Dollhouse tour–the bathroom (and the last room!)

Here we are at the end of the dollhouse tour. 😦 If I do add any rooms to it I’ll be sure to share them, but as it stands, I am out of room. Which led me to how I came up with this room. I knew I didn’t really have space for a permanent set up, plus in all honesty, I’m not playing with this stuff like a kid would (at least not that I would admit LOL!) and just how many photo shoots would I do in a bathroom set up? It got me to thinking that my best way of handling it would be something similar in style to what I did with the bakery project. Off to get a presentation board!

The board was 36 inches tall (just like the bakery one) so I cut 12 inches off the top and saved that to use for the floor.  I found the perfect scrapbook papers to use as wallpaper and the flooring.

I like how it came out:
bath 1

The two most expensive items were the bathtub that I picked up at Kmart for $24.99 and the sink I got at Amazon for $9-ish (can’t remember exactly). Everything else is either odds and ends picked up at Target and thrift stores, and other parts from Our Generation sets I already had.

bath 2
Here’s a better shot of the side that the toilet is on. The toilet wasn’t intended to be used for 18 inch dolls so it sat a bit low for my liking. I used a cut off sour cream container, painted it pink and problem solved! The sign on the wall is a saying that Evil Twin has hanging in her bathroom that I’ve always gotten a chuckle out of.  The laundry basket came from the $1 section in Target and the towel in it is actually a wrap that came with the bathtub.

bath 3
bath 1.2
I was excited when I found this bathtub at Kmart–I actually think it’s the same mold as they use for the Journey Girls tub and perhaps several other companies as well. It came with some little bottles, a shower cap, and a wrap. I liked it because it was the same shade of pink as the toilet. Not wild about pink for fixtures, but at least they match! The little shelf is a thrift store find (I have another) and the rubber ducky and scrub brush are trusty Dollar Tree finds. I LOVE Dollar Tree!!!  The bottle came with an OG set.

bath 4

My favorite piece–the vanity!!!!  Talk about getting more mileage out of a piece that I paid only $1 for at a yard sale.  You might recognize it from the bakery or the gardening table.  I simply added a locker mirror, also picked up at Dollar Tree, ordered the sink from Amazon and everything else is stuff I already had.  The towels are a couple of washcloths I had around that had seen better days.  On one side I put two 3M hangers to hold things like towels, the shower cap, etc.

I did have one minor issue with this–the tub was missing the screw that held the fixtures in place.  Not a biggie because I really didn’t want to have it permanently attached anyhow.  I first thought that it would stay in place on it’s own, but no such luck, the hose for the shower made it too heavy.  Hmmmm…  then I remembered this:

bath 5Tacky Wax is a wonderful thing for holding things in place temporarily.  You just get a blob out with your fingers, roll it around until it’s warm and pliable and then stick it on one side of what you want to keep in place.  When you are done simply pull them apart and wipe it off.  It’s great for all sorts of dollhouse applications.  I even used it to keep candlesticks from vibrating off the shelf at our old house, it was right by the front door and every time someone went in or out, they moved.  Not after Tacky Wax!

bath 6Here you can see where it was, it did a good job of holding it in place!

The best part of this whole project is just how compact it all is once you disassemble it:

bath 9

All of the little bits and bobs fit into a small AG shipping box.  Everything else (toilet, sink, tub, shelf) all fit in the box the bathtub originally came in.

Here you can see how I attached the shelf.  3M Velcro picture hanging strips are the bomb!!!  Much stronger grip than conventional Velcro.  LOVE these things!

bath 7

Here they are on the vanity, I used them to hold the mirror in place.  I’m not going to take them off the shelf, I’ll probably just make some sort of sign that attaches the same way for in the bakery!

bath 8After everything was boxed up, I simply folded up both of the boards and it was ready to store.  Wouldn’t it be nice if we could do this with our own houses?

bath 10My goal over the next few months is to clean out a storage cupboard I have, most of the things in it can be sold or given away, and it will then become my space for storing all of my extra doll accessories.  I’m looking forward to that because I’m tired of worrying about tripping over something and it getting damaged.

I hope you enjoyed the tour of the bathroom as well as the rest of the dollhouse!  It’s been fun giving you a little bit of the “behind the scenes” in the lives of the girls.  Stop back soon!

14 thoughts on “Dollhouse tour–the bathroom (and the last room!)

  1. The bathtub looks very similar to the Our Generation one I have (from the Owl Be Relaxin’ set), but mine is a lighter shade of pink and the trim and stuff is silver. I got the set at Target for 17 bucks when Target Canada was closing.

    For a toilet, I’m probably going to go with one of the dog water bowl ones I’ve seen on Amazon (and I”ll do a search for that sink of yours, too!)

  2. I wouldn’t be a bit surprised to find out that they are all made by the same company. Good deal!

    The sink is actually a magnetic paper clip holder. I saw it on several other doll blogs and thought it was a great idea.

  3. Very nice! Pink and elegant. I have one of the doll potty training sets that has a sink (w/ running water sounds), and a toilet that has flushing sounds and the sound of children cheering! LOL! I used to use this as a potty training device when I was in the younger classroom, w/ the 2 year olds. I’ve considered getting a tub, but I don’t know how much use it would get.

    • That’s the exact reason I wasn’t even sure I wanted to do a bathroom, but then I came across the toilet at a thrift store and decided what the heck. I do see a “spa” day post somewhere in the future that I could use this for though.

    • LOL! I know, I mean, it’s’ nice for a bit of realism, but not like it’s a real thing. I jus realized I forgot my “authentic” doll poop!

  4. Read your post this morning … Glad I came back for all these fun comments! The faux tile floor is wonderful and I love the fold up and store concept. My favorite tidbit it the cotton ball jar!!!!

    • When I saw that scrapbook paper I knew it would make a perfect tile floor! The cottonball jar was a thrift store find, I just took a couple of regular cottonballs, pulled them apart and re-rolled.

  5. This room is so cute! I love the vanity! I also love that it stores away for future use! So convenient! I’ve been having a sort of conundrum lately about creating another bathroom for our mega dollhouse project. Mainly because we already have a bathroom in the other dollhouse. (yes, we have two dollhouses. How do these things happen? lol!) I will probably just create a laundry space or a pet space instead. I love that toilet! Where on earth did you find it?

    ginnie / http://www.fakingitmostly.com

    • The toilet was a thrift store find, I made the base for it out of a sour cream container. It sat too low to me so it needed something to add some height. I was so excited to find it because doll toilets aren’t exactly a common item.

Leave a Reply

