Review of Our Generation “Shall Oui Go” set

I’ve looked at the Our Generation “Shall Oui Go” set online many times, but I really wanted to see it in person.  One day while in Target, I was surprised to see it.  After looking it over as well as I could in the package, I decided it would come home with me.

kit coat 1

The main reason I wanted this set was because I thought it looked a lot like Kit’s winter coat set:
KitWinterCoat
I unfortunately missed out on her original coat because she wasn’t on my radar in 2013 when they discontinued it. Oh well.

I have a lot of mixed feelings about this set. It has some very good points, and some very bad points. Here is a photo of the whole set once I wrangled it out of the package.
kit coat 2
The set included the coat, mittens, beret and boots. Right off the bat I’m going to tell you that the boots do not fit AG dolls. You can get them on, but they won’t stay on because you can’t close them in the back. It’s a shame because out of all of the Our Generation sets I’ve bought recently, this was the only pair of boots I actually would consider using. I did try them on Jan though, and they fit her just fine, so it’s just an issue with American Girl dolls having fatter legs. Oh well.

The coat is actually very well made, I was impressed to find that it was fully lined!
kit coat 3

The coat does have some issues though. First off, the quality of the fabric is not the greatest. Personally I would have liked to have seen a thinner flannel used instead of this cheap felt type fabric so that it had more give, it is a bit on the stiff side. I also don’t think that the belt as a tie will hold up very well as is, but I’m going to change it and turn it into a buckle set up with Velcro to close it in hopes of prolonging it’s life. My biggest complaint though is the buttons–what were they thinking???? Those things are GIANT!!! Let me just say that I am most definitely going to go through the button box and see if I have two matching black ones in a smaller size. These are ridiculous and are completely out of proportion. I’ve had buttons this large on coats for me! (insert head shake here)

The beret is absolutely, hands down, the best part of this set.  It is well made and fits perfectly.

kit coat 4

Here is Kit modeling most of the set:
kit coat 5    kit coat 6

As you can see the fit is good overall, since I put it on over a long sleeved shirt it was a little bit of a struggle, but not horrible.  It was a tight fit on Kit, but my Kit is one of the first ones, so she is a little bit chubbier.  The shirt I had on her didn’t help either, but I did want to see if I could get it closed over it, and I did!

The mittens…YUCK!  They aren’t made even close to as nice as the ones I’ve gotten in other sets, (too short) and that color is just hideous!!!  Why aren’t they, oh, I don’t know, um…RED?  It would have matched the beret and the trim on the boots.  I don’t think I have anything these will go with either, that color is just atrocious.  I didn’t even untie the string so she could wear both of them, I just hate them.  Major fail in my book.  I’ll hang on to them just in case, but something tells me that these will work their way to the bottom of the mitten bin, never to be seen again.

My rating on this set is a C+.  It has a ton of issues, but not so many that it deserves a failing grade.  I can’t fault them on the boots since it really isn’t intended as an American Girl set, but even taking that in consideration, I just can’t give it a higher rating.  This set sells at Target for $17.99, and I personally think that is a bit high.  Wait till it goes on sale.  The other 3 coat sets I bought were much higher quality and better thought out.  I guess you can’t win them all.

11 thoughts on “Review of Our Generation “Shall Oui Go” set

  1. Hat is amazing! I find that with the OG sets, one item steals the show and the rest aren’t very functional. As you say, we can’t totally fault the fit I guess. Kit is ready for Snowpocalypse 2016!

    • She’s ready for sure–and we aren’t going to get any of it! It’s all supposed to hit south and east of here, we may not even get a full inch. For once, one of these snowstorms is going to miss us. Crazy weather!

    • Yeah, I think Stevie Wonder was picking the accessories on this day! Luckily, I have a piece of red fleece that I think will be perfect for making a pair of MATCHING gloves for it. That mustard yellow–blech!!!!!

  2. Great review! Kit looks great in the set. OG does seem to pair strange colors together. Too bad about the boots. I kind of like the buttons, they don’t bother me too much because one of my preemie/newborn finds has buttons that big. However, smaller would be much better. 🙂

    Do you knit or crochet? If the mittens are yarn maybe you could add to the length. Of course, if they don’t go with anything else it’s not worth the effort to adjust them.

    Thanks again for the review!

    • I don’t knit or crochet, but I’ll be honest, these are so poorly made that I don’t think they would survive! They are made out of sweater type fabric, and they are already all messy along the top. One of my big complaints with OG is inconsistency and they are a perfect example.

Leave a Reply

