New clothes!

I love going to craft festivals.  We have quite a few different ones throughout the year in our area.  There is only one drawback for me:  we don’t need anything!  So I’ve quit going to them for the most part since so many of them seem to focus on “dust collectors”.  I also find myself looking at things and thinking “I could make that”.  Once in a while you find doll clothes, but not always.  There is a big festival in the town I used to work in, and I came up with a terrific plan.  I knew a friend of mine who lives there would be going, so I had her scout out the crafters and to let me know if she saw any with doll clothes.  She not only found them for me, but told me exactly where to look, saving me a ton of time and energy.  Yay teamwork!

There were a couple of people selling doll clothes, but only one devoted strictly to that, and she had a fantastic selection of outfits.  I ended up picking up three different items from her–and only spent $37, just $3 more than what it would cost me to buy just Lea’s celebration set.  Are you ready to see what I got?

First up is a cute dress that I thought would be perfect for Kanani.  Since she is away at the moment, Sophia said she would step in to model it.  I didn’t argue, she looks so good in shades of teal and mint green!

new clothes 1I loved the print on this dress and it fit perfectly when I put it on her.  Here is a shot of the back:

new clothes 2

The next thing I picked out was an outfit perfect for 4th of July. Rebecca begged me to let her try it on, she loves patriotic prints. I think it looks terrific on her as well.

new clothes 3

The t-shirt and capris fit nicely.  The capris are elastic waist, so there is a little bit of wrestling around the butt to get them on, but not terrible.  They are nicely finished, complete with working front pockets!  The t-shirt is a standard style with Velcro up the back for easy on and off.

The last item was the one I was on the fence about.  I decided to go ahead and get it, and once Marie-Grace put it on, I was so glad I did!  I think this is my favorite of the three things I bought, I love the big skirt on it.

new clothes 4

A back view:
new clothes 5

And a shot of what I liked best about both of these dresses:
new clothes 6
Yes, the entire back of the dress opens and makes it super easy to get on and off! To me that is a huge plus with items like this as it makes it especially easy for younger kids to change the clothing without having to ask for help. Both dresses also had fully lined bodices.

As you can see, all three girls were happy to try on the new outfits I picked out:
new clothes 7

The women who sold these dresses are relatively new to the doll clothes world. What started out as a fun hobby to make doll clothing as gifts for granddaughters turned into a business just this past December. They have been having a great time with it though and love experimenting with new ideas, fabrics and notions. Since they are just getting started, their website hasn’t launched just yet, but it is at mm2nd-childhooddesigns.com. Keep checking, the woman I spoke with said that they hope to have it fully up and running in time for the Christmas season. Right now is just the start of festival/craft fair season, so I’m sure they haven’t had much time to work on it. Something to look forward to!

Shoes are from my existing collection and not included with the outfits. Same with the headband that Sophia is wearing.
26 thoughts on “New clothes!

  1. Lovely dressed! I enjoyed seeing the girls and their fashion show. They all look gorgeous! Gosh that Sophie is such a beauty. I’m still waiting for a good time to add her to my collection! Luckily, there are still 6 more months, lol. 🙂

    • That print sucked me in the minute I looked at it. All of her items had prints that were the right scale. I’ve seen some dreadful stuff though, some people don’t quite “get” that!

  2. Those are gorgeous! I wish my local craft fairs had 18″ doll clothes for sale! Last fall at the every 6 month collectible toy show, there was a lady who was selling AG dresses and I bought one but forgot to get her card. I liked the dress when I put it on Beau and haven’t been able to find this lady since. The people running the collectible toy show couldn’t track her down when I asked and she wasn’t at the one this spring, sadly.

  3. Wow, so adorable! I hope you show us Kanani in her new dress when she is back home! I too have the “I can make that’ struggle. Everywhere I go looking at cute stuff it happens, so I usually walk away empty handed. But do I actually make it? No. Sigh

  4. Those are great finds! Any craft show I’ve been to with dolls clothes charges basically AG prices so I’ve never bought any except for my 3 dresses I got in HI.

    • There was another vendor who charged higher prices, but I thought her stuff was boring. She sold other stuff too, hope she wasn’t relying on doll clothing sales! I’ve noticed the same thing on Etsy too though, some are very reasonable and others charge prices that make you wonder if there is gold in the thread.

  5. Adorable outfits! I love the Kanani dress! 🙂 Our local craft fairs are pretty slim pickings, but I’m like you in that I always think to myself, I can make that! And most of the time, I can! 🙂 I do sew my own doll clothes, but it’s nice to see what other people make too.

    ginnie / http://www.fakingitmostly.com

    • I just discovered something funny about the Kanani dress: I was looking at Etsy, and I have a dress made out of the same material pinned to my favorites board!! I guess it was meant to be.

      I do sew some of my own doll clothes, but I love supporting small business plus sometimes people have ideas I haven’t thought of. Or I don’t own the pattern and wouldn’t use it enough to purchase it.

    • Ours are hit and miss as far as doll clothes are concerned. This particular show though has always been good for me, some of the oldest pieces I have came from it–about 20 years ago!

  6. Fabulous finds! The outfits are adorable and well fitted. the outfit I picked up most recently is for Independence Day as well. I’ll have to email you about a quirk. LOL

    I like the thin velcro on the dresses. That is one thing about clothes from TQT, the velcro is really wide and stiff. Otherwise, great detailing on their clothes.

    • I’m always surprised when I see thick Velcro on doll clothing, it is so unnecessary. It’s easy to cut the thicker Velcro in half too, I do it all the time before I sew it in.

      I will await your e-mail…

Leave a Reply

