Doll Sized Finds: Super cheap!

September was not a great thrifting month when it came to doll stuff.  I mentioned before that my trip to Pittsburgh yielded nothing.  I did a little better close by though, and my first items I didn’t even have to leave the comfort of my own home to find!

I did a major cleaning in my craft room.  In the process of doing so, I came across two items that I thought would work great in the dollhouse:

thrift sept 1

The item on the left is a craft storage container that is designed to hold tiny items like beads, buttons, eyelets, etc. I have a bunch of these with stuff in them, but I forgot I had two extras. I’ve seen where several different people have used these as divided servers for their dolls which is exactly what I intend on using it for.  The lid comes off easily too, so that was a plus.

The item on the right is a Heinz Ketchup bottle pin–or perhaps I should say it WAS a pin. I thought it would make a nice bottle of ketchup for the dolls, so I carefully cut the pin part off it using my jewelry snips. It will go well with the snack cart too.  You can never have too much ketchup.

A trip to the Salvation Army yielded two adorable items, and I spent less than $2:
thrift sept 2

I loved this sign and at 99 cents, I couldn’t pass it up. ‘Tis the season!
thrift sept 3

The details on the basket are fantastic, it’s made from resin but looks like real basket materials. 69 cents!!! Not exactly sure what I’m going to use it for just yet, might be nice for keeping small items from getting lost on desks, in the kitchen and so forth.
thift sept 4

Met a friend for lunch, but before getting together with her, I had to check out the Salvation Army near there. They had a huge bin with stuffed animals and these two cuties were sitting on the top of the pile:
thrift sept 5

Yes, that’s an authentic Bitty Bear! It’s in great shape too. The little dog is a Mini Ubi Petz toy, judging from the info on the tag it was a premium in a Wendy’s kids meal. There was a little bit of red on the dog around it’s nose, not sure what it was but most of it wiped off with a Clorox disinfecting wipe. Each of these cost all of 29 cents! Too cute to pass up, especially at that price.

October has been a little better, but not amazing.  Our local thrift stores have been pathetic.  The hubby was on vacation for a week and we weren’t going anywhere, just trying to get caught up on some outdoor work.  When the weather wasn’t cooperating on two of those days, we decided to go poking around in some other areas.

Our first day was by far the best and yielded these 3 finds:

thrift oct 1

I think the chair is really cool, I just need to decide exactly what I want to do to it.  I think it’s going to go in Kit’s bedroom when it’s done though, I’ve never been all that wild about the chair I put in there.  The Halloween pumpkin just needs some minor touchup work and the little shelf?  I think that might make a fun place to put dishes!  I am not positive but I think it’s originally a shelf meant to hold ceramic measuring spoons.  On this day I spent a whopping $2, last of the big spenders. 😉

Day two wasn’t quite as exciting, but I did find something really neat for all of a dollar:

thrift oct 2 thrift oct 3

I am not absolutely sure what I’m going to do with it yet, but both of us saw an entertainment center or something similar when we looked at it.  (Cassandra thinks it would be a great place to store all of her Minion toys, um, no.)  It’s missing the bottom drawer, but that’s not an issue, I like it as is.  I’m still scratching my head on what color to paint it.  It needs a good scrubbing first though, I haven’t purchased something this dirty at a thrift store since I bought the chair that is currently in Kit’s room.

Did you find anything fun in a thrift store or at a yard sale recently? The weather is getting cooler here, so yard sale season should be wrapping up which means it might be a good time to find some better thrift store finds. It’s been a rather poor past few months, not completely disastrous, but not as good as in the past. Fingers crossed!

12 thoughts on “Doll Sized Finds: Super cheap!

  1. Nice finds! Bitty Bear is so cute! And I like your ketchup bottle pin. (that’s the kind Maryellen should have had w/ her diner). I can’t wait to see how you fix the furniture.

  2. I always thought Bitty Bear was cute, so I was thrilled when I found it. And yes, I agree completely on the ketchup bottle. It was always a bottle of Heinz on the table when I was growing up, not a squeeze bottle!

  3. Fantastic finds! I haven’t been to a thrift store in ages, but now I feel inspired to check some out. It’s so fun to go through other people’s “junk’!

    • I’m always amazed at some of the stuff I see at thrift stores, sometimes it is nothing but junk, but other times, lots of cool treasures, maybe not to me, but to someone. I’ve found some amazing clothing items, household items and others, all brand new, some even with the tags still on. I always wonder what happened in those situations that made whoever donate it.

    • Thanks! I’m debating on if I want to just paint it or cover some of it with fabric. The jury is still out. A good project for after the holidays.

Leave a Reply

