Doll Sized Finds: Last One For A While

Doll Sized Finds will be on a break for the month of July because I have a lot going on, both in life and on the blog. If I find anything in the meantime, I’ll save them up and share them with you in August. This batch should tide you over for a while though!

My niece Barbie Girl (who I will refer to as that from here on because I have several nieces, but she is the only Barbie collector of the bunch) had told me about a sale that happens not far from where we live. One of the local Easter Seals groups has rented a vacant grocery store and once or twice a month, they open up and have a huge (and I mean HUGE) yard sale in it, all made up from donations. She’s found some cool stuff when she has gone, and I’ve been trying to go since she told me about it. Hubby and I finally made it, and it was worth the trip. I spent less than $10 and got a whole bag full of stuff!

I found two pieces that can be used as doll sized furniture:
Easter Seals 1

Easter Seals 2
I thought both of these benches were neat and I have several ideas of how I can use them. The one with the wicker seat was $4 and the painted one was a whopping $1.50. I figured they were both worth taking a chance on, even if they didn’t fit my dolls, I could possibly use them to display some of my bears.

Then these:
Easter Seals 3
I thought the little basket would be useful in the doll bathroom (if I ever get it done), it could be used as a garbage can, a place to put the curling iron and straightening iron, towels-all sorts of uses. The little spoon was something I couldn’t pass up, it could be used in the kitchen or as a decoration. Here is a crappy close up of the end, I’ve never had so much trouble photographing something!
Easter Seals 4

I found these:
Easter Seals 5
The “canning jar” is actually a salt/pepper, but it’s the perfect size for the doll house. I’m still thinking on what I want to put in it. I’m debating on making a root beer float for the mug, we had one like this when I was a kid.ย  It is a little on the large size, maybe it will be a float for 2?

Isn’t this cool?
Easter Seals 6
I’m not sure what the original purpose of this is, I think maybe a tea bag holder. I thought it would be a perfect plate to put doll sized cookies or cheese and crackers on.

This is for a project I have in mind:
Easter Seals 7
Yeah, it’s just a soap dish, but I don’t plan on using it this way. I have a jewelry box I bought at a thrift store a while ago that I thought would make a great sink vanity, and I plan on using this as a bowl, but using it THIS way:
Easter Seals 8
Debating on spray painting it, we’ll see, that project is still in it’s “think” stages.

Found this cool dimensional plaque:
Easter Seals 9
It unfortunately doesn’t have a hanger on it, so I’m still thinking on what the best, most secure way to hang it in the doll house is. I’m thinking some of the 3M Command Strip Velcro picture hangers might be best. I still have to decide where it’s going too!ย  It’s only about 3 inches wide, but it’s solid and heavy.

This last item is actually a bit too big for the doll house, but I would have bought it regardless. Why you ask? Because when I was a kid, we had a pair just like these. I used them for a long time when I was a kid, then when my youngest nephew came along and started to learn how to drink out of a cup, he used them. I still remember him drinking out of them and saying “ahhhh!” at the end.ย  At one point my mom gave them to him and he took them home. I have no idea if he still has them or not, but when I saw this, I had to have it! I may use it to put a floral arrangement in for the dolls, what do you think?
Easter Seals 10

All of these little items were really cheap, between 25 cents and 75 cents, with the bulk of them being 50 cents. There were other things that I looked at too but decided against. I’m hoping to go again in a couple of months, I figure towards the end of yard sale season will be a good time to go. I loved that all the items were donated and that the money went to a charitable organization too.

But wait, there’s more!!!

I haven’t been to Pittsburgh since April, and a few days ago it was so gloomy and dreary out (like the rest of June!). I knew that I wouldn’t be able to see well enough to sew and it wasn’t bright enough to do any photography, so I decided a trip to my favorite thrift stores in the Pittsburgh area was in order. Last time I went I only got 3 things and spent under $10. Not so this time!

First I found this cute mini frame:
Easter Seals 15
It’s missing one of the stones, but as luck would have it, I have a package of those in my craft stash from a jewelry repair.

Found a cute onesie to cut off!
Easter Seals 11
I almost didn’t buy it because I already have another shirt made from a onesie with a cupcake on it, then it dawned on me–uniform shirts for the bakery!

I found another horse ๐Ÿ™‚
Easter Seals 12ย ย  Easter Seals 13
He is pretty nicked up, but he has no cracks and his hair is in great shape. A little bit of TLC and he will make a perfect horse for Zara, now she and Marie-Grace will be able to go riding together. Only $4.95.

These last two things made the whole trip worthwhile:
Easter Seals 14

Easter Seals 16
The doll is in good shape other than her hair, she needs a good cleaning, and inspired by all of those people who have redone doll hair, I’m going to give it a try! She was only $1.95, definitely cheap enough that if something goes wrong, it’s not a catastrophe. I was super excited to find the scooter, it was only $4.95 and in the color scheme I liked the best of all they’ve made (it’s OG). It needs a minor repair, the ends of the handles on the steering column are missing, but I’m sure I can come up with something to replace those with. The girls will have so much fun riding around on it. I have some baseball helmets I bought last year that I can modify into helmets for riding the scooter and the girls will be set!

Have you found anything good lately?

15 thoughts on “Doll Sized Finds: Last One For A While

    • GMTA! I was thinking gorilla glue myself. Although I’m leaning towards a plate hanger, I think it would be safer. I just have to find one now–of course from a thrift shop! LOL

  1. Wow! You’ve got some really super stuff! That horse is just like our horse Cherokee. In case you didn’t know, that’s a Battat quarter-horse. Yours is in much better shape than mine, (but then I got him for free, so that’s OK). And I love the end on that spoon. It reminds me of my cuttng board in my kitchen. And YAY on the scooter and the doll. Once your fix her up, are you going to sell her?

  2. Yes, I was aware that it’s a Battat/OG horse, I’ve looked at one like this on the Target website many times, just couldn’t bring myself to spend that much money. They don’t have the quarter horse anymore, the dark brown one is now a thoroughbred. (Which if you know anything about horses, makes no sense, I would never put a child on a thoroughbred!) I don’t know about you, but I think the Battat horses are much more realistic looking than the AG, particularly the older ones. They remind me a bit of the horses I had for my Johnny West figures.

    Not sure what is going to happen with the doll at the moment. I don’t think I would sell her, I would re-home her first. I’m thinking I might use her for a story or two (or three) and then re-home her, but that’s still all up in the air. She’s sitting in the living room at the moment as I was working on her hair, and my husband named her–Jan, after Jan Brady!!! He’s as bad as I am!

    • I can just picture her saying it–or “Alya, Alya, Alya!” in our house ๐Ÿ™‚ After I thought about it, I figured out I spent less than $25 on everything, just the scooter alone brand new would have been $30!

    • I can’t recall ever seeing a tiny one like it either, plenty of teaspoon sized ones. This is almost like an old fashioned salt spoon.

Leave a Reply

