it up, it was lined with soft fabric.
suitcase 3

As much as I liked it, I knew there was one girl that would like it as much, if not more, than I did:
suitcase 4

Yeah, she was just a bit excited! It didn’t help that the company my husband works for announced what trip they are working towards for next year, a trip to the Riviera Maya. She’s already informed Mr. Flo that she wants to go if he wins again!

suitcase 5

If you’d like to give this craft a try, you can check it out here:
Suitcase Tutorial

A HUGE thank you to Rudy for sharing this craft project on her blog. I’ll never look at a pencil box the same way again! 🙂

27 thoughts on “A Suitcase

    • Yeah, she was just a wee bit excited about it! Thanks, I’m really pleased with how it came out. And since I had to buy a whole bag of wheels, I’m going to keep my eyes open for other pencil boxes that might work.

  1. I’m so going to have to try that – all I need are some pencil boxes. I know I have a crapton of buttons, between my scrapbooking supply stash and my sewing stash and I have popsicle sticks…Hmmm…

  2. I think you need to go back to Target and get 1 or 2 more of those pencil boxes before they sell out. Never saw a pencil box with a zipper. They would come in handy for the yearly tea prize, and maybe as a gift for one of your bloggers.
    Having watched the video with you, your suitcase finished up great. I bet Cassandra is pleased as punch with it. ET-2

Leave a Reply

