Another Awesome Etsy Find!

At the beginning of the year I commented that I wanted to finish my AG wish list as well as check out some new Etsy sellers.  I’ve managed to do a good job of both!  I had a very busy February on Ebay, selling off some stuff that I no longer had use for.  I used the windfall to get some doll things I had been drooling over.  One of those things made me drool even more once it arrived.

I was familiar with Stitches by Marlene because Evil Twin had purchased a sweater from her.  It’s the one Zoee wore when we went on our trip to Fort Necessity.  I thought it was very cute, and as a result I had regularly been looking to see what was in the Etsy store.  I kept looking at a sweater and hat set, but hadn’t decided to purchase it.  One day I finally just decided to go for it, and I was so glad I did.

etsy marlene 1

When I opened the package and saw it, I was super excited! As someone who owns multiple Irish made sweaters, this pattern immediately reminded me of them. The craftsmanship was amazing as well.

Here’s a photo of the back. I love how the cable knit design goes the whole way around. This one is even made like a traditional Aran sweater in it’s assembly, the back and sides are one continuous piece with the sleeves set in it. Gorgeous!!
etsy marlene 2

As impressed as I was with it straight out of the package, I was even more impressed once I put it on someone. Sophia happened to be close by, so she became the model for this set. The fit on it is outstanding, it’s much more difficult sometimes to get things this perfect when knitting or crocheting, depending on each individual’s technique.  She nailed it!

Here are some photos I took of her outside. We have been experiencing chilly (but not freezing) weather, so this made the perfect set on the morning I took these. She didn’t want to take them off!
etsy marlene 3

etsy marlene 4

Doesn’t Sophia look like an Irish lass in this set? I just love it, and I’m sure I will be purchasing more from Marlene in the future. Be sure to check out her Etsy store: Stitches By Marlene.

16 thoughts on “Another Awesome Etsy Find!

  1. The sweater set is so cute. I looked at the items in her shop. They are all very cute and very reasonably priced considering how much work goes into them. I know how to knit, but I find it stressful instead of relaxing. I could never do anything that detailed.

    • I thought the same, especially considering how good the quality is of her pieces. I’m sort of like that with sewing, certain things are just more annoying that it’s worth, I’d much rather pay someone else to do it instead. Luckily, I found you for doll clothes! LOL 🙂

  2. I love Marlene’s stuff, I have several pieces that I got from her for my AG dolls, and she never fails to surprise me with the quality of her workmanship, and the fit is perfect. I have the sweater with scottie dogs on it, and it is the same pattern as the shamrock one. ET-2

  3. Ooh, I like the brown cable sweater. It makes me have visions of having natural wool being spun by the hearth.
    Sorry for being out of the loop. Two family down with GI virus, and I have a chest congestion cough. It’s going to be a different kind of Mothers Day around here.

    • I like that one too, I don’t think she had it on her site when I bought this one. Maybe that’s a good thing 😉

      Ugh to being sick, that is not fun no matter when it happens. Hope you guys feel better soon.

Leave a Reply

