Review of Our Generation “Fun Day Sun Day” set

Once Fiona joined our group here, I decided she needed a swim suit.  She’s a bit of an athlete, so when I saw the “Fun Day Sun Day” set from Our Generation, I thought it would be perfect for her.  She is learning how to water ski, so that life jacket will come in handy!  I lucked out, Target was not only offering free shipping when I ordered it, but they had a lot of OG stuff on sale, PLUS I had the 25% off toy coupon to use.  Regular price on this set is $12.99 but by the time I got all of the discounts, I got it for $8.74 and had it delivered to my door. Crazy thing is right after I ordered it, I noticed it was gone from the Target website (along with a bunch of other OG items). Not sure if that is permanent or not, but sure glad I ordered it when I did.
fun day 1 copyrightDoesn’t this look great on her? I have to say that the fit on both pieces is very good, and I do think that navy blue is a good color for her. Coverage is more than sufficient on this swimsuit on an AG doll, easy to put on, unlike the OG suit I bought earlier this summer, very little tugging and pulling to get it on her. The life vest is beyond adorable, and also fits very well. Glad to see that OG is making stuff that fits AG better, I hope this continues.fun day 2 copyright
I thought these sandals were adorable! They are the same sandals that come with “Beachy Keen”, just in a different color. These were a little weird though, one went right on, but the other one, yikes! I struggled for a little bit and then it finally went on. I’m hoping by leaving them on her for over 24 hours they will be stretched enough to avoid that in the future. I doubt that there was that much difference in the size of her feet. I do have to say that I’m also very pleased to see OG making shoes that not only fit AG dolls better, but are cute too. Most of the last couple of outfits I have bought from them have come with very nice shoes.

fun day 3 copyright

Here is a shot of the swimsuit uncovered. I think it’s a very nice swimsuit for a young girl, and as you can see, coverage is very good. I didn’t include a back shot because it’s pretty much the same. The coverage on the behind is good, no dolly butt cheeks hanging out! (that drives me nuts!)
fun day 4 copyrightThe set comes with goggles instead of sunglasses, aren’t they awesome??? The fit on these is outstanding, but I will give anyone who purchases this set a bit of a tip. Be sure to hook them in the back first before putting them on the doll, then you can adjust the snugness. Even off the doll they are a bit difficult to hook, but totally worth the effect.  I also thought these goggles might work with the snow suit in a pinch!fun day 5 copyright
The set also includes a decent sized beach towel, and an assortment of faux shells. The shells are pretty and fairly realistic looking, although I might have preferred a different accessory. Not that they are horrible, but I would have liked something more interactive like a floatie or other beach toy. Not a biggie. As with all OG clothing sets, a hanger was included as well. Another thing I want to note is that if you order OG clothing from the Target website, it comes in a plastic bag inside a nice box, none of that struggling with packaging like the sets you buy from the stores. No tape, no strings, just some of the smaller items wrapped in some tissue to prevent loss/damage. That alone might keep me coming back to the website to buy instead.

Overall, I give this set an A+! I think it looks great, has tons of play value and everything is well made. I’ve noticed that OG is really stepping up the game on quality recently and I’m happy to see that. They make a nice line of clothes and accessories that are a terrific alternative to some of the other lines. Good job! Now Fiona is just keeping her fingers crossed that we don’t have the algae issues with the lake next year…

10 thoughts on “Review of Our Generation “Fun Day Sun Day” set

  1. Looks awesome! The suit fits well and is cute too. A nice pattern and color. The life jacket and goggles match well. Did you get the beach accessory set? That has a floaty and beach ball. Would coordinate well with this set.

  2. Super cute… A girl’s gotta have her Jelly sandals! I assume you saw the OG microscope on LADL? Weren’t we talking about the AG version a while back?

    • I actually saw it over a month ago when it first hit the OG website, been looking for it ever since, but it just hit stores this week. That’s where I’m heading this morning!

Leave a Reply

