My 200th post?!?!?!

They say that “time flies when you’re having fun”, and in the case of this blog, I’d have to say I agree.  I honestly didn’t know what to expect when I started it.  I thought if I had a couple of readers besides immediate friends and family, I’d be doing well.  I’ve been very blessed to have a nice group of “regulars” and made some wonderful friendships in the process.

One of the things about blogging that I’ve always found of interest were reading the stats.  Depending on which blogging platform you use, you can get information about what countries your readers come from, what posts they like, how many hits a post has received and a variety of other information. I’m sure some bloggers use it as a gauge to see what is working and what isn’t.  I just have fun reading it to see what’s catching peoples interests.  I thought it might be fun to share some of that with all of you in celebration of my 200th post.

The pages that have gotten the most hits really aren’t a surprise:  Other Doll Blogs I Enjoy, Meet The Dolls, About Me and Check Out My Other Blog took the top spots.  I fully expected that, especially since my blog is still relatively “new” in doll world, and I’m getting new readers all the time.  Recently the bakery display case tutorial took off, I suspect from parents who had planned on buying the AG version but discovered it sold out and refuse to pay the ridiculous Ebay prices.  After that though, the blog post that got the most hits was “Alya’s Stuff Arrives”.  That also didn’t surprise me, and I can’t take all of the credit for that, the blog got a massive amount of hits when that post was featured over at Doll Diaries as a “Pick of the Week” (thanks Karen!), that was actually quite funny.  I remember that morning, checking things in my activity and my hits were off the charts and climbing, I didn’t realize what had happened until I looked at the stats further.  Talk about a nice surprise!!

Alyas stuff 2

Most of my other popular ones have been craft related where I had posted links to them over at Pinterest, or had sent in photos with links to Doll Diaries Sunday Showcase.  I’m always pleased when one of my craft projects gets a hit or a Pin, that’s one of the main reasons I started this blog.  I love sharing my ideas with other crafty folks!  One that does surprise me is the popularity of “Doll Sized Finds”, I never realized that I could combine my love of dolls and thrift store shopping and get so much interest.  Just goes to show that you never know.

Valentine 20

So where do all of these hits come from?  As one would imagine, the bulk of them come from the United States (by a landslide).  That is followed by Canada, the United Kingdom and Australia.  The rest are from all over the world, I’ve had hits from 70 different countries and territories!!!  I thought that was really cool, it just shows the range of interest in dolls around the world.  Now I’m sure a few of those hits were from “bots” and not a real person, but it can’t be that many.

How do they find me?  I thought it was particularly interesting that most of my hits come from search engines.  I’m assuming from people looking for doll blogs or related subjects.  The rest come from a variety of sources, many from other doll blogs, either ones I’ve commented on or who list me in their own lists of favorite reads.  To those people I say “Thank You”, I truly appreciate that!

Now for the funny part.  (You knew I wasn’t going to have a post without at least one funny thing in it!)  I mentioned that search engines send the bulk of the traffic my way.  WordPress gives me the ability to look and see what the search words were that people used.  “Doll Blog” was number one (no surprise) and the rest for the most part were doll related: thrift store doll, American girl blog, Pixie Faire patterns, etc.  BUT, some of these are hilarious and I can’t help but wonder how in the world they managed to end up at my blog with these searches:

doll that can talk that can say holle i want to eat

my neigbour girl is not allowed to have dolls

sayhel herd broken video

cassie lee my spunkey lover

usedvictoria tamagotchi

expenive potary and cristal

The last two were my favorites–not only did neither of them make any sense, but how did they end up here?!  (insert head scratch!)  I didn’t do any spelling edits on any of those either, I just copied and pasted from the logs.  Too funny! 🙂

In closing, I just want to thank all of you that read the blog, support my efforts and have become my friends.  It is truly fun to combine my love of dolls with my love of photography and story telling, and it is rewarding to see it appreciated.  I have no idea how long I will continue to do this, but as long as I have readers and I’m able to do it, I’m sure I’ll still be writing.  To 200 more!

17 thoughts on “My 200th post?!?!?!

  1. Congratulations on your 200th post! I hope you keep the posts about expensive pottery and crystal coming! 😉
    Some of my most memorable posts of yours are the EBay Fails. A good belly laugh can be hard to come by!

  2. Dolls that say “holle I want to eat” HAHAHAHA, that’s my favorite one! Congrats on your 200th post! It really is fun, this blogging thing, isn’t it? I also really love to see that I have international readers and it’s interesting to see which of your posts have been the most popular! 🙂

Leave a Reply

