Early Birthday Haul and review of My Life As Desk & Accessories

My birthday isn’t until the end of September, but over the past few weeks I’d been noticing different new releases from various doll lines that I thought I would like to have and thought that they would be ideal birthday items.  The drawback though is that because they are new releases, they might be difficult to find.  There were 3 in particular that I really wanted, I thought that I would be doing well if I found one and started looking early.  Well…I found not one, not two but all 3–and two other things that I wanted as well.  **HAPPY DANCE!!!**

birthday haul 1
My finds: OG Mini Sienna, My Life As Desk and Accessories, OG “It Seams Perfect” set, OG “I Spot A Birdie” set and OG “A Bucket of Fun” set. The crazy part is I found these all in a matter of a week, 4 of them all on the same day at 2 different Target stores! I’m sure if someone had seen me when I spotted the sewing set in Target, they would have thought they had a crazy woman in the store, I never thought in a million years I would have found it that quickly. Year Made!!!

birthday haul 2 birthday haul 3

The three items I wanted most were “It Seams Perfect”, “I Spot a Birdie” and the My Life As Desk.  Mini Sienna I had looked at a couple of times and passed, but then I found out that OG is totally revamping the mini line, so I had decided if I ran across her, I would grab her.  The beach set was just something I thought would be fun to have (especially since I have all those swimsuits now!)

I could do reviews on all these items, but the truth is that several of these things have more than enough reviews on them all over the internet.  Instead, I’m only going to review one of them, and that is because it not only is an item that hasn’t had many reviews on it, but the quality and “cute” factor on this piece is FAN-TAS-TIC. (Anyone watch “Hot In Cleveland”?)  So here you are, a review on the My Life As Desk & Accessories set.  I purchased it through Walmart.com for $27.97, it can be bought in some Walmart stores as well.  Ready?  Here we go!

Let’s talk about the packaging first–it’s typical MLA packaging.  I’m still trying to figure out what this fixation is with doll and girl aimed products with pink and purple–yikes.  I do like that it’s not behind a ton of plastic though and you can really see what you get with the piece as well as the details.

birthday haul 4 birthday haul 5

birthday haul 6

Anyone else ever notice this on the MLA boxes? I have before, just wanted to point that out. Girl Power!!!

Getting it out of the box was easy. Almost so easy that I couldn’t believe it. Other companies could take a huge lesson from them on packaging, and I’m going to show you why. First off I slit the tape on the top and bottom of the outer box, the desk and components slid out easily.
birthday haul 7
The desk was held into place in the inner box with these two pieces, and some rubber band type things, that’s it. And no, your eyes aren’t deceiving you–that’s paper twine instead of those god-awful plastic coated metal things that I swear are out to take over the world. Only thing that would have made this even better is if that piece with the holes in it had been cardboard instead of plastic, but I’m sure they were concerned it might not hold up. I’ll give them that.

birthday haul 8

Once removed, then I had to take out the piece holding the accessories, also held in place with more paper twine:

birthday haul 9   birthday haul 10

Let me just take a moment here to BOW DOWN to the person who decided the paper twine was a good idea. It wasn’t just a good idea, it was a terrific idea and for so many reasons. First off, it’s biodegradable. I’m sick to death of filling our landfills with packaging materials. It’s also much safer for little hands to undo. It also cuts easily with scissors. And it did the job!!!
birthday haul 11
This is the piece that the accessories were mounted on. I’m showing this because I’m going to keep it. Why, you ask? Because it is the exact size of the back of the desk and it would be an awesome template for when I want to recover it with something else. And I do want to recover it. Not wild about the background.

Now for the little accessories:
birthday haul 12  birthday haul 13

They are okay, they are just made of cardboard.  I’d be tempted if this was going to get a lot of play to laminate them or better yet, scan them and reprint, then laminate.  That way you could reproduce them if they get damaged.

The chair was packaged under the desk like so:

birthday haul 16

The little package was also held in place with paper twine (yes!).  It contained the rug and some other paper accessories:

birthday haul 13=4

birthday haul 15 birthday haul 17

Nothing exciting though.  Oh well.

birthday haul 18

The chair is very cute, I wasn’t sure I was going to like it at first, but it has definitely grown on me.  The wheels on it don’t work, but for this price point, I certainly didn’t expect them to.  The rug is kind of flimsy, it seems more like a throw to me, but it works okay for this purpose.  I might use it in a dog bed instead.

birthday haul 19

The lamp and the laptop are both VERY cute, and I think overall well done.

birthday haul 21 birthday haul 22

The lamp lights up and the laptop closes.  The paint job on my laptop could be better.  The best part about the lamp is that it stays on, but only for about 10 seconds, so you don’t have to worry about running the batteries down.  A huge improvement over the lantern that was included with the MLA camping set, you had to continuously hold the button down, dumb.

birthday haul 23

Here is the desk all opened up.  The drawers move easily but they don’t have stops on the back so they will pull completely out.  The cupboards are a little difficult to open, I don’t know how well this would hold up to hard play, I think you would need to be careful.

birthday haul 24

Overall, for just under $28, I think this is a tremendous value and a fantastic piece for any 18 inch doll collection.  So where is it going to go in my dollhouse??  When I first bought it, I wasn’t really sure, but I’ve since decided that it’s going to replace the desk in Marie-Grace and Rebecca’s room, that desk is going to be used for some other things instead.  I would have loved to put it in Alya and Shivan’s room, but there just isn’t enough space. 😦

Kit asked if she could try it out, I told her sure thing, just don’t get attached to it since you have a desk already!

birthday haul 25 birthday haul 26

Balancing the doll on the chair is a little tricky, but once you get her on, she fits nicely under the desk.

There you have it–a review on the My Life As Desk.  Even with the cardboard accessories, I still give this item an A+, I think it has tons of playtime options, is well made, and the packaging–off the charts!!!  Very happy with this purchase! 🙂

Excuse me now while I go and play with my other purchases, at least my husband isn’t like some people who make you actually wait until your birthday! (That would be a long wait, I’d go bananas.)

As I mentioned before, there are plenty of reviews for the other items I bought, but if there is something in particular you would like to see ME review, please tell me in the comments.  If I get enough requests for a particular item, I will reconsider.

19 thoughts on “Early Birthday Haul and review of My Life As Desk & Accessories

  1. Happy birthday almost a month early ;). My birthday is in Sept too! The very imminent part of Sept.
    Glad you found these items. I myself am looking forward to seeing the OG Girl Scout set in person. My mom was a Girl Scout leader!
    The desk looks like a really useful item. Can’t wait to see it installed. Cool chair.
    I would love to see any of the other items reviewed by you, but especially the sewing set. I have seen pictures elsewhere but not really a review. I like to read your thoughts and commentary.
    So, by the time it’s really your bday, Maryellen’s collection will be out… Wishing for anything from there?

    • I knew there was a reason we got along so well 😉

      I want the play clothes set, I’m a sucker for anything with a cherry print and I think it’s adorable! I really like the purple gingham outfit too. I think the jukebox is cool, but I don’t know what the heck I would do with it! The nice part is since she is just now coming out, I’ll have some time to pick these items up, there’s always Christmas LOL. That’s it though, I like the other items, but not enough to buy them. I’m also anxious to see if she is all we get on the 27th, or if we will get some new Truly Me items too.

    • I never thought about that, I’ve been to the site. I’ll have to check that out! I agree that paper twine rules–why can’t ALL companies go to this?!

  2. Happy early birthday! Nice review. I really dig the chair. I like that the My Life line is an affordable alternative, but yes, I do wish they’d use more colors. SInce it is owned by women, they should know that not all girls are the “girly girl” type. Congrats on find your “holy grail” sewing set! LOL! Have fun playing w/ your toys!

    • Thanks! The chair is really pretty cute, I like it way more than I expected to. I agree on the whole not all girls are girly thing, that was so me when I was younger. I have always appreciated realism as opposed to things being some goofball color. Thank heavens Barbie pink didn’t come until after I was past the Barbie stage or I might have rebelled!

    • This is the fourth My Life As item that I’ve purchased that wasn’t dolls or clothing and I have to say that all of them have been great values. I’m anxious to see if they expand the line further if the new items do well, I think they could grab a huge chunk of the market. Thanks for the early birthday wishes!

  3. Wow, what awesome playsets! They are so tempting…for the price, they look so nice. I love the sewing set in particular from the image on the box. I would love to see a review of that. 🙂

    • Yeah, you can’t beat the price points on this. I think of what Isabelle’s studio went for last year in comparison. Granted, it came with a large piece of furniture, but still. $29.99 vs $275–huge difference!

    • Thanks! I still can’t believe I managed to find several of these items, the desk being one of them. I moved it into the girls’ room, they like it too!

Leave a Reply

