July Post Schedule and “What in the heck is that?” (instructions!)

I don’t usually post in advance what my blog is going to have on it, but July is going to be a bit different. First off: time to start the bedding tutorial. It will be in six parts over the month, I hope you can participate! It’s an easy thing to make and you can do it even if you don’t have a sewing machine, it will just take longer if sewing by hand. I also set the tutorial up in such a way that the most popular items will be featured first. Some of the items we are making you may not need depending on if you are using a box or already have a bed.

Second: a tour of the dollhouse (or at least what I have finished so far). I’ve been wanting to share this with everyone for a while and I thought that while the girls are “away” would be a good time to do it.

July 1: Doll Story Post

July 2: Announcement of the contest winner.

July 3: Doll Sized Finds (don’t miss it, last one for a while!)

July 6: How to make a doll bedspread. This tutorial will also show you how to measure for different sizes of beds, so even if you are using a box, you can get a nice, custom fit. The box that AG dolls come in make a great bed! I will be making mine using the box that Kit’s bed came in for the whole tutorial series.

July 8: Tour of Rebecca and Marie-Grace’s bedroom.

July 10: How to make a bed pillow and pillowcase.

July 13: How to make a mattress for your doll bed.

July 15: Tour of the doll kitchen.

July 17: How to make a sheet/cover for the mattress we made earlier.

July 20: How to make a cover/dust ruffle for a bed/box.

July 23: Tour of the doll living room.

July 27: How to make a headboard and assemble the bed.

July 29: Tour of Cassandra’s bedroom.

July 31: Tour of Kit’s bedroom.

We will be back to our normal crazy posting of all things fun in August!

Also–a quick reminder that time is running out on the contest, if you want to enter, check it out here.

So, now for the “what is that?” part of the post. In the recent releases from American Girl, they put out a set that has a lot of people puzzled. I don’t blame them, if I hadn’t had one myself, I probably wouldn’t have known it either. It is called “Hairstyling Tools” and it looks like this:
styling tools

First off, let me just say that the $20 price that they are charging for this set is RIDICULOUS!!!!  Plus, you can find most all of these items elsewhere, much cheaper.  Clear hair elastics can be bought by the bag for a couple of dollars at Sally Beauty Supply (200 for 99 cents) along with the bobby pins (36 for $3.49).  You can buy the pony tail tool for $1.29 on Amazon.  The only thing I didn’t go looking for is the bun helper, but I’ve seen these in all sorts of sizes and in actual hair colors instead of pink so it blends in with the hair.  To be honest, most doll hair is not the right length or texture for that item to even work well.  ARGH!  I was VERY angry when I saw this price, talk about rip off.  Plus, I’ve seen a lot of people who were trying to figure out what the loop with the handle was and how to use it–including my sister who is a former hairdresser!!!  Perhaps a better explanation would be in order AG?!?!?!  Or some pictures?? Anyhow, I have the answer, thank you Conair for posting a video of how to use it.  It does create some very unique hairstyle looks, but really needs to be used on a doll with very long hair (also not explained) for it to work well.

Here’s a link to the video:
http://www.conair.com/video.php?cntpcID=12_65&video_id=83

And a link to one for sale on Amazon, with FREE SHIPPING!

http://www.amazon.com/DragonPad-Braid-Ponytail-Maker-Styling/dp/B004367X70/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1435687217&sr=8-4&keywords=topsy+tail

I’m going to make one out of a pipe cleaner, I have all those red ones left from when I made the Coconut’s Valentine set!  If it doesn’t work, then I will break down and order one from Amazon, I got rid of the one I had when I cut my hair off, oops!

11 thoughts on “July Post Schedule and “What in the heck is that?” (instructions!)

  1. I love the flip tool! I have one and used to use it a lot when they were first popular in the 90s. The original or circa 200 AG Hairdo Helper set had one. Melody’s hair is too thick for it to work quite right, but it makes really pretty flip ponytails and low buns.

    I have no idea how to use the bun helper. LOL Totally agree on the price of the new set. Dollar Tree carries these items and you know they are still making profit off their items – this set via Dollar Tree would be $4.

    Looking forward to the July posts.

  2. Yay! July looks like it’ll be an exciting month! I have one of these “Box Beds” that Flo makes (b/c I’m a dunce at sewing), and it’s really cool! And the best part is, you don’t even damage the AG box, and you can store the bed right inside! Really great! And I can’t wait to see where the dolls call home!

  3. I can’t wait for the bedding tutorial! Blankets and pillows are in desperate need around here 😉 Actually most stores do sell ponytail helpers and they usually include a size that is very similar to the one AG sells for cheap! I want to make my own Hairstyling Tool set just to know how much less it is compared to American Girl’s now.

Leave a Reply

