Rebecca’s Valentine Surprise

Talk about a crazy, messed up weekend.  The girls were supposed to be off from school on Friday and Monday, giving them a nice long weekend, but then we had a snowstorm along with horribly cold temperatures, so school was cancelled on Thursday as well.  Because of the cancellation on Thursday, Cassandra and Rebecca had to go to school on Friday morning for a meeting that was postponed.  It wouldn’t have been such a big deal, but it was for a program that they were participating in on Tuesday, eeek!  Luckily, Fiona also had to go to the meeting, so her mom picked the girls up and dropped them off at the school on her way to work, and another mom brought them home.  It is definitely nice having so many kids in our neighborhood that go to Kennedy.

The girls got home just before lunch.  They were chatting as they were walking in the house, so Rebecca was totally unprepared for what was going to greet her:

rebeccas surprise 1

“Hello little sis!!!  Happy Valentine’s Weekend!”

“OH MY GOSH!!!! Sophia, what are you doing here???”  Rebecca ran over to give Sophia a big hug.

rebeccas surprise 2

Rebecca’s sister Sophia had decided to come all the way from New York City to surprise her since her school had a long weekend too.  “I got on a bus at 4 in the morning so I could be sure to be here by lunch time.  You can imagine how surprised I was that you weren’t here, but the other girls told me what happened.”

“This is so cool,” replied Rebecca.  “When do you have to go back?”

rebeccas surprise 3

“I’ll leave late Monday afternoon, that way I can get back home Monday night late, but still get up to go to school the next morning.  I brought you another surprise…”  Sophia said as she handed Rebecca a box.

rebeccas surprise 4 rebeccas surprise 5

“OOOOOOOooooo, blueberry muffins from D & S Marketplace, awesome!” exclaimed Rebecca.  “Yeah, I figured that would be easier to transport than a burger and fries from J G Melon!” laughed Sophia.  “Agreed!  I can have a couple of these for lunch.”

Sophia attends a performing arts school in New York City, she is a talented actress, dancer and singer.  “I thought you were supposed to have rehearsals all weekend for the play you are in” inquired Rebecca.  “Well, it’s turning into the Titanic,” chuckled Sophia.  “First they are having all kinds of trouble with the sets not working out, and then the director came down with a horrible case of laryngitis.  It’s a bit hard to direct a group of kids with no voice!  So she cancelled the rehearsals for the weekend.  I decided it was a perfect chance to come visit you and your friends!”

Rebecca was super excited to see Sophia, she is 15 and a fun big sister.  They miss each other tremendously, but little visits throughout the year and Skype help them stay in touch.

It was bitter cold all weekend, everyone pretty much stayed indoors.  So, what did they all do to keep occupied?

Here are Kit and Marie-Grace listening to music:

rebeccas surprise 6

I thought it sounded like they were dancing, but they stopped the minute I opened the door.

Abby and Zara came over, here’s Abby watching Torchwood with Cassandra.  Cassandra is trying to get her hooked.

rebeccas surprise 7 rebeccas surprise 8

Here are Zara and Alya playing a heated game of Uno Spin with Rebecca, Sophia and Shivan all watching.  It was very suspenseful!

rebeccas surprise 9

The other girls in the neighborhood were away and didn’t get to meet Sophia.  Louisa was at her dad’s for the weekend and Kanani and Fiona went to Erie with Fiona’s parents to see her brother, plus they spent the weekend at an indoor waterpark there.  Sounds like fun, doesn’t it?

Sophia was supposed to catch the bus back to New York City Monday afternoon.  Mother Nature had other ideas though.  A major snowstorm was moving in, and the weatherman was predicting much more snow than originally thought.  After a few phone calls to her parents, everyone decided it would probably be much safer for Sophia just to stay put until the next day.  It’s a good thing too:  we got 10 inches of snow!  School here was cancelled again.  So much for that program Cassandra and Rebecca went to the meeting for!  I’m sure all of the kids in the area were happy, what started out as a 4 day long weekend had turned into 6.

rebeccas surprise 10   rebeccas surprise 11

It did finally warm up enough to go outside, so Rebecca and Sophia decided to go on a walk in the snow.  Sophia thought it was so pretty, the snow doesn’t end up quite as dirty and yucky looking here as it does in the city.  “I hear lots of birds singing” said Sophia.  “We are hoping it means that Punxatawney Phil’s prediction was right and we’ll have an early spring!” replied Rebecca.  They both decided it would be fun to climb up on the snow bank that was created from my husband shoveling the driveway.  “I hope I don’t fall off!” yelled Sophia.

rebeccas surprise 12 rebeccas surprise 13

rebeccas surprise 14

Later in the afternoon the snow had finally stopped, so we took Sophia to catch the bus back to New York City.  “I’m sure going to miss you sis,” said Rebecca.  “What would you think if I came here to stay over Easter break?” asked Sophia.  “I think it would be awesome!”  At the same time, both girls said “it’s a plan!”

14 thoughts on “Rebecca’s Valentine Surprise

  1. Wow! It sounds like a really LONG fun weekend! I’m glad Sophia and Rebecca had fun! And I’m glad you enjoyed the muffins! Man, those look good! (Hey pass the butter! LOL!)

    • They are very cute, thanks again! Told you I was going to use them in this post. It was an interesting weekend to say the least, I just got around to digging my car out, so not fun.

  2. I love Rebecca’s outfit with the pink ribbon tie. Where did that come from? I liked the touch about it sounding like dancing which stopped when you opened the door. Mmm-hmm. I understand!
    Did it warm up for you today at all? How long is the snow sticking around for?

    • Rebecca’s top is from the OG set “Pretty Preppy”, the jeans are AG. Still lots of snow on the ground, but it’s supposed to start warming up tomorrow and through the weekend, so I have a feeling by Monday it will be gone. The temps are supposed to go back down but not much snow in the forecast, I sure hope that’s right!

      • Ours is finally gone, it got up to 60 today! All that is left is where it was really deep from shoveling and plowing. Windy here too, but not as windy as Chicago, that was crazy.

  3. Oh man, now I really want blueberry muffins haha! 😉 Cute photo story!! I love the idea of Lea/Sophia and Rebecca being siblings – the dolls definitely look like they could be related. I hope the weather warms up for you soon!

    • Aren’t those adorable? They were a gift from Sharry and I said it was a good thing they didn’t smell like blueberries, it could be dangerous. I think Sophia looks older, so it just seemed natural to make her the “big sister”. Plus I had to have a reason to purchase her!

  4. A great photo story! Love this Valentine’s surprise. So glad the sisters could spend some time together. They look awesome in their winter wear.

    I’m not familiar with Torchwood. What’s the story line?

    • Did you recognize the hat and scarf Sophia was wearing? I think it looks so cute on her, Lady V did a nice job on it, thanks again! The purple hat Rebecca was wearing was also a gift, from Maggie over at “If Dolls Could Dream”.

      Torchwood is an offshoot of Dr. Who. (If you rearrange the letters of Doctor Who, you can spell Torchwood!) Not sure if you are a Dr. fan, but in the series with the 9th doctor, they introduce a character named Jack Harkness. Torchwood is the story later on for him, starting with 12/31/1999 and forward. Torchwood is a team that investigates alien/paranormal activity, formed during the Victorian era. I prefer Torchwood over Dr. Who as it is much edgier, and way more adult in it’s delivery. Cassandra is pretty mature for 12, so I don’t have an issue with her watching it, but other kids would need some parental caution!

      • I did notice he hat and scarf. 🙂 You’re welcome.

        Still dipping my toes in the Doctor Who waters. Sadly I keep seeing episodes of the Tenth Doctor and am not all that fond of him (or Donna). I love anagrams – a great way to make a spin off. 🙂 Sounds interesting. Do you need to be knowledgeable of the Doctor to understand Torchwood?

      • I’ll be honest–I’m not a fan of 10 either, and I can’t stand Donna. I haven’t watched all of those episodes either for that reason. 9 along with Rose was just awesome, it’s a shame they didn’t continue with him. There is a good reason for that though, when they started they didn’t know if it was going to be renewed or not because it was a “reboot” of the original series. So when they wrote it, they gave it closure with the idea if it didn’t get picked up, it was wrapped up in a neat little package. Christopher Eccleston was awesome though, just enough sass!

        No, you don’t need to be knowledgeable of all things Doctor to watch Torchwood. If you’ve watched any, you have pretty much all you need to know. Jack’s story when Torchwood begins is sort of explained. I actually watched Torchwood first and still completely enjoyed it. Then I watched all of the episodes with the 9th doctor (where Jack is introduced) and it made it even more fun to see how his character had evolved. His introduction in Doctor Who and how he becomes a temporary companion with the 9th doctor (alongside Rose) is a fun story line. However, it’s not necessary to watch to enjoy Torchwood.

      • Glad I’m not the only one not thrilled with 10 and Donna. Also good news about Torchwood. I’ll have to look it up. Is is BBC America?

      • That’s where I watched it originally, not sure if it’s still on or not though. Hulu had it, maybe Netflix and Amazon Prime too. I get so frustrated sometimes trying to figure out who has what!

Leave a Reply

