The Hula Lesson

Fiona and Kanani were having a relaxing weekend, watching TV together, playing with the dogs and just having fun.  Kanani was also teaching Fiona how to play the ukulele that she got her for Christmas.  During their lesson, Kanani got an idea.  “Would you like to learn how to do the hula dance?”  “Oh wow,” replied Fiona, “that does sound like fun.  Sure!”  Then they thought it might be fun to invite Louisa over too, so Fiona grabbed her phone and gave her a call.

“Hello?”

“Hey Louisa, it’s Fiona!”

“Oh, hi!  How’s it going?”

“Great, would you like to come over and hang out with us?  We are just goofing off, Kanani has been teaching me how to play my ukulele.”

“Sure, I’d love to come over.  I’m bored at home.”

“Sounds awesome!  Bring your swimsuit too.”

“Huh?  It’s freezing out!”

“Just bring it, don’t ask questions.”

“Okay??  I’ll be over shortly.”

About 15 minutes passed until Louisa turned up at the front door.  “I’m here!  I still don’t understand why you told me to bring my swimsuit though.”

Fiona told her to go into her bedroom and put it on.  The girls already had theirs on.

When Louisa came out of the bedroom, Fiona handed her a bathtowel.  “Tie this around your waist like I have mine.  Kanani is going to give us a hula lesson!”

hula 1

“Oh fun!” replied Louisa.  “I’ve always wanted to learn how to hula!”

Kanani explained to the girls that the hand movements were all symbolic of different aspects of nature: rain, sun, mountain, ocean.  The foot and hip movements are combined with the hand movements to create a dance.  Many hula dances are considered to be a religious performance because they are honoring a Hawaiian god.

“Wow, this is all so interesting!  I’m so glad I came over!” replied Louisa.

Kanani then showed them a couple of movements and steps.

hula 2

hula 3

hula 4

Fiona and Louisa both agreed that it was a lot more work than they realized and had a whole new respect for Kanani and her abilities. “You know what we should do sometime? Invite some of the other girls over and have a Hawaiian themed party with Hawaiian foods and traditions. We could teach them to dance too!” exclaimed Fiona.

Kanani thought it sounded like a great idea, perhaps one day in the summer when the weather wasn’t so cold!

Have you ever done the hula or been to a demonstration of it? I vaguely remember learning some of the moves of the dance in gym glass when I was in grade school, back when Hawaiian culture was very popular thanks to the original “Hawaii 5-0” tv series as well as singer Don Ho.

 

13 thoughts on “The Hula Lesson

  1. Adorable, and it really looks like they’re dancing! My experience with hula has been playing Island Games on the XBOX! You can even be a fire dancer. It’s actually decent exercise but we took the XBOX down because we had a whole lot of neighbor boys ringing the door bell to come play on our XBOX!

    • We saw fire dancers in Mexico, that was really cool. I’ll never forget Mr. Flo’s boss saying to me “what makes someone decide they want to be a fire dancer as their profession?” LOL!

    • It is very interesting, if you get a chance, read up on it. I was humming “Lovely Hula Hands” while I was working on this story. 😉

  2. I’ve sort of done it. My best friends are Hawaiian and last summer I got to go to HI with them and visited the Polynesian Cultural Center and got to see TONS of dancing from all the Polynesian islands including HI. I also got to eat their food which was amazing! If you interested you can check out this: https://jackylina2013.wordpress.com/2015/06/21/polynesian-cultural-center/ or go to my blog and in the category click Kanani in Hawaii and see everything I did there.
    Another thing you might want to try is go to the Dollar Tree and buy a human hula skirt and cut and tape it to size for dolls. I think I was able to make three or four skirts per one human skirt.

    • I would probably love Hawaiian food, someday! I will check out your story.

      I wonder how well those Dollar Tree skirts would sew? Thinking maybe some bias tape or seam binding. Now you have me thinking…

  3. Ha! So cute! I have never done the Hula, never been to Hawaii, and the closest I’ve seen to a hula lesson was that episode of the Brady Bunch!

    Alo–aaa–eeee!

  4. I think we did the hula in gym once when we were studying The Polynesian peoples. I remember liking it a lot. We also saw a troupe in Hawaii that had grown ladies all the way down to toddlers – SO CUTE!!! They made it look easy. It is much harder than it looks.

Leave a Reply

