A New Friend

The girls here always seem to be making new friends.  Whether it’s the girls in the neighborhood (Zara, Abby, Louisa), the girls from Pittsburgh (Zoee, Nancy, Felicity, Raynia or Trudy) or the girls from across the state (Kirsten, Melody), there never seems to be a shortage of someone to play with, talk to or text.  I mentioned at the beginning of the school year that Louisa and Shivan weren’t the only new kids at the school, this year there were 10 total, which is a lot for a small school like Kennedy.  Cassandra is in quite a few classes with one of them, her name is Fiona, and they have gotten to be great friends.  A few days ago Cassandra asked Fiona if she’d like to come to the house to hang out.  Fiona thought it sounded terrific, and you can imagine how surprised they both were when they came to realize that she only lives two blocks away!  Something tells me that Fiona will be spending a lot of time here with the girls.

Fiona’s family moved here from Columbus, Ohio. Her dad was the station manager for the PBS television station there, but due to budget cutbacks, his job changed a lot and he decided to look for something else. He is now working for a local television station, producing the morning news show but also does some work for our area PBS station. Her mom is a pharmacist and has a job at the same hospital as Zara and Abby’s mom. She has an older brother, Steven, who is away at his first year at college. She doesn’t have any pets because her brother is allergic, but now that he isn’t around all the time, she is trying to convince her parents to let her get a hamster. She is a terrific volleyball player and also loves to snowboard. She was really excited to learn that the school has a ski/snowboard club that takes regular trips to some of the area ski resorts, there weren’t any close when she lived in Columbus.

She came over Saturday afternoon after lunch. Cassandra showed her around the house, and then they headed to her room so they could work on a homework project together.

new friend 1
“You don’t have to share a room with any of the other girls?” asked Fiona.
“No, Kit and I both lucked out and have our own rooms. I did share with Alya when she first came here, but it was too crowded, so now she and Shivan share a bigger bedroom.”
“It’s really nice, very cozy.”

Then Fiona turned around…
new friend 2
“WHOAAAA!!! Look at all of this Minion stuff!!”

Cassandra giggled.  “Some of it I got as presents, some of it I saved my own money to get.  Do you like Minions?”

“Like?” asked Fiona.  “I LOVE Minions!”

new friend 3
“This shelf with all the figures on it is so cool!” “Thanks!” replied Cassandra. “I just got that, mom found it somewhere and thought it would be perfect to display my collection. I don’t know what I’m going to do if I get anymore.” (neither do I…)

The girls had fun the rest of the afternoon, playing with the Minions, snuggling with Chester and doing their homework. She had fun with Chester, she told Cassandra that it was nice to play with him. I couldn’t help but think, “oh dear, just what we need, another Minion crazy girl.” I can’t wait until the movie comes out on video, I definitely see a party with at least the 3 of us!”

Do you and your friends have anything you really like to do together? Or an outdoor activity you like to do? When I was growing up, my friends and I were all horse-crazy, we lived and breathed horses. Everything from fantasizing about having our own horses, to actually riding sometimes. I have some great memories of fun things I did with my friends over the years!

In case you are wondering where I got the shelf for all of Cassandra’s Minions, it is a clear drawer organizer I picked up at TJ Maxx!

12 thoughts on “A New Friend

  1. Welcome Fiona! If she likes Minions too, I think you’re in trouble! LOL! When I was a kid growing up in NYC, I had a friend named Laura. We’d have a ball when she came over! In our living room we had this HUGE mirror, (made up of small mirrors) that took up one whole wall, so we’d perform to my records in front of it! One of our faves was the K-Tel “Looney Tunes” record. When I moved to CA, I gave her that album to remember me by.

  2. Love the Minion shelf, and also Fiona’s clogs.
    When I was a kid we would dance in my friend’s living room to Grease! I am glad I didn’t understand the words. I never had a horse phase 😉

    • I got Fiona’s clogs from the Springfield Collection last summer when they had a big clearance sale. I think they are cute and they fit great.

      Oh dear, Grease…and the words to some of the songs, especially “Greased Lightning”–eeek! LOL

  3. Fiona is a beautiful doll! I love her with that gorgeous strawberry blonde hair. Her anchor tee-shirt is adorable. I’m sure the two of them will have lots of fun together!
    I can remember dancing to the Beach Boys and the Bangles in my friend’s living room, lol.
    “Walk like…an Egyptian” !! 😉

    • Thanks! I’m still getting used to her hair, I need to take an afternoon and play around with it to see what works well as far as hairstyles, plus she needs a very tiny trim to even things up.

      Ah, the Beach Boys, LOTS of great memories while listening to them. One of my friends from work loved them too, so we would go sit in the park in my car while we ate lunch and sing!

      LOL @ Walk like an Egyptian!

    • Thanks! Yes, talking and eating were a big activity in my teens and still is today. I think if we, along with Xyra were all to get together, we’d never run out of subjects!

      I used to have unicorn shoe laces, they were cool.

    • Thanks! The seller that I got her wig from has some new ones that are very pretty and so tempting, but I’m going to be good. I agree that meeting new friends is fun.

Leave a Reply

