When Bad Things Happen To Good Dolls: Guys, you’re killing me!!!!

When I did the first Bad Ebay post, I really didn’t know what to expect.  I was overwhelmed by the response it got, and also by the requests to continue doing it.  I wasn’t sure if I could find enough good material to make it a regular kind of thing.  Boy was I wrong!!!!!  It seems like I no sooner get a post finished and published, boom! I come across another photo or listing that qualifies.  I never realized what a gold mine Ebay could be for someone who loves to write snarky posts.  😉

This time around, I found several of these while I had the flu.  Let me just say that it’s not a “good thing” (props to my peep Martha!) to find yourself laughing hysterically when you also have coughing issues.  Thus, the title of the post.  So here’s the warning:  there are two photos in this post that will require you to do several things.  First off, set down that beverage and finish swallowing.  Second, if you haven’t been to the potty recently, you might want to do that.  Are you ready???

We will start with one that is just a horrid photo.  It’s another “what is it” kind of thing because it is so bad.

bad ebay birthday set
If you haven’t figured it out yet, it’s a birthday set. I guess. To make matters even worse, they had a second photo and it was every bit as bad. NEXT!

Another bad photo, with dirty laundry in it, ewwww!  Or maybe it’s clean laundry, but whatever it is, it doesn’t need to be in the picture!!!  And I can’t help but wonder, if Samantha (I think that’s who this is) misbehaves, is she going into the cage?  Again, another listing where this was the best photo of the bunch and the rest didn’t really show you the condition of the doll.

bad ebay disaster area samantha

This one was a confusing listing.  It said in the heading “American Girl Tennis Outfit Doll”.  So, why is the head cut off in the photo?  It doesn’t include the doll.  Just a bit of advice here to anyone selling on Ebay: don’t include a word in the heading that isn’t part of the listing, even if you specify it in the body of the listing.  People don’t read, and I know of one listing I came across just this weekend where the seller was given a negative because of this exact type of misunderstanding.  Save yourself some headache.
bad ebay doll no tennis outfit

You know that saying “one man’s trash is another man’s treasure?” Well, this is the doll version of that. This listing said these dolls were “in great shape with some signs of use”. Ya think?!?!?!?!

bad ebay great shape with some signs of use

We’ve talked about doll parts listings before, but this one takes it to a different level. I think it’s rather funny how they put the doll head on a set of display shoulders, so it looks kind of strange. Then this popped into my head: it’s the doll that “must not be named!” All I could think of was “it’s Voldemort”, and I started laughing. Sorry Harry Potter fans!
bad ebay he who must not be named

Okay gang, this is it, your last chance to heed my previous warnings…are you sure you are ready???

This photo had me laughing so hard before it was over with, even the dog thought I’d lost my marbles.  I’ve had my fair share of pet photo bombs, but this photo is one of the best:

bad ebay cat not included he just makes a good model

What made me laugh even harder was that in the body of the listing, the seller had added “cat not included, he just makes a good model.”  I do have to say that the photography that went with this listing was outstanding, and that added sense of humor made it a winner in my book.  I hope they make a nice profit off it!

And now, what I think is one of the best and funniest photos with a listing EVER.  Kids, this is what happens when you watch too many zombie movies and television shows:

bad ebay ag walking dead

Not only was the photo hilarious, but so was the listing. One of the dolls wasn’t included (can’t remember which one) but it stated that some of them had assorted “piercings and tattoos”, as well as needing some repairs. I love an Ebay seller with a sense of humor!

For those who chose to ignore my warning, here’s a roll of cyber paper towels to clean up that mess. I warned you!

Till next time…

16 thoughts on “When Bad Things Happen To Good Dolls: Guys, you’re killing me!!!!

  1. That zombie photo wasn’t nearly as bad as a few of your previous finds! My favorite, of course, is “cat not included.”

    I think Rebecca and Samantha belong in Miss Peregrine’s charge…did you notice they were levitating? Maybe the energy needed to float caused their hair to go nuts. ;-D

    • I’ve been giggling about “cat not included” all day. I wonder if perhaps Rebecca and Samantha have been watching too much David Blaine???

  2. The Voldemort head reminded me of the Steve Jobs book cover!
    Brianna and I both had a good laugh. My favorite is either the dolls with crazy hair or the cat photobomb! I have to redouble my efforts to find some eBay keepers for you. Poor Samantha in a cage and Addy in a shed!!

    • ROFL @ Steve Jobs, totally see that, complete with black turtleneck! DPS (doll protection services) needs to increase their awareness…

  3. What a riot! Love the zombie and cat ones…that eye-less head is priceless! I am loving this Ebay fails series! 🙂 “Great shape with signs of use” lol…it’s like they made NO effort to even try and tame that hair!!

    • I thought the same thing. Seriously, how hard would it have been to at least comb it a little?!?! I just think back to how bad my Abby was when I got her, and it didn’t take long to get it at least organized.

    • It’s a dark haired doll, that was about all I could tell though from the additional poor quality photos! I think they also said it was Samantha in the listing as well.

  4. I’ve been catching up on some things I missed and this is hilarious! I too go through ebay and just shake my head sometimes. The sellers and their horrible pictures, but they want $150 for their AG doll with half their hair missing – good luck! haha, great article!

Leave a Reply

