More Preemie Baby Clothes As Doll Clothes!

One day last summer I was in a nearby Sears store and I saw the cutest baby outfits.  I was especially excited because they were Carter’s brand.  Not only are Carter’s well made, but I’ve found them to be the best fitting when using them as doll clothing.  Alas, it was not meant to be.  The smallest size they had was Newborn, and it was obvious to me that they were going to be too big.  This store didn’t have a single Preemie clothing item in sight!  Oh well.

Fast forward to last week.  I was poking around the ToysRUs website and out of curiosity, decided to see if they had anything cute on the BabiesRUs site that could be used.  Lo and behold, there were two of the outfits that I had seen over the summer, and as luck would have it, not only were they on clearance, but they were the two I liked the most.  Happy Dance!!!!  🙂

Here are the sets I got:

preemie 1

preemie 2
Both sets included a hooded top, a onesie and a pair of bottoms. One bit of advice in regards to buying preemie clothing for 18 inch dolls: most of the tags say “for infants up to 17 inches tall”. As a result, the pants are always going to end up being capri length. Not only do you loose that inch in height, but generally the way the seat fits is different, they are made to accommodate a diaper! Each of these sets were originally $24.00 but with the clearance discounts, I got both for $21.98, plus free shipping. I love getting packages, don’t you?!?!

I haven’t been able to cut the onesies off yet and turn them into t-shirts, where my sewing machine is at is currently too cold to hang out in for very long. I am confident that it will be no issue though as I’ve cut off more Carter’s onesies to turn into t-shirts that I can even count anymore. I didn’t want to delay the post though, so I simply picked a neutral shirt to put under each of them instead. Cassandra was excited to be my model.

preemie 3  preemie 4

The fit on both of these pieces is good. The pants fit especially well, the hoodie is just slightly too big, but not horrible. A perfect outfit for hanging out on the weekends when comfort is of utmost importance!  I can picture her, curled up on the couch with a cup of hot cocoa in this outfit.

preemie 5   preemie 6

The fit on this pair of pants is just slightly looser. I love the finish around the bottom hem. The jacket fits great, I especially love the fine print on it.  I can’t wait to see how they both look with the cut off shirts with them.

I would definitely say these are both worth what I paid for them.  I especially like the mix-n-match potential with all of the pieces with other items in the doll wardrobe.  The other plus is because they are baby clothes, they don’t have the laundry restrictions that most doll clothes have, so if something does get on them, I can toss them in with a load of similar colored t-shirts.

Keep your eyes peeled for preemie clothes, they are a great way to expand your doll wardrobe!  As I said earlier in the post, I’ve found that the Carter’s brand fits 18″ dolls the best, some of the other brands have some odd cuts as far as where the crotch hits on bottoms and armpits on the tops.  The only drawback to this is it does take a bit of looking as most companies make far fewer clothing pieces in the preemie size than they do standard sizes.  However, if you have a good infants/children’s resale shop near you, you could potentially hit a gold mine as babies grow so quickly at this stage, there is generally minimal wear.  Happy digging!

10 thoughts on “More Preemie Baby Clothes As Doll Clothes!

  1. Great outfits! The grey is my favorite of the two. Can definitely see hanging out on the weekend in that. I kind of think the fit is similar to my older navy blue AG zipper hoodie – the one I take to Coolspring – it’s from back when AG encouraged layering.

    The other outfit is really sweet too. The aqua reminds me of Grace’s collection.

    • I think that’s what I liked about these two sets, the colors aren’t juvenile looking, and they aren’t pink or lavender! I miss the older clothes that AG made, much more attention to realism, same with accessories.

  2. I don’t know how I missed this post! I love preemie finds. They’re well made and they wash well. Plus, I do think they’re easier to get on and off most of the time. I ended up hand hemming the onesies I had bought. I still have some more to do. I just pull them out while I’m watching tv. 🙂

    • I agree that they are easier to get on and off too, a plus of them designed to be worn by wiggly babies! I have three I need to hem, I was digging in my sewing stuff and came across one I forgot about. Ooops!

    • The pants and jackets I left as is and they fit fine. The only sewing involved was on the onesies, I cut them off and hemmed them to turn them into t-shirts.

Leave a Reply

