Doll Sized Finds: Take a seat!

I thought I would get caught up on the most recent finds because I have a lot going on in the coming weeks, and don’t see myself having a lot of opportunity to go thrift store shopping–or any shopping much!  However, sometimes I don’t always have to go myself…

I ventured out to a Goodwill I’d never been to before.  Nice store, I didn’t find a whole lot, but did get this for 49 cents:

seat 5

Another one of those little “steins” (I think it’s a toothpick holder) from Myrtle Beach. It’s a different design from the other one I bought before (Ocean City), but I think they will look cute together. I’ve decided that Shivan’s family goes to the beach every summer and she collects these.

Same trip, different store yielded this lovely find:
seat 1
This basket was only 99 cents and included the tomatoes. They were taped in place when I got it and upside down to boot, so I thought they were apples. I was excited when I got them out and realized they were tomatoes!

seat 2  seat 4

Rebecca thinks those tomatoes would make some delicious salsa!

The next item I can’t take any credit for.  One Saturday morning I got a text with photo from Barbie Girl: “Are you interested in these chairs?”  Her timing couldn’t have been any better because I’d just been thinking about getting two more chairs for in the kitchen.  I tried to buy more from AG but they said they aren’t selling individual chairs for the set I have. I looked online several places and didn’t find anything I liked.  So, yes, I was definitely interested when I saw them!

seat 3

She’s a bigger thrift store shopper than I am, so I suspected they were going to be a good price. That’s putting it mildly. When I asked her how much, she replied “Like $4 for the pair because I have a coupon.” WOW!!! It gets better though. When she got to the checkout, she said something to the girl there, asking why they were marked for different amounts, one was $2.29 and the other $1.99. She didn’t really have an explanation, but because of the confusion said “I’ll just charge you for the one.” By the time she got the coupon discount, she paid less than $2 for BOTH of them. How awesome is that???

I’m thinking about making some chair pads for them, wouldn’t that be cute? They are a little taller than the other chairs I already have, but they are also a completely different style, so that’s not a big deal. They are all wood, cleaned up really well, only a few little spots where the paint is worn off. They are Battat/Our Generation, I think they came out about the same time as the kitchen I scored earlier this year. And they were super cheap! 🙂

I decided to make a run to Pittsburgh while the weather was nice, I figure it will more than likely be the last trip for a while.  I didn’t find a lot, but what I did find was really nice:

seat 6 seat 7

Only $2.99 for this jewelry box, and other than the drawers missing, it’s in excellent condition.  It has a few spots where a little bit of the paint was knocked off, but I found those easy to fix with a Sharpie marker.  I’m going to turn the spots where the drawers would have been into shelves using the same technique I did with the bakery display case, and then make a couple of bins to fit in them.  Other than that, I’m planning on leaving the rest as is, I love the lady bug pattern on it!

I rounded the month out with a trip thrift store shopping with Barbie Girl.  Because of crazy schedules, we’ve never done that before, but it was fun to see how someone else finds things and their technique.  She picked me up in the morning and before we even got out of the driveway, she handed me a bag with some little odds and ends she found in her travels:

seat 8 seat 9

I thought the Christmas themed nesting dolls were especially cute!  The book is neat too, it’s one of those ones that you pull a tab and the picture changes.  The watering can will definitely come in handy, I’ll get the candle out of it and the block shaped bank had me stumped for a bit, then I thought I can use it to display flowers or plants, using the slot to hold them upright!  She said she didn’t know if the little jacket would fit, the sleeves could be a problem, but I may be able to cut them off and do something.

Our first stop of the morning was the same store where she found the chairs.  It is a Goodwill I’ve never been to, and wow, it makes ours look terrible!

seat 10

This was the first thing I found, only $2.99!  I’ve never been completely happy with the chest of drawers the TV sits on, I think this will be a perfect entertainment center.  It needs some touch up work but not a ton.

seat 11

Aren’t these plates awesome?  They are the perfect size for a doll sized cake or cookie platter.  49 cents each.  Oh, and I forgot to add that Barbie Girl had a 25% off coupon for this particular store too, yeah!!!

seat 12

Barbie Girl was digging around in the games, that’s one of her favorite things to find in thrift stores, and she came across this.  I don’t know how well you can see it, but it’s a version of the game Pictionary called Pictionary Man.  It originally would have had a little foam figure in it that you would write on instead of a traditional board, I guess it’s supposed to be like a travel size version.  I’ll just get a notepad for the girls to use.  I loved the game cards and the timer!  The pens are probably too large, but I can come up with something on my own.  $1.99.

On to the next store!  This was the same place I went to earlier in the summer with the hubby, a huge indoor “yard sale” set up, sponsored by a local Easter Seals.  It yielded some great finds for both of us.

seat 13

Some cute little tins and a nice little Santa that is perfect for in the dollhouse!  With everything I picked up thrift store shopping, a few little things I found a few weeks ago and stuff I have from last year, I should have a very nicely decorated doll house this Christmas.

seat 14

Yes, that’s a tacky salt and pepper set, but if you turn it around, you can’t read that it’s a souvenir from Tennessee.  I think Kit will enjoy the tea theme.  The picture frame is actually a Christmas ornament, I’m just going to remove the hanger and the little bell I just had to have, it says August on it and since my Marie-Grace has an August birthday, it’s hers!  I think it will be cute displayed in her bedroom.  Everything I picked up at this stop cost me around $3.50 total, not too shabby. 😉

So there you have it, all of my crazy finds for the tail end of October and all of November.  I think it was a very good thrift store month!  Probably a good thing, I don’t imagine I’ll get to do much thrift store shopping until after the new year.  Maybe that’s a good thing??  Until next time…

Anyone else find anything good lately?

7 thoughts on “Doll Sized Finds: Take a seat!

  1. Great finds as usual! I love the natural wood entertainment center… And the chairs are fabulous. Can’t wait to see how it all comes together in the dollhouse 😃

    • I just did some work on the entertainment center today and the jewelry box about two weeks ago, just now working on changing some stuff in the dollhouse. Will be sharing the results soon! I’m really sticking to the “has to be better than what I have rule”. Except now I have to decide what to do with what I take out. Hmmm…

Leave a Reply

