Happy Geek Pride Day!!!!

Hey guys, did you know that May 25th is Geek Pride Day?!?!  Well, to be honest, neither did I until the girls were talking about it.  We decided to celebrate!  Here is a picture of several of the girls with their favorite items from their favorite fandoms:

geek day 1

Shivan loves Star Wars, so she brought out her model of the Millenium Falcon and her big stuffed R2-D2. He even makes noises when you press the button! Marie-Grace recently bought this lovely Hedwig the Owl figure (I have to admit I’m a little jealous) and got out her Harry Potter sticker book. Cassandra couldn’t decide, so she brought both her Tardis and Stuart the Minion. And of course Kit is showing off her Downton Abbey model!!

Geek Pride Day is the day for all of us who love something considered geeky (particularly science fiction), and to show it off with pride! Why May 25th you ask? Because it was on this day, in 1977, Star Wars premiered!  Geek Pride day is relatively new, just started in 2006 by a man from Spain.  Over the years it has caught on more and more.

What fandoms are you part of?  I started out as a kid loving Star Wars.  I played Dungeons and Dragons in high school.  Now I am a huge fan of Torchwood, Minions and American Girl of course!  I don’t know that overall AG is considered geeky, but it is if you are a middle aged woman as opposed to the target audience of a 10 year old girl! 🙂  My phone ringtone is the theme from Monty Python.  And I’m currently the only American who is in the all time, top 15 players in the “British Television Shows” category in the game Quizup.  Does it get any geekier than that??

Today you can embrace your inner geek!  Do something fun, binge watch your favorite show, go to the comic book store, have a light saber fight with your best friend, whatever “turns your crank”!  Or as Kit says:

geek day 2

LET YOUR FREAK FLAG FLY!!!!

Be sure to check out this article on Geek Pride Day–I want the table at the beginning of the article, it’s awesome!!!

http://www.timesfreepress.com/news/life/entertainment/story/2016/may/22/geek-pride-day-shines-lightsaber-all-things-n/366507/

 

17 thoughts on “Happy Geek Pride Day!!!!

  1. Geek Pride ? Oh where do I start? I may be the Geek QUEEN! Here are some of the things I’m in to:

    American Girl (type) dolls
    70s action figures
    superheroes and comics
    Star Trek
    Michael Jackson (RIP)
    Shaun Cassidy
    David Cassidy
    old school monster and sci-fi movies
    70s Saturday morning cartoons

    I could go on, but you get the idea.

  2. Well! My geekness covers such a broad spectrum.

    Star Trek, (I do have a uniform)
    Sta Wars,
    Harry Potter,
    Jane AUsten,
    Downton Abbey,
    American Girl Dolls/dolls of all kinds
    Vintage toys
    All things Marvel
    Middle Earth
    Narnia

    I wear my geek flag proudly.

  3. I use to take my infants to Cons…I am definitely a Geek. Our favorite family Geek moment was seeing John Green tweet about discovering Firefly and saying, “I can’t wait for Season 2.” A few minutes later (no one tweeted him the spoiler apparently) he fired out, “Why did no one tell me?”

    My bookshelves are full of books but also complete sci-fi series, shows and movies. Yes, we dress for Cons. Yes, we go to Cons (when we can afford it). Yes, we have theme parties and dinners during viewing (Fish fingers and custard, anyone?)

    I think one of the best things about being a Geek is that you rarely meet a dumb one. :0

  4. LOL! These comments are the best! I am a huge geek too!!! Here is what I am into:

    Doctor Who (I made myself some Tardis earrings and yes, I wear them proudly)
    Harry Potter
    Firefly
    Buffy the Vampire Slayer
    Big Bang Theory (I am wearing a shirt that says Bazinga! right now LOL!)
    Neil Gaiman
    Spider Man
    Sherlock Holmes (I am so Sher-Locked it’s ridiculous!)
    Supernatural
    American Girl Dolls

    ginnie / http://www.fakingitmostly.com

    • I love BBT and Sherlock as well! I can watch a Sherlock episode over again and still pick up on something I missed before. Moriarty is my favorite character followed closely by Lestrade. I am so looking forward to the next season!

      Rock, Paper, Scissors, Lizard, Spock! (I have a refrigerator magnet with the whole thing on it)

  5. Yay to the fellow geeks! I’m right there with you….
    My geek stuff are:
    Star Wars (my text alert is Yoda’s laugh, lol
    Brady Bunch
    BBT
    Crocheting and crosstitch (my husband calls them old lady hobbies!)
    Law of Attraction/New Agey stuff
    Doll Collecting as a woman in her 30s 🙂
    80s Toys
    Disney collecting as a woman in her 30s 🙂
    Movies like “The King of Kong”

    I love being a geek. 🙂

    • We sure are a big bunch of geeks, aren’t we?!?! LOL 🙂

      I did a ton of cross stitch when I was in my 20’s. Old lady, huh?!?!

  6. Dude! D&D! I played that too! Remind me when I see you later in June.
    Okay, so here is my list…
    Star Trek (all versions)
    Harry Potter
    Downton Abbey (though I am still behind on the seasons)
    Firefly
    XMen
    Twilight
    Webkinz
    Lego
    American Girl
    Hello Kitty (since the late 70s)

    There are more, but I am at a loss right now.

    • Oh cool! I don’t know of too many gals who played D&D in our generation, there were 3 of us in our group. I was the Dungeon Master’s girlfriend, that’s how we met. Remind me to tell you the story of how when I met my husband, and when we discovered we had someone in common from gaming, he used to be hugely into Stratomatic Football (the precursor to today’s online fantasy football).

Leave a Reply

