Review of My Life As Snowboard Set and Our Generation Snow Bright Set

When Evil Twin and the girls were here in September, we had a trip to Walmart. It wouldn’t be a trip to Walmart without checking out the My Life As goodies. I picked up the snowboard set, I thought it was very cute, and at just under $7, definitely a decent price. I was concerned about the boots as I’d had a previously not so great experience with another pair of MLA boots, but I was very happy to see that these fit nicely.
snowboard 1 copyright

Not long after that I was perusing the Target website, and I came across a snow suit set that I thought was cute and would be a perfect match to the snowboard set. Called “Snow Bright”, it includes a pair of boots, snow pants and jacket. It retails for $17.99, but I’ve seen it on sale too. However, it is one of those things that keeps disappearing and reappearing, so if you want it, I wouldn’t wait too long.

First off, the boots:

snowboard 2 copyright
Um, these were a major fail the whole way around. First off, the colors are all wrong. I think they were trying to make them look like a pair of LLBean boots, and while they succeeded in the style, the paint job is dreadful. Get rid of the white! They also do not fit AG dolls, I couldn’t get them on at all and after the experience that Xyra had at Tea Time With Melody Q involving a pair of OG boots, I decided not to “force” the issue. (Pun totally intended!) If I were to use them, I would first off paint the white.   I’m not going to toss them, they should fit Jan and she may need a pair of boots down the road. Oh well.

Now, what to wear underneath the snowpants? This was tough because I wasn’t sure how close these were going to fit. I started out with a long sleeve shirt and it was a bit of a disaster, the shirt not only bunched up under the snow pants, but the sleeves turned into a mess in the jacket as well. Back to the drawing board. After looking through the wardrobe, I settled on this:snowboard 3 copyright
Basically I just wanted something that would add some warmth but be comfortable too. In Western Pennsylvania you have to dress in layers for outdoor winter activities!

snowboard 4 copyright
As you can see, the snowpants fit very nicely over Fiona’s other clothing. No major struggles or bunching either.snowboard 5 copyright The jacket fits very nicely over everything as well. I also liked that the bottoms of the snowpants were cut amply enough to fit over the boots as opposed to tucking them in.snowboard 6 copyright
TADA!!! Doesn’t she look awesome??? Shaun White is one of Fiona’s heroes, and she looks ready to fly down (and around!) the slopes like he does.

Overall, I give both of these sets high marks, the snowboard set gets an A+ and the snow suit gets an A- (points taken off for the sorry looking boots!) Fiona is ready for the snow now–but let’s not push it, please?!?!?

13 thoughts on “Review of My Life As Snowboard Set and Our Generation Snow Bright Set

  1. Fiona looks great! Outfit is adorable. We love Shaun White too. He’s awesome!

    Could you use a needle nose pliers to help put the jacket on over a long sleeve tee? Or maybe tweezers or longer forceps? Start the arm then grab the wrist of the sleeve and pull down while pushing on? Does that make sense.

    • That’s a good idea, I may have to try that! I think part of the issue was the particular shirt I chose too, it had things that would easily catch on the inside of the sleeve.

    • I thought the quality of both the coat and the snowpants were very good, both are fully lined. I just got the PWP Pretty Pink Coat from AG and I think they are comparable in quality. 🙂

    • I bought a pair of boots last year at Target by OG that I had to return because they were so tight. Sizing is definitely something that could be improved.

      I just looked at those PJ’s, guess it’s your turn to be a bad influence on me! LOL I have a trip to the outlet mall next week and time to kill while the dog is at the groomers…

  2. Wow, those boots really are pretty horrendous! Poor Jan, lol. I think this outfit looks adorable! I love the colors and I like it even better than the AG snowboarding set, I think. I might have to be on the lookout for that coat and snowpants set!

Leave a Reply

