Dollhouse tour, the living room

I’m posting this a day earlier than I originally had scheduled–I hope you don’t mind!

The living room has been an interesting experience, and I’ve probably looked at it in amazement more than any other room in the house. Why you ask? Because it is the only room in the dollhouse that contains absolutely NO actual doll furniture! That’s right, nearly everything in it is human stuff, repurposed for the dollhouse. I don’t think I spent a total of $20 on everything in it. Pretty cool, huh?!

That said, I’m just going to take a second to make a comment here. It was brought to my attention by a friend that there is a group of girls who are American Girl collectors who look down their noses to anything that isn’t American Girl. I wouldn’t have believed it if I hadn’t seen the nasty comments some of these girls made with my own eyes. Downright mean and hateful stuff. That is just wrong. As an adult collector, I appreciate the craftsmanship of some (not all) of the American Girl pieces, and I own some of them. However, anyone can go through a catalog and buy everything that American Girl makes (if you can afford to) and furnish your dollhouse solely with that. Personally though, I totally enjoy seeing what people find that isn’t American Girl and how they incorporate it into their layouts and so forth. To me that is far more creative and shows me that this person has a brain and not just an unlimited supply of cash. Making fun of someone because they choose not to or simply can’t afford to purchase everything from American Girl is low, nasty and horrible, and I hope I never see any of my followers or any of those I follow act that way. Besides, if you have been an American Girl fan since the beginning (when it was Pleasant Company), you know that creativity was highly encouraged and they sold kits and patterns for making things on your own. For all you “Mean Girls”–go back to hanging out with the Plastics, leave the creative folks alone and keep your hateful comments to yourself.

Now that we have that out of the way, are you ready???

Here’s a view of the room.  This is another room that’s hard to photograph because of where it is, and if I ever decide to move the dollhouse, I definitely will be keeping that problem in mind!
Img_1631

I’m going to admit that I’m not a big fan of the sofa. Some of you may recognize that as the platform bed I made out of foamcore. I’ve never finished it by painting it or covering it because I wasn’t 100% convinced that it was going to stay in the living room. First it looks out of proportion to me, and it just doesn’t look very “sofa like”. The good news is that just this past week I did find something that I think is going to work so much better than this, I just have to make a minor change to it. I’ll be sure to share it with everyone once I have it in place.
Img_3973
The little side table is an empty peanut can (they were yummy!) that I covered with scrapbook paper, the lamp is a solar lamp I picked up from DollarTree.  The cushions on the sofa are ones I made and I think they are going to fit the new sofa with minimal alterations, yay!  Marie-Grace keeps her guitar here as it’s easier than dragging it upstairs, plus it always seems like she ends up playing for the girls in the living room after dinner.
Img_3974
The TV is one of my favorite things in this room and it was so easy to do.  It is a $2 picture frame that I picked up at Michael’s, I got the idea from American Girl Ideas.  For the screen I simply did some screen captures of some of my favorite shows and then printed them in photo size.  As you can see, the girls are watching “Big Bang Theory” at the moment! The nice part with this frame is it is two sided, so you can have one show on one side and another on the reverse making it easy to “change the channel”.  There is also room to store several photos in between as well, so I have about 5 or 6 screen shots that I can change.  Of course we have Downton Abbey and Torchwood!

The stand is a set of drawers I found at Goodwill for $4, they were brand new with the original $10 price tag still hanging on them.  At first I wasn’t sure what I was going to do with them, but I think they make a perfect living room addition.  The mug was also a thrift store find.  The Wii sitting on the floor beside it is a gift card holder I got from GameStop.  (Word of warning, DO NOT order these from them online, it was a horrible experience!  See if your store has one instead. )
Img_3975Working our way around the room, we get to the bookshelves.  I got them for $1.95 at a thrift store, I loved that they looked like a boat and at first I couldn’t decide if I would use it as a boat or a shelf–you see what won out.  They have turned into a great place to put some of the cute little accents I’ve picked up.  Again, more flowers from the Garden set I did, the Kachina doll is from my personal collection, I bought that in New Mexico back in 1994 when my bestie and I drove out to visit her dad.  The picture frames were both thrift store finds as well as the little milk jug.  I used photos from an old American Girl catalog in them, they were so small and it worked perfectly.  On the bottom shelf is my OG Picnic Basket, the only doll thing that has a permanent place in the living room!  You can’t see it very well because it is blocked by the game basket.

On the floor is a basket I found at a Goodwill, it makes a perfect place to store the Scrabble game, Apples to Apples and a deck of cards.  I hope to add a few more games to it.  The music stand is the one that Barbie Girl gave me and I added some sheet music to it by searching online for photos of sheet music and resizing it to fit before printing.  It’s all sitting on the adorable owl table I showed a few weeks ago from a thrift store run.  The chair is the vegetable bin I modified, it’s one of my favorite pieces in the whole room. (You can see that modification here.)

And there you have it! The girls spend a lot of time in here, watching TV and just hanging out together. I think it looks pretty cozy, and I can’t wait to get the new sofa in there. I need to get on that, the girls will be back before I know it!

Next week I’ll share Cassandra and Kit’s bedrooms with everyone. I’ve also been working on Alya and Shivan’s room and I’m SUPER excited on how things are coming with the bathroom, my hope is to share those rooms with you sometime in August. I do have to say that having the rooms “finished” is a nice feeling, but it does make me kind of sad. I’ve had so much fun looking for the perfect pieces for these rooms. I don’t think I’ll stop looking, but as I told my husband, it will be a case of looking for something better than what I already have in place. Yes, a new challenge!

30 thoughts on “Dollhouse tour, the living room

  1. I so enjoyed sitting with my coffee this morning and blowing those pictures up to see all the great details!

    The world would be a boring place if we all had the same dolls living only in their time period with the same clothes and furnishings! I appreciate the creative eye of your blog and those we frequent.

    The peanut can was inspired!! I also loved the little kachina doll and the picture frame with AG photos.

    I’m kind of excited to have your girls back on the blog after their vacations. It will make back to school a little easier!

    • Thanks! Yes, it would be a very boring place if everyone had all the same stuff. I don’t understand why anyone would think that only one particular brand is “cool” or acceptable. That’s why I felt the need to say it, because obviously the adults in their lives aren’t!

      Can’t you just picture me, munching away on my peanuts and all of a sudden saying “oh wait, table!” 🙂

      I have to admit that I’m really starting to miss writing stories about the girls, I’m looking forward to them being back. I have some fun posts already in mind, and a very big surprise!

  2. I love the boat bookshelf. My daughter’s in laws have a large one (about 3 feet tall) in their beach house in northern Michigan. It is filled with nautical knick knacks. Seeing yours reminds me of good times at the beach.

    I think some girls are afraid to stray from the crowd out of fear of being labeled “different”. Hopefully they will discover that being different and creative is a good thing.

    • That must be a neat shelf, I love nautical themed stuff. Just this morning I saw a kids bed that was shaped like a boat.

      I agree that being different and creative is a good thing, which is why I felt the need to say that. I was also very shocked to see one of the comments coming from one of these young girls, aimed at an adult! I was completely stunned at that behavior and how incredibly rude the comment was. Uncalled for.

  3. Oh you guys are too much!

    The room is very cool. I really like the boat bookshelf. But tell me, what is that black thing w/ the handle in front of the chair?

    • It’s a lantern that is currently sitting in the entry way. I have some ideas for that area, that’s why I didn’t show it yet, it’s one of the few things still in the “think” stage. Unfortunately it was in the way when I took the picture and I didn’t realize it, and didn’t feel like taking the photo again LOL!

  4. In the early stages of my modern day doll collection, when I still only had Springfield Collection dolls, I made pretty much the same comments about girls teasing people (who sadly left YouTube), b/c they didn’t own American Girl dolls. There was one girl I really liked, b/c she was the only one who used Springfield Dolls in stop motions. I can’t do that, and I really admired her and told her so. A few more of my Springfield subbies left YouTube, b/c of hurt feelings and I thought that was really uncalled for. And BTW, I really hate that they’ve called it “AGTube”, b/c it really makes those who can’t afford AG dolls feel inferior. I always say, all dolls are great if you love and care for them. And one of my fave YouTubers, Mixiepixie7 has gret homemade stuff in her doll house and thankfully, I’ve never seen anyone make fun of her. And of course NO ONE makes fun of My Froggy Stuff!

    • It seems like YouTube is a breeding ground for that kind of behavior, and I don’t get it. I think that as long as you love your dolls and are being creative, you’re not hurting anything, and I don’t understand why anyone thinks that it’s necessary to make such horrible comments. So many doll lovers are into many different brands of dolls, to think that one is superior is just some seriously screwed up thinking.

  5. Flo, I have over 50 dolls (shush, I’m not supposed to know that) and less than a half dozen are AG and most of their stuff including clothes isn’t. It’s not about a brand to me and never will be. I’m glad you’re not an elitist!

    Living room looks great!

    • Thanks! And I won’t tell anyone, promise! Seriously though, since when does what dolls you own dictate who you are as a person? The idea that any one brand is any better than the next is totally ridiculous. If you happen to like a particular brand more than another, that’s fine, but it certainly doesn’t give anyone the right to ridicule someone because they don’t like it or collect another brand. While this blog focuses on AG, I have dolls from several different companies, and I know that most people who are into dolls do. My mother was a huge Barbie collector. When she passed away, I ended up with that collection and I sold it off piece by piece. Even I was surprised at the number of dolls she had that weren’t Barbie. She bought them because she LIKED them.

      In comparison, would you only buy ONE brand of vegetables from the grocery store? Or only one brand of clothing? Life would get pretty darned boring if that was the way it was with everything. I blame the elitist mentality on people like the Kardashians!

  6. I loved seeing the pictures of your doll living room. I love finding doll items at thrift stores. While I appreciate some of the AG items and they are very nice, they are also a bit expensive. I was sad to hear that some girls with Springfield dolls were bullied off of you tube. : (

    • I love the challenge of seeing something and wondering how I could incorporate it. The veggie bin chair is a perfect example of that, I was impressed when I showed it to my husband and he knew what I was thinking too! 🙂

  7. I think I just saw a bus go by…and come to a sudden halt! I love what you said about being kind. Above all we are doll collectors. What we think is fun – no matter what brand – is fun. Although, I would hazard a guess that these same “plastics” get all their clothes at Hollister or Abecrombie. So very sorry, that is me being mean back. I agree that no one ridicules My Froggy Stuff. Like you said, too, it’s so cool to see what the DIYers are doing whether it be “rustic” or polished, I love it. Seeing ideas come to life is outstanding.

    Now, on to your living room…LOVE it! Where did you find the TV? I’ve seen frames at IKEA like that but they are vertical not horizontal. while reading your description of the current sofa I thought if you added the same material around the sides and front it would look more sofa-like. But if you are in the middle of making a new one, the idea is moot.

    Rock on, Flo!

    • The TV frame came from Michaels and that is the only place I’ve found ones going that direction. I thought about adding material to the sides and front, I toyed with wood grain scrapbook paper–but the fact is I just think it’s too deep. The new one is assembled, I just have to make a minor alteration to it–you are all going to laugh when you see what it really is supposed to be!

  8. I LOVE finding doll sized items from any kind of store to add a unique and more realistic look to my dollhouse, and of course American Girl is a great way to furnish the dollhouse when you find it at a really great price! I actually really like the sofa, I was thinking something along those lines for my living room area but I can’t wait to see what else you came up with! The boat bookshelf is awesome.

    • Thanks! There are so many things that you can use, it can be mind boggling at times. Would you believe that I passed up that boat bookshelf the first time I saw it at the thrift store? I went back a few weeks later and it was still there, so I decided it was meant to be!

    • Thanks! Tell your husband thanks too, that’s a huge compliment! It is a lot of fun to try and find things to make it look realistic.

  9. I love looking at all your doll room posts! That boat bookshelf is absolutely stunning! And I am smitten with the Kachina doll! Also, I totally agree with you. Wouldn’t we be boring if we all had the exact same doll stuff. I LOVE seeing people’s repurposed and crafted items. I mean, that’s half the fun of living in the doll world! In fact, and I mentioned it before, we don’t own a single AG item besides the dolls and the clothing they came in! Mostly because of pricing issues here in Canada. So we have to be creative! Don’t get me wrong, there are some things that we would love to purchase, but when I see a fantastic piece (like your boat bookshelf there) it makes me really excited because it’s new and no one else has one!

    • The funniest part about the boat bookshelf is I saw it on one trip and passed. Went back a few weeks later and it was still there, so I decided that for $1.95, I was meant to have it. The Kachina came home with me back in 1994 when I went to New Mexico!

  10. Flo, I can’t believe people can be so mean and rude. I happen to really like American Girl dolls because of their great wigs, but I also have many other non A G dolls that I love! I also have a handful of AG furniture because it is well made. Saying that, It’s so exciting to find a thrift find to use in my doll rooms!!! I love your rooms and really enjoy seeing how each person designs their own doll spaces!! Wouldn’t it be boring if we were all the same!

    • It sure would! I also think it’s a great way to exercise some creativity. I know I’m always amazed at some of the things other bloggers come up with too. Just because its a name brand doesn’t necessarily make it better, some of my favorite pieces in my dollhouse were designed for human use!

Leave a Reply

