When Bad Things Happen To Good Dolls–accuracy is important!

I wasn’t sure what to call this post until I started looking at some of what I had for in it, and it dawned on me that quite a few of these items had a common link.  Some of this has photos to go with it, but I’ll start with some of the ones that were just worded completely wrong.

Nothing reveals to a potential Ebay or Craigslist buyer that you have no idea what you are selling more than having a glaring error in your listing.  Jen from over at “The Dolls Between Us” seemed to be on a roll recently in coming across these as well.  We definitely had a few good laughs as we sent these back and forth!

We will start with the least offensive:

“American Girl Doll Of The Year-Jesse”      Um,  close, but not quite.  Jen said she had the song “Jessie’s Girl” stuck in her head after that.

“American Girl Doll “JAYA” NIB”    Huh???

“American Girl Doll Girl Of The Month Lanie”   WHAT?!?!  Now AG is trying to get us to buy everything in a month???

and MY personal favorite:

“Cute Pants set for American Girl Doll, white denim genes…”     I couldn’t help but wonder if there was DNA involved??  This one got even funnier after Jen noticed that the sellers name had the word “JEAN” in it!

Another thing that I have noticed is that everyone’s interpretation of mint, excellent, perfect condition is apparently different.  This Josefina was listed as in “excellent condition, just her bangs have been cut”.  Only one problem.  Josefina doesn’t have bangs!!!!!

bad ebay excellent josefina

Except, maybe Josefina was hanging out with the doll in this next photo.  I have to admit that when I saw it, my eyes had to adjust for a few minutes before I realized that it wasn’t a costume, but the throw behind her.  The auction was for the hat and scarf!

bad ebay fly like an eagle

This next one is one Jen sent me, and I don’t remember the last time I laughed so hard…well, maybe when the whole doll poop listing showed up.  (you had to know I was going to bring that up!)

bad ebay beyond weird listingIt’s an odd assortment of merchandise, it’s Julie’s popcorn, a cash register and the hat, but the way it is displayed is what had me laughing so hard.  Those big old hands from the Barbie salon model just sticking out there.  Hmmmm…

This last photo comes with a warning:  If seeing doll parts makes you squeamish, look away.  NOW!

bad ebay wig for sale

The auction is for the wig, but let’s be honest, that is pretty freaky looking, don’t you think?  I don’t have a problem with doll parts and I thought it was a bit out there.  They could have put it on a head with eyes at least and avoid nightmares for those who do have problems with this kind of thing.

There you have it, my odd, bizarre and strange Ebay listings for this round.  Tune in next time, same doll blog, same doll channel…

14 thoughts on “When Bad Things Happen To Good Dolls–accuracy is important!

  1. These just never get old. It’s almost as fun scouring eBay for these crazy listings as it is shopping for your own dolls. I’ll have to come back later to read your comments. One of my all time favorite listings was the doll standing on the kitchen floor with the jug of what we can only hope was lemonade behind her.

  2. Hahaha, these are a riot! I love the “eagle doll”, lol. I can’t even look at the last one..eek! And those giant hands! My husband and I were just laughing about the “tiny hands” skit on SNL today, but I think the giant hands are even better. Especially on a Barbie trying to wait for her nails to dry before digging into her Jiffypop. 🙂 If they weren’t selling the Barbie, why include her in the photo? Lol. I can’t believe they didn’t even TRY to smooth down Josefina’s bangs!

    • I said the same thing about the Barbie, why was she even there??? She served absolutely no real purpose (except to give us all a good laugh). I think it just made the listing more confusing.

Leave a Reply

