A New Etsy Discovery

I LOVE Etsy.  Have I said that before?  I love it for so many reasons: supporting small businesses, finding unique items, getting things custom made.  The list goes on and on.  I’m always happy when I find a new Etsy shop to love as well, and I recently ordered two items from one that I’m super tickled with.

I can’t take the credit for this site, Evil Twin actually found it and told me about it.  I recently found two items listed that my dolls couldn’t live without, so I decided to give it a try.  😉

The site is called Sewgrandmacathy and has a nice variety of things to offer.  I decided to take the plunge with a skirt and a pair of sandals.  Both are very high quality.

Here is Alya modeling the skirt.  I LOVE this skirt for so many reasons.  It’s very well made and looks like it would hold up to lots of doll play.  I remember having a full skirt like this when I was in first grade, it was the perfect skirt for “twirling” in.  And I’m very happy to see that this skirt has some length to it, yay!  I’m not a big fan of this recent trend in doll clothes to make skirts so ridiculously short.  She has several skirts for sale in this style in a variety of prints.

grandmac1

A closeup of the skirt and the hem, love the finish!

grandmac2 grandmac3

The other item I bought was a pair of sandals.  Right around Christmas I bought part of the retired Sailor Beach Outfit off Ebay.  Unfortunately the sandals that came with it weren’t in the greatest shape, but not a big deal for all I paid for the outfit.  When I saw these, I HAD TO HAVE THEM!  They are the perfect replacement for the ones that came with the outfit.  Actually, I like them better.  Also very well made and they fit great, very easy to get on.  She has a couple of other pairs that intrigue me and summer is just around the corner…

grandmac4 grandmac5

Perfect, huh?!?!

grandmac6 grandmac7

Here you can see how nicely they fit, and they are super simple to get on.

Shipping was lightning fast and I like that she posts her shipping dates right on her Etsy store, so no questions about when it’s going to be shipped.  I’ve had some not-so-great experiences with a few Etsy sellers who I’ve purchased items from and it has taken forever for them to be shipped.  Her prices are very reasonable too, I definitely will be buying more from this seller.  PLUS she has items for other dolls as well, I have seen items made for Hearts for Hearts dolls on her site as well as Kidz N Catz, both lines that are a little more difficult to find clothing for than 18″ dolls.

Be sure to check her Etsy site out:  Sewgrandmacathy.

15 thoughts on “A New Etsy Discovery

  1. Ahh, those are some really cute outfits! I have avoided Etsy so far as I am afraid I will spend even MORE money than I already do, but I will save the link for this shop so when I’m ready to start spluring on doll clothes, I will have a good store to try out. Thansk for sharing! The stuff is so cute and that blue looks amazing on Cassandra!

    • I will warn you, Etsy is dangerous, but I love that you can find unique items that not everyone will have. Many of these people aren’t crafters but artists, the workmanship on some of the pieces I’ve bought have blown me away!

  2. So cute!! I’m definitely checking this out. Can I just say, dOll shoes look easy to make but they aren’t. These shoes are perfection. I can never get doll shoes to look this finished.

    • I’ve often thought that myself, one of those things where you don’t have enough hands! I’ll leave it to other people who do it well.

Leave a Reply

