Doll Sized Finds–It’s “baaaack!”

I bet you thought I’d forgotten about doll sized finds–never!!! Admittedly I did very little thrift store shopping in the month of July. In fact, I don’t know that I did any. I did find a few doll type things though in other places, so I’m going to share those with you along with a few things I found come August in thrift stores. Let the fun begin!

I mentioned in the Dollhouse Tour how I wasn’t happy with my current sofa and that I’d found something that I thought would work better. It took a little thought but once I got going on it, I was really happy with how it turned out:
sofa 5

Abby says it’s very comfy. So, what do you think it really is????
sofa 2
If you guessed pet bowl holder, you guessed right! I only paid $15 for it, but I did have a minor issue. If you look closely you can see slats on the side that the main part is to rest on, you can adjust it for different heights. Unfortunately even the lowest one was too high to look realistic, so I had to do some engineering. I bought four short candle holders, painted them black and glued them to the bottom. Then to cover the openings, I took a piece of cardboard and covered it with a piece of matching fabric and laid it on top. The best part is if in the future I find something else and I want to use this as a pet food holder, it’s easy enough to change it back!
sofa 3   sofa 4

My next find I originally saw at Target, but I decided the $9.99 price tag was a bit steep. Imagine how thrilled I was when I found the exact same thing at TJMaxx for $4.99!!!
sofa 11
Now the girls are all ready for their geography courses, I just have to figure out a good place to put it.

A trip to visit Barbie Girl yielded an easel for something I found on a previous thrift store trip:
sofa 13  sofa 14

When I went to see Evil Twin we hit a couple of thrift stores. I found this:
sofa 12
Only $1.99 for the set, they had several and they were all brand new, had never been opened, with the original price tags of $9.95 still on them. Crazy, huh?!  What I didn’t realize is that not only did it include the figures, but a cute little book too.  It was made by the same people who made most of the books on Cassandra’s bookshelf as well as Kit’s Downton Abbey model.

Evil Twin was digging around and found this–just perfect for in Kit’s room!
sofa 10
It was marked $1.99 but it just so happened that this color tag was 50% off that day, so I got it for 99 cents. I think it’s going to look adorable in Kit’s room, once I figure out the best spot for it. I think the girl needs some bookshelves!

Last, but far from least, I had some time to kill while the dog was at the groomers, so I popped into the Salvation Army nearby. Spoons and a squirrel!
sofa 15  sofa 16

The spoons were 49 cents each and are both from Tennessee. The squirrel is a mini Beanie Baby, it was 99 cents and I think it’s going to look nice sitting on Shivan’s bed, she doesn’t have any stuffed animals yet.

Remember how I’d mentioned that I’d like to have a trunk for in Kit’s room?  I had a trip to Hobby Lobby and look what I found:

sofa 17 sofa 18

sofa 19 sofa 20

I lucked out and they just happened to be running a 50% off sale on these kinds of items, so I got it for $5.49.  I think Kit approves too.

A trip to Dollar Tree was only a $4 total sale–but one of the things I found is just too cool:

sofa 21

I thought this was just the neatest thing I’d seen in ages!  Even if it didn’t work, it was worth the dollar as a prop.  It’s really simple to use though, there is a jack that flips down on the back…

sofa 22

Then it just plugs into your phone or mp3 player!

sofa 23

The sound quality on it wasn’t bad either, I was really surprised.  Although I doubt that I will use it this way much.  Here it is as a doll prop:

sofa 24

They had several different designs for the sticker on the front too, I loved this one with the faux cassette player.

Have you found anything good recently? I have to admit that now that the dollhouse itself is finished, it has given me a new challenge in finding stuff. Next week I’m off to Pittsburgh to go thrift store shopping with my dangerous thrift store shopping buddy Heather, who knows what I might find… Until next time!

14 thoughts on “Doll Sized Finds–It’s “baaaack!”

    • Yes, and they seem to have WAY more toys in the ones there than here for some reason, particularly a group called Red White and Blue. I’m so looking forward to going!

    • Kit’s room is definitely getting a spruce up with these two items! And that globe is probably one of my favorite things, I’m just glad I didn’t pay full price.

    • I’m thinking about making some different upholstery for it, that was what I had and I am not sure I like it. Still thinking on it, but it works in the meantime so the girls have somewhere to sit when watching TV.

    • I love thrift store shopping, not only do you get a bargain, but you just never know what you might find. I’m super excited about shopping this week!

Leave a Reply

