My luck continues!!

Not long ago I posted about some of the goodies that I’d picked up on my thrift store travels and commented on how pleased I was to find so many things after such a long dry spell.  Fortunately, my good luck continued a bit longer.  I guess I must be doing something right!

I needed to run to the Salvation Army to drop off some stuff we wanted to donate.  Of course I had to go in!  I was super pleased to find this awesome doll sized bowl with a Spanish theme to it:

may goodies 1

It was only 69 cents!  It has a minor chip in it but whoever had it last tried to repair it, and did a decent job, you have to really look to see it.  I tried to find out more about it by looking up the name on the back, but all I could find out was it was another name for the Basque region of Spain.  Doesn’t really matter that much, I still think its an awesome piece.  Doesn’t it look great with fruit in it???

may goodies 2

 

My other terrific find came courtesy of Ebay.  I check listings in the mornings, that is usually when I get my best deals.  This particular deal caught me off guard in much the same way Kanani did, a fantastic price.  Unfortunately I had to wait it out because it wasn’t a buy it now, but I did end up winning at the minimum bid!  $19.99 for Molly’s bike which was featured in the “School’s Out” post as Louisa’s “new” bike.  I have always loved Molly’s bike, it is my favorite of all of the ones they have come out with.  It reminds me a lot of a bike a friend of mine had when we were growing up.   It is in terrific shape, a few very minor scratches in the paint.  I was amazed to find out that it has a chain, just like on a real bike!  My husband thought that was pretty cool too.

may goodies 3

It was missing the mirror, the horn and the front reflector/light, but those were minor issues to me and repairable.  I tried removing the brackets that held the mirror and the horn, but it was going to be more of a challenge than I originally thought.   I thought about making something that resembled the horn, but as I looked at the piece that was left, I got another idea:  a light!  I glued a clear bead in, and voila:

may goodies 4

 

The bracket for the mirror was easy enough to move, I just left it on in case I come up with some other great idea.  In the meantime, Louisa will have lots of fun riding around the neighborhood on it as is.  She’s just happy to have wheels!

Another day on Ebay I came across something else I had been wanting, and I snagged it at an $8 minimum bid!

may goodies 5

I have always liked this cardigan and I think the detail on it is fantastic.  It was a limited edition PWP several years ago and came with a headband originally.  I can make the headband, no biggie, but the sweater is another story.  I was very pleased to get my hands on this.

My last item is something that I have quite literally been looking out for over the past year.  I’d pretty much given up at this point, especially when I saw other people showing them on their blogs.  I can’t tell you how many times I’ve been in a Dollar Tree looking for these.  Let’s just say that last week when I came across these, I was stunned.  I was in the toy aisle browsing and all of a sudden **BAM!**, I saw them.

may goodies 6

At a dollar each, how can you go wrong?  And they are the perfect scale for AG dolls!  I got four of them, I’m going to try my hand at customizing them.  I have a project in the works that these will be perfect for, I just need to get more time to work on it.

I wonder how much longer I will continue to find cool doll stuff? Time will tell…

29 thoughts on “My luck continues!!

    • I’ve been a fan of Molly’s bike for as long as I can remember, and was THRILLED to finally add it to my collection at such a reasonable price! 🙂

  1. The bike is wonderful, and the light is just perfect on it. I really like the sweater… I’ve not seen that before. I can’t wait to see what you do with the guitars!

  2. Hi! I don’t know how I’ve missed your blog before, but it’s wonderful! Might I suggest for the bike mirror to use the end of one of those tiny mirrors that car mechanics use to see around engine parts? Kind of like dental mirrors, but they have an adjustable end! Sometimes they even have them at Dollar Tree.

    • Good suggestion, will have to keep my eyes open for one. I have a dental mirror that could probably be adapted if I decide to sacrifice it! It also came from Dollar Tree, you just never know what you are going to find there.

  3. Back from Seattle! You’ve found some really cool stuff, and you know I love that bike! I’m glad you were finally able to get those guitars!

  4. What awesome finds! I love the little dish. I am always drawn to tiny dishes. We have been thinking about getting a bike or 2, but I am really trying to stop the doll spread! I love Kit’s bike, such nice details. Well…how much space can a couple doll bikes take?

    • I know how you feel, love the term “doll spread”. I would like to get Samantha’s bike someday, I think it is so pretty. The OG bike is very cute, that’s the one Rebecca got for Christmas two Christmases ago. I like Molly’s better though.

  5. I meant Molly’s bike! I had just been reading your Kit baking kit post, ha! I went online after I read this post and found 2 Molly bikes and the Samantha bike too. The Samantha bike is SO cute, I love the colors.

Leave a Reply

