“A Pretty Girl…Is Like A Melody”

By now I’m sure you’ve seen the preview or at least photos of the preview of Melody that was shown on CBS This Morning earlier this week.  I actually remembered it was on and watched it.  It was interesting to see a behind the scenes kind of angle: storyboards, fabrics, photo shoots.  I was less than impressed with the woman who they interviewed for it though.  When presented with a question about the lack of diversity in the line, she kind of tip-toed around it.  I’m sure she was probably grilled on how to respond beforehand, but it still came across as rather dismissive.  If you haven’t seen the piece yet, you can view it here.

Let me just say that I am THRILLED to bits that American Girl did the introduction of a new character this way.  I am sick to death of leaks whenever a new doll is coming out.  Take that all of you people who have nothing better to do than to search the internet for photos that you have no right to post in the first place!  Plus the fact that they showed not just her, but her collection in advance really put a wrench in everyone’s fun.  BWAHHAHHAA!  I love it.  I see nothing wrong with everyone seeing the new items at the same time.  All of this posting of leaked photos and speculation is not only a bit unethical, but also teaches nothing to the younger set.  Patience is a virtue that everyone seems to have forgotten about in our “instant gratification” society.  And American Girl beat everyone to the punch by doing it this way.  Good for them.

So, now you want to know what I think of Melody, don’t you?  I think she is cute, but I was disappointed that they didn’t do a new face mold.  I thought perhaps with it being the 30th anniversary year they might actually decide to make a new mold for her.  I know of several comments where people were also disappointed that the doll doesn’t have dimples like on the book cover.  I guess I was expecting more for a doll that comes with such high expectations in so many ways.  I do love that they picked the hairstyle from the book cover. And that outfit is just too cute (as are some of the others they showed).

Am I getting her?  I don’t honestly know at this point.  I kind of painted myself into a bit of a corner with Shivan who is also made from the Sonali face mold.  So far, most of my dolls that are made from like face molds are related to each other.  I don’t want to change Shivan’s story, but I also don’t want to change Melody’s either.  That leads me to another problem too.  While my other historicals have jumped time by being a descendant of the original character they started out as, I don’t want to do that to Melody.  Her story is far too important, I don’t want to change it.  At this point, even if I were to get her, I’m not sure I would incorporate her into stories with the other girls.  If anything, I’d get her and another doll (or two) and make them all girls of the 60’s.  That just isn’t going to work though as I’ve already got a space issue.  Ugh.  At this point, I’m not sure what I’m going to do.  Thinking time.

Melody collection
I want this…ALL of this! (photo from CBSNews.com)

On to her accessories–oh dear!  So many cute things!  A recording studio, a bedroom set, her dog!  However, the one thing that caught my eye was the electric piano…uh oh.  I’m hoping it’s not sold as part of the recording studio and can bought by itself because I want it!  I remember my middle school music teacher playing one like that.  And kids, it’s not called an electric keyboard–it has no ability to play any tone besides piano.  The mechanics in it are very similar to a conventional piano, just electrified.  But it has such a unique sound, if you’ve played one or been accompanied on one, you will never forget it.  I was surprised to find out that some of these are now highly collectible and refurbished ones sell in the thousands of dollars.  Ah, memories…

The card table and chairs is terrific, and that little bingo game–oh dear!  I guess I’d better start saving my money for the release.  I don’t know that it is as common now as it used to be, but just about every family in my parents age group had a card table and chairs.  Throw a blanket over the top and it makes a great makeshift tent.  Necessary for a yard sale.  Extra workspace.  Lemonade stand.  Oh, and yeah–you can play cards on it!  More memories…

Overall, I think this is going to be an interesting release, and I suspect it’s going to be very popular.  I do feel a bit bad for poor Maryellen though, she certainly had her thunder stolen.  I think American Girl needs to slow down just a bit in all of these new releases in the historical line.  I do see what they are trying to do, and I have a theory about this.  They are trying to appeal to families: kids, moms, grandmothers and great-grandmothers.  We now will have dolls from the 50’s, 60’s and 70’s all in the line at the same time, and I fully expect to see the 80’s show up in the next few years.  (Oh no, my greatest fear, a doll sized can of AquaNet may be looming on the horizon!)  I also expect to see Molly as the next doll to come back from the archives as that would close the gap between the 50’s and the 30’s.  If this is what they are trying to do, I totally get it.  And if it opens the dialogue about history, then that is terrific.  I think they just need to be careful in how they do it to avoid over saturation.  They are dangerously skirting the edge of “cash grab” at the moment, and sometimes that can be a company’s downfall.

Will you be adding Melody to your collection?

26 thoughts on ““A Pretty Girl…Is Like A Melody”

  1. Melody is SO coming home here as soon as I can afford it…and the piano and the recording studio and oh hell just take all my money, AG.

  2. Do you think they will bring back any dolls from the archives though? I will be surprised if they do. I’m also guessing they might do a 20’s doll before an 80’s but that would be fun.
    Will I get Melody? Yes! I’ve been pretty much planning to get her for Christmas even before I saw her. I LOVE the Sonali face mold and with her bangs, I think she looks very different from Cecile and Sonali (the 2 dolls with that face mold that I own).
    I highly doubt I’ll get anything from her collection unless it’s really important to her books which I have yet to read.
    I wonder if this doll will be a check her out in person to make sure she has good bangs type of doll *cough, Grace and Maryellen, cough*.

    • I don’t thinking I’ll be getting the doll herself, b/c I have #47 (Shante’). I would like the bedroom accessories, b/c I want that radio. If the card table and chairs actually folded up, I may get that too. The great thing about this collection is there’s not that much difference between the 60s and 70s in terms of accessories, so this stuff could totally work in my 70s universe.

      • Sharry, I can definitely see where her collection would totally work for your collection, there really isn’t a lot of difference. I too want to know if the card table and chairs actually work.

    • They brought back Samantha, so I think anything is possible. The reason I think an 80’s doll is because it seems as though they are appealing to the childhood’s of people who are currently living, a nostalgia kind of thing. I think the reasons they brought Samantha back first is because she was still hugely popular even at the time of her archival, plus there was a lot of interest in the Victorian/Edwardian era due to Downton Abbey. I would love to know how her sales are doing now that we are a year and a half in, and if that continues.

      I never thought about the bangs issue, hmmmm.

      • On the bangs, I am wondering whether how the wig is placed will affect whether the bangs are straight. Melody’s bangs seem like you could definitely tell if they were slanted, unlike, say, Samantha who has fluffier bangs,

      • I’ve heard rumors that Samantha’s sales were not doing well (again these are just rumors) which is why AG had the Samantha bundle sale. And some of her outfits (the bicycling outfit) go on sale relatively frequently.

  3. Great post! I totally know what you mean about the lady they interviewed as I was thinking the same thing while I was watching it. *Awkward* and she really didn’t answer the question! Oh well…what can you do. I think Melody is adorable. I still have Lea and Addy on my wishlist this year, so I may or not get Melody although I love the Sonali mold and want to get at least one of those dolls..at least she won’t be going anywhere and I always like to see more photos and things of the doll before I make up my mind. I would LOVE if they brought Molly back. I probably wouldn’t get her, but I would want all of her accessories! I love different historical accessories. 🙂

    • I think the fact that she is a historical and will be around for at least a couple of years is a good thing. I definitely want to see her in person or at least some very good photos of her that aren’t AG before I make up my mind.

      One thing that is nice about some of the accessories of the historicals is that they can be used in present day. My husband and I were just talking about that last night, and how with Kit’s furniture in particular, we both remember people who had these items in their homes and some that still do. Our neighbors where we used to live had a bed that was very similar to Kit’s in their home and my best friend’s grandfather had a desk like hers. I like that they have modeled many of these items after heirloom pieces that have been passed down.

  4. I’m still a bit tweaked they gave ther the name Melody. Kind of prohibits my getting her since I don’t like to change the names of the named girls. Having two Melodys (Melodies LOL) in the family could get confusing.

    My mom and I have been discussing her though. Talked about how authentic the pieces are. My mom graduated high school in 1960.

    I hadn’t seen the card table and chairs. That would be an awesome addition to my collection (especially if they actually fold). The best part about Melody is that she is a BeForever and will be around for more than one year.

    LOVE, love, love that AG did a reveal early. Like you, I’m not fond of the leaks. Seriously, can’t we enjoy the year we are in before shoving ahead to see what is next. [I’m kind of shocked the 2017 whispers haven’t started already; gets earlier every year.]

    • Yes, I’m glad she’s going to be around for a while. I have more time to think about this or make space. And I’m shocked too that speculation hasn’t started yet about GOTY 2017. Some people are never happy living in the present. There is more to life than hype.

  5. Although Melody is not on my wish list, I still think she is a pretty doll. She would not fit well into my story lines for my other girls, and besides, I don’t need another doll. At this point in time I am trying to figure out a way to declare them on my income tax return. I love the little electric piano, would go great with the other instruments your girls have. They could form a rock group. Now all you need is a drum kit. Remember going to play bingo with Mom at the fire hall? Now there’s a high point in your life history.

    • Oh yes, bingo at the fire hall. I even won money one time! I don’t think kids are even allowed to go in now, Pennsylvania cracked down on all of that.

  6. I will not be buying Melody. I might be interested in the bingo set. I can already tell that it is plastic – which I am so tired of AG lowering their quality. I see that AG discontinued Samantha’s Ice Cream Parlor a couple of days ago – another quality set gone!

    • Yes, I agree that AG seems to be making things of lesser quality in comparison to the old days. Interesting that the Ice Cream Parlor is gone, that isn’t that old!

  7. I am just laughing over the doll-sized can of aquanet! Oh and I think Melody is adorable, but I agree AG seems to be rushing out new dolls. Although I love all the AG dolls for their quality, the bottom line is $$$$. Ah well, such is the way of the world I suppose.

    • Can’t you just see a doll with big hair?!?!?! Big ‘ole bow in her hair, Madonna bracelets, leg warmers, long tunic sweater over tights. I doubt we will see her wearing a “Frankie Says Relax” t-shirt though… 😉

Leave a Reply

